We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its OK!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cenneys Gateway
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The hotel is ok type but old styled, I cannot see any professional management in there, The staffs are friendly but need to be trained. they are charging high to the hotel standard, there is no comb, tooth brush, towels oh very old importantly you cannot use shower since there is no pressure in the water flow. only one lift for such a big property. rooms are clean and they do have restaurant if you stay only a day or two its fine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhupeshrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 106 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed at Cenneys Gateway Salem. clean & decently sized rooms. Okay breakfast (the choice of fresh juice could be better). Prompt and courteous service. Value pricing i thought. Downside : the free 'wifi' has a lot of downtime and the AC is not chill enough.

Room Tip: ask for a 'corporate discount' sharing your business card and invarialy they will extend you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unni_menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Nice , Clean , Effecient Business Hotel in the heart of Salem. Spacious well kept rooms . Helpful & Courteous Staff . Good Food and very well priced Hotel . Try the multi cusine dining. A must stay if your visiting Salem .

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more and staying in the Club Room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandeep282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Hotel Cenneys Gateway is a beautiful white structure with the all spruced up front yard with a clean drive in located bang on the Five Road junction. We always halt here on our long journey from Tirupati to Kerala and our way back for lunch since 2008. Many times we have reached early or late for lunch but the people of the restaurant have always brought us comforting and good food to eat. The restaurant has a comfortable appearance that appeals to the eye. The discipline in the restaurant made us to take an able decision during the Christmas season of 2011. We were to take a long journey to Trichur and decided to halt at Cenneys to find out about their rooms and amenities.
We booked the room about 15 days in advance as we expected there would be a lot of travelling the season as Salem is close to Yercad, a hill station and a convenient location to halt for those going different destination.
We reached on the 24th of December at 2pm. We were given the Club Room for a good reason as our 9yr old son was considered as a third person but seeing his stature was accepted as a young one. Hence the third person’s extra rate was cut off. Hey that is a bonus to begin with, isn’t it? He is a disciplined person, hence it is a blessing too.
The club room was spacious and good looking with French windows facing the front yard. A pompy bed good enough for three, a space for luggage, a vault for safety of money and documents tucked into a cupboard (can be operated with an electronic card) and laundry too with payment of money that can be prepaid by money cards. The room is stocked with beverages, chocolates and the likes that one may need in a tiny refrigerator, and last but not the least you can make tea/coffee/hot water in your room itself.
They do have room service too. They also deliver Newspaper to the room. Yes, there is a television for anyone interested.
The rooms and the corridor are silent and cold. The elevator is tucked away nicely.
On the ground floor, at the entrance, a small bakery outlet has been arranged with some cakes, cookies, custard and the like.
The breakfast was complimentary: A large number of items and sumptuous food was ready. Well, I remember the masala idli and chole, and then the chicken korma was exceptionally good. Since we were to start our journey, we did not want to stuff ourselves.
There is one thing, I would like to say. We stayed many places and many hotels all over India. The buffet was limited for complimentary breakfast and unlimited for those who paid and consumed in many places. Hence, the breakfast was special. The other thing I noticed was the staff was very disciplined and polite. There was no turbulence of any kind. A serene and lovable stay is all I remember.
I would like to add, the pictures on their site, are true images of the Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front were quiet, so I guess the rooms at the back too would be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenCarpet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

A good option for a business or leisure stay in Salem. Its less expensive than the GRT hotel and a better option that Devi Towers which is on the opposite side of the road.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ramses1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Salem is an important business hub situated in Tamilnadu, South India and close to other business centres like Bangalore, Coimbatore, Erode and Tiruppur. Hotel Cenneys Gateway is one of the best budget hotels available in salem. This hotel is centrally located, with a large parking area and situated in the main business centre. Rooms are clean and neat, service is good. Food quality is also good, In fact this hotel offers full value for money

Room Tip: any floor is OK but one may go for a room facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARLITHAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Located centrally and very close to the Railway Station.The hotel arranges for Free Pick up & Drop facility.
You easily get car on rent too in the hotel premises and that too on very reasonable rate.
The hotel is undergoing rennovation for more than a year.They are yet to start their fitness centre which they claim to start every two months.
Food is good and the rooms are also get and the size of the rooms are also good although not very decent.

Room Tip: Their restaurant is too noisy and crowded.Avoid having food there.You can instead ask for food in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DilipKeshary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.9 mi away
Grand Estancia
Grand Estancia
#3 of 24 in Salem
380 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Salem
Radisson Salem
#2 of 24 in Salem
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sivaraj Holiday Inn
Sivaraj Holiday Inn
#1 of 24 in Salem
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Goldray Sarovar Portico
8.9 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
0.7 mi away
Raj Residency Salem
Raj Residency Salem
#7 of 24 in Salem
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cenneys Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cenneys Gateway

Address: 97/4, Saradha College Main Road | Five Roads, Salem, Salem 636004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $37 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cenneys Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cenneys Gateway is a 4 star hotel located in the heart of Salem. First ever of its kind in Salem, it offers a beautiful combination of old world's hospitality with new age novel amenities. With its pleasing ambience and impeccable personalized service, the hotel is one of the top picks in Salem on TripAdvisor. With 72 well-furnished and centrally air conditioned rooms filled with high end amenities, the hotel boasts of express room service and same day laundry. The Hotel offers great banqueting facilities as well as a Business Centre, Board Rooms and Conference rooms for corporate meetings and seminars. We are known for delivering much more than what you bargained for. So, the next time you make a trip to Salem, come home to Hotel Cenneys Gateway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cenneys Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing