We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected much more”

Windsor Service Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor Service Apartments
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Salem
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Nothing much to say...Property was much below expectations and was only Ok as i had to stay overnight on the way to Yercaud...The staff were eager to help and went out of their way...Besides Room were Ok which is why I have rated Average and not Poor....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
6  Thank Padmanabhan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had booked for 2 nights stay with family through booking.com as they are listed on them. The booking was confirmed on booking.com however when i called the service apartment to reconfirm the booking i was told that the booking was cancelled as all rooms were full. Worst of all booking.com was not notified of this and when one of the booking.com CSR tried contacting them to find out what had happened she was hung up without any proper explanation.

Rooms were available on booking.com and on the reservation portal of the service apartment portal but they just declined the reservation saying they were full.

Cant seem to understand why unprofessional service providers want to be listed on portals when their staff are not internet savvy and professionals.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarthikRajan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qwertyGermany, Owner at Windsor Service Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear sir,
Thank you for the review. It will help us improve. however I would like to point out that booking.com was informed earlier of our inventory position , but they had not updated it. So if its anyone mistake its theirs and not ours. And about our staff not being tech savvy, well they are tech savvy!!. the reason we don't allow them to update our inventory in external websites is that most external websites make their payment to us online and at that that time their websites ask for our account number, now if the person enters his bank account it will get credited to his account. since problems like these have raised earlier we don't allow them to handle inventory updates. I am sure that I personally called you and informed about our situation and had also mailed you a detail apology letter. kindly understand our position also as we are not superhumans.
thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The tariff is cheap as chips, which seems to be the main USP for this place. Other bonuses are the location (in a quiet avenue), great views of Yercaud hills, supportive, motivated and enthusiastic staff and very spacious rooms. No restaurant in the premises, but they can arrange meals on pre-ordering. Although they call themselves a "Serviced apartment", only furniture and airconditioning comes with the apartment. Cooking utensils and electric hotplate will be provided on request. No washing machine, microwave.The biggest let down for me was cleanliness or the lack thereof. Toilets and sink were smelly and unclean. Without going in to details, I daresay, if you are picky about this, you had better avoid this place.

Room Tip: For- space, location, service; Against- major hygeine issues....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eazzyryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here overnight on my way to Yercaud. The place is a little away from the city centre which is why it is probably decently priced. But it is very easy to get to from the railway station or bus stand as the collector's bungalow is a well known landmark. We got here at night and actually called up the cellphone number provided in the booking voucher. The person picked up on my third consecutive attempt and was profusely apologetic and helpful with directions. Turns out it was the MD of the resort group. They also offer pick up and drop from the city centre so location should not be any problem.

The room was very comfortable, bathroom was very hygienic and clean. Towels were provided on request and the bed was very comfortable indeed. The room also had airconditioning. Since this is a service apartment, there was one other room next door within this flat but it was unoccupied.

The staff, which at that time of the night and next morning consisted of the front desk manager and a room service helper, were quite prompt in attending to our requests. I also availed the hotel drop to the bus stand the next morning.

All in all, very good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sherlock0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qwertyGermany, Owner at Windsor Service Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear sir,
A million thanks for your positive review of our property. As a token of our appreciation we would like to provide you with a gift voucher(will be sent to you e-mail). Hope you keep visiting us again and again. Thank you again for the great review. We are sure with such positive feedback we will keep striving to do better.
thank you,
Adithya
MAnaging director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

i visited this place with my family about a week back and i was really surprised .. the stay was so comfortable and pleasent .. it was really worth the money.. the room had everything and was sooooo spacious and clean.. it is really worth every penny and its so economical.. will keep visiting this place again and again:)

Room Tip: you can ask for in house toilettries as they are not kept during check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mithra_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
3.5 mi away
Radisson Salem
Radisson Salem
#2 of 25 in Salem
761 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Pearls
Hotel Pearls
#12 of 25 in Salem
22 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Estancia
Grand Estancia
#3 of 25 in Salem
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel New Tamilnadu
Hotel New Tamilnadu
#16 of 25 in Salem
22 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Windsor Castle
Hotel Windsor Castle
#13 of 25 in Salem
54 reviews
2.1 mi away
Raj Residency Salem
Raj Residency Salem
#8 of 25 in Salem
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Service Apartments

Address: Iyanthirumaaligai Yercaud Main Rd | next to Children Govt.Orphanage, Salem 636008, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Salem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Salem
Price Range: $43 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing