We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool under construction”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Desert Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mandawa
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pool under construction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I chose this hotel to be our first in India because it has a pool. Very disapointing to find it under construction. I think it should have been mentioned on the hotels website.

Very pretty architecture, nice garden

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    130
    64
    10
    5
See reviews for
53
115
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Been going to this resort for a long time and I believe it is one of the best resorts in Rajasthan with a lot of activities and also since the owners run the castle as well as a hotel , one can enjoy the heritage of mandawa. The food is good and a lot of options considering it's in a village and the dinner at the dunes is an unforgettable experience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel in Mandawa was pretty cool because all the walls and shelves were molded out of cow patties and grass. They're long since dried and (i assume) sanitized so it doesn't smell and just has this really cool handmade feel. I even saw some ladies handpainting the motif around the doors and windows. They had a really pretty outdoor garden where I could sit, read, and have a lassi. The dinner buffet was only ok. they really love tomato soup.

There was no wifi but you could pay to use one of the two computers in the office.

One bad thing is that the rolling blackouts were really obvious - no alarm clocks, no phones.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahicpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Desert Resort Mandawa. The place is good for a relaxing break with nothing much to do. We were lucky to have a spell of good weather and the mornings and evenings were very pleasant to sit in the garden and just relax. Food was good but the main thing was the service which was outstanding. We encountered genuine warmth from the staff who really took care of us so well and went out of their way to accommodate all requests for our small kid re special food etc. The only reason for 1 star less is that they could use some better upkeep around the property esp the swimming pool which needs better cleaning, but overall it did not take away from the overall stay. Highly recommended for a family break!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meenu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

A beautiful resort in a very beautiful place. The check in was smooth. So was the check out and everything else in between. The food is good. The buffets are not very elaborate but yet satisfying.
The rooms are typical mud huts but with all modern amenities and great big bathrooms. Very comfortable. Service is great. No room service but you really don't need it. The view from the resort is very pleasant. Approach to the resort is not very encouraging but the moment you reach your destination, its all fine. Highly recommend this estate.

Room Tip: Room No. 13, 14 & 15 are big and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikramV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My heart really liked this place but my head said it was pretty awful! We only spent one night there as part of an excellent Riviera Travel holiday around the Golden Triangle. The welcome was wonderful - camels, horses, drums, trumpets and flower petals. Much of the accommodation is adobe style huts but ours was in a more traditionally built block - room S5.

We started by ordering lunch as did most of the rest of the party. We sat in the garden enjoying the warm sun. I doubt any of us had the correct food first time! The service was chaotic and the food mediocre when it did arrive.

Our room was enormous with two large four poster style beds (presumably for mosquito nets in days of old) as was the bathroom. It was clean but very old and dilapidated. There was extensive mold in the bathroom and the plaster was crumbling in the living area (see photos).

The evening buffet was outside and extensive but there was no heaters under the 'hot' food so at best it was luke warm. Breakfast in doors was better.

Check out was chaotic - one person on duty whilst two others sat in the back office chatting.

So, on any sensible analyses it was really pretty bad BUT for some reason we liked it! I guess that was because it was so different to the standard western style hotels that tour operators put us up in. However, I wouldn't have wanted to spend much more than the one night there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livingwhilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is an interesting and different place to stay in. Everything was fine for us, (late February, so not cold). As others have said, the mud and straw theme is both interesting, and different. Service was good, prices more Western than Indian!
We had a huge room, with a large lounge and large bathroom, and a four poster bed. We did not ask for this - it was luck of the draw.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ancientobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandawa hotels
0.9 mi away
Castle Mandawa Hotel
Castle Mandawa Hotel
#2 of 13 in Mandawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
5.1 mi away
Vivaana
Vivaana
#1 of 13 in Mandawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Desert N Dunes Mandawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Radhika Haveli Mandawa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Shekhawati
Hotel Shekhawati
#3 of 13 in Mandawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sara Vilas Hotel
Sara Vilas Hotel
#5 of 13 in Mandawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Resort

Property: Desert Resort
Address: District Jhunjhunu, Mandawa 333704, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Mandawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mandawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hotel Mandawa
Desert Resort Mandawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing