We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nice traditional, good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Heritage Mandawa
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mandawa
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Small town, just one main road with small shops. Hotel is good, nice atmosphere, traditional look. Everything has a price, wifi is 100 rupies extra for example...
Then there is also a puppet show, but we didn't watch it.
Clean rooms, only had some musquitos buzzing around.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKthetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Heritage Mandawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 463 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

India is full of beautiful historical places and heritage - Mandawa is clearly trying to make a name for itself, but it is not there yet! As a town it was filthy and I think the hotel owners have the same 'standard' of cleanliness as the town.

When we arrived we were initially impressed as the open foyers looked lovely. Our room (#106) was painted with murals on every surface which looked quite overwhelming - it was all red, gold and surprisingly revealing paintings of women. There was no TV although you could see the power point where I assume it will eventually be mounted. Finding power points was a challenge, as they had been painted to match the murals - became a bit of a game really to find a point to charge the phone in. The twin beds were hard and you didn't want to look too closely at the blankets/quilts. In fact when we asked for extra blankets as it was cold overnight the replacements seemed grubbier than the initial ones. The floor was dirty/dusty and you didn't want to walk around barefoot.

The bathroom was filthy. The toilet wouldn't flush properly and if you used the hand basin the toilet cistern would start trickling again. I did attempt to have a shower and found the icy cold water to be brown... basically the brown water pushed around the other dirt on the shower floor, but didn't have enough force to actually clean it!

It was noisy all night, I presume from various generators as there was an open vent in the bathroom wall towards the rear of the property.

We had dinner there as we didn't want to venture on our own through the town (our guided tour had not been inspiring). The meal was ok. Breakfast however was disgraceful. There were boiled eggs, lumpy porridge and toast that a waiter put in and out of the toaster for you, with his hands. Not at all hygienic. There was bad instant tea and coffee available but no juice or even water for those who don't like caffeine.

When it came time to check out we were told we couldn't settle the bill with credit card - it was cash only (luckily we had enough). The manager started serving us and then interrupted to check out two other groups, throughout which we were left standing at the counter mid-sentence. It took about 20 minutes to check out with all the interruptions. The worst thing was that on our way out we saw the accommodation the drivers stayed in - I felt terrible as comparatively our room had been palatial and 'clean'.

If you are at the point of planning your trip through Rajasthan, feel free to give Mandawa a miss and spend some extra time elsewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seabird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Upon arrival the hotel exterior looks reasonably impressive, but thats about the only time you'll be excited in this scruffy little town.
Our bedroom was large and adequately furnished.
Bathroom was dingy, grotty, low water pressure and had to bath from a bucket.
Rooftop restaurant and staff was ok.
Dining room and breakfast was poor.
The haveli walking tour around town was ok but be prepared for the hard sell.
Wouldn't be my first preference to recommend to friends, but exceptable in an emergency if needed somewhere to overnight in Mandawa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biffdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Spent 1 night here in this heritage haveli. Bedroom and bathroom were adequate. Building was impressive from the exterior and also the internal courtyards. Service was very average. Breakfast was pretty awful and dinner not much better.

Mandawa is a grotty town with nothing to recommend it except that it is a mid way stop over if travelling by car from Delhi to Bikaner. Our advice would be to take the overnight train and save yourself 2 days travelling by car and an overnight stay in this forgettable little town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maximus765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were sleeping in room 206 :
- we had to make our bed ourselves
- the accommodation for drivers was in the basement and made us feel quite bad
- we were woken up at 6AM by pumps (??) running on the roof-top
- we saw a rat crawling in the restaurant
- service was not very pleasant (except the luggage carrier who was very nice!)
- finally, the staff asked us to recommend the hotel on trip advisor!

Plus points : The haveli is indeed beautiful and its ideally placed with a nice view from the roof-top

Room Tip: Not room 206!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ygouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our room is probably the most beautiful and exoticly decorated hotel room I have ever stayed in. The courtyard is tranquil and relaxing, the food is delicious and service has been top notch. Our friendly host and guide Vipin gave a wonderful tour of the Havilas and town of Mandawa and we even got a traditional Rajasthani puppet show! I'm a photographer and spent at least an hour photographing the property and all it's ornate details. I also highly recommend the "Gold Room", if you can get it. That's our room tonight and absolutely stunning. I highly recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpk431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in the beautiful gold painting room, with a gold 4 poster bed, lovely paintings covering the walls, and a HOT shower! We felt like royalty. We also had a tour with Vip, one of the hotel staff, which was very informative and pointed out all of the beautiful Hevalis surrounding the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilly62584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandawa hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle Mandawa Hotel
Castle Mandawa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Mandawa
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mandawa Haveli
Hotel Mandawa Haveli
#4 of 14 in Mandawa
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shekhawati
Hotel Shekhawati
#3 of 14 in Mandawa
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Vivaana
Vivaana
#1 of 14 in Mandawa
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Radhika Haveli Mandawa
2.2 mi away
Sara Vilas Hotel
Sara Vilas Hotel
#6 of 14 in Mandawa
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heritage Mandawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heritage Mandawa

Address: District Jhunjhunu, Mandawa 333704, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jhunjhunu District > Mandawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mandawa
Price Range: $30 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Heritage Mandawa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Hotel Heritage, Mandawa which is in Rajasthan. It is roughly 170 kms away from the Pink City of Jaipur. The hotel is constructed in an area of around 3000 sq. yards. The building has two floors, ground and first. It has large rooms, which have been divided in categories such as Suites, Deluxe, and Standard Rooms. Each room has an attached modern bath. The decorum of these rooms has been created in Rajasthani culture and is seeped in history. Hotel walls boast of miniature paintings, which at places depict amorous postures and at others depict chapters of Indian history. Whereas on the one hand the hotel depicts the ancient culture, on the other hand it provides all the modern amenities a foreign tourist is so used to. The hotel has a restaurant where besides authentic Rajasthani cuisine you can also enjoy continental fares, which will let you keep in touch with your roots. You can enjoy a candlelight dinner as well. There is also a well stocked bar for the ones fond of Bacchus. The greatest plus is that all our guests are welcomed with garlands in the traditional Rajasthani style. You can enjoy an evening of Rajasthani folk dance, music and puppets as well. Special shows are organized on the request of the guests. Books are available here for the reading pleasures of the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Heritage Mandawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing