We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Platforms by the side of the Road are better place to stay, compared to this Stinking Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lrn Excellency
Ranked #5 of 18 Salem B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I not going to write a long story about how much I and my family suffered at this hotel. A few points will do.
1. Unfriendly cab driver with a BIG ego
2. Mosquitoes, Mosquitoes & Mosquitoes
3. Stinking Rooms that smell of rotten eggs
4. 100 years old bed with dust & fungus all over
5. You have to climb up the WC to use it. So high your legs won't touch the floor
6. Room Service. They better name it Room Harassment. Everybody simply keep entering your room without your permission. You keep the door locked, they'll ring the bell.
7. Restaurant. You may better starve. There are no restaurants nearby too.

While returning back from hotel to the station the cab driver left us stranded in the middle of the road, just because I asked him to take another route suggested by Google Maps.

If you are going to stay in this hotel even after reading my review, I suggest you better don't waste your time reading reviews. You are a perfect fit for such hotels.

Room Tip: There aren't any. I was given the best room and it sucked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank indianesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 31 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very recently I had been to this Hotel and I stayed with my friends. It was a double bed room and the tariff is Rs.2000/- per day. When we first stepped in, we found the floor is full of dust and wherever we lay our hands the dusts are sticking in the hand. Worst, when I entered the bathroom. The plastic bucket is very old one and it is broken. There is no closet attached in the western toilet. And only one mug for all purpose. We called the room maintenance and asked them to set right the things. They said that they look into it and until we vacate the room the next day nothing was happened. If we talk about room service, it is more worst than the previous one. We ordered for a cup of tea and the time taken to serve the same is 45 minutes. Just imagine! My simple advice - Please avoid this place. There are plenty of hotels in Salem town with same tariff with good service, which you may find by browsing within this site.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karthimurthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel does not know how to take bookings and implement them. In case you have forgotten your govt id card, these people will not allow you to check in to their hotel even if you have anyother photo id which is crazy. They sent a car to pick me up at the railway station which is good, but when i got to their hotel, i was refused a room based on the above flimsy reasons.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank shrihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Is one is looking for a good budget stay at Salem within 2000 /- with AC then LRN is an apt choice. Good spacious,clean, simple rooms with adequate amenities. The stay comes with complimentary breakfast which is decent. The hotel is located near Sharadha College Road, little off the road hence away from the traffic. The food at the restaurant is decent with a good Continental , north and south Indian food.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jyotirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

What is most attractive about this hotel ? The location. Situated just off the busy Saradha college road, it gives easy access to travelers in and out of the city.. Ambiance is good, enough parking space,close to shopping malls, bus stand and railway station, good restaurant all makes it a good choice for family and business stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Hotel LRN Excellency is a budget hotel situated in the heart of Salem Town. Salem being an important B Class business centre within a close viscinity of matros like Bangalore, Chennai and also other industrial districts of Tamil nadu like Erode, Coimbatore and Tiruppur it attracts large number of visitors. This hotel is a decent budget hotel with reasonably good food. Main business street is close to this hotel.

Room Tip: suit room may be chosen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARLITHAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We normally stay at the above hotel from 2004. Even though I am native of Salem, I lived in the USA for 40 years, we have stayed in different hotels in Salem and found LRN was the best for the money. It is in quiet neighborhood and you don not hear car/bus/lorry/auto noise. The room rent for deluxue double room is around Rs. 1800 and the suite is Rs1900 plus. The rooms are clean and the staff are very courteous. It is about 18 miles from Yercaud and about 30 miles from Mettur Dam and about 3 miles to Salem junction. It comes with buffet break fast. The next time I go to Salem that is where I will stay. The last time we stayed there was the last week of May 2010 for a whole week. There is ample parking space for cars

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Estancia
Grand Estancia
#3 of 24 in Salem
388 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Salem
Radisson Salem
#2 of 24 in Salem
730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel New Tamilnadu
Hotel New Tamilnadu
#16 of 24 in Salem
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sivaraj Holiday Inn
Sivaraj Holiday Inn
#1 of 24 in Salem
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pearls
Hotel Pearls
#11 of 24 in Salem
22 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ashwa Park
Hotel Ashwa Park
#5 of 24 in Salem
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lrn Excellency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lrn Excellency

Address: No. 7, Saradha College Road, LRN Colony, | LRN Colony, Salem 636007, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range: $28 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Lrn Excellency 1*
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing