We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Get Best Views if Timing is Correct”
Review of Kaas Plateau

Kaas Plateau
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Satara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Pune
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Will Get Best Views if Timing is Correct”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The flowers bloom at very short period of time. The timing really depends on the rainy season and the amount of rain falls on the plateau. I have read many reviews here saying that its only grass they could see. Typically early Oct is the right timing.

Recently it has been declared as a UNESCO heritage site and then there is fee and all that. Couple years ago it wasnt there. Even there wasn't so much of popularity 30 years ago That was the place for Satarians as an outing

TIPS - Satara Kaas road is really a small road. There is a nice temple of Yavateshwar en route. The other clsoe by places include Sajjangad, Thoseghar waterfalls and windmills around that. You need to come back all the way to the tunnel and go on the other side of the mountain.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank RoamInIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    144
    63
    11
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited Kaas Plateau in middle of September 2012 in the expectation of seeing a valley full of blooming flowers , right after the rains !! After having travelled for about 2.5 hours from Pune, we reached the plateau. The road from Satara is very narrow, though the views along the road are very good.
However,after having reached the plateau , our cars were suddenly stopped at a place, which was supposed to be a parking area, though it could have very well been an open field, Cars are not allowed beyond this point- there are public buses that ferry people from this point to the actual entrance of the Plateau - a distance of about 2kms.
The logistics at the entrance of the Plateau are primitive. There are almost a dozen people managing the ticketing process. After taking tickets, we walked in to the plateau , in the hope of seeing flowers in full bloom.We were utterly dissappointed at the sparse flowers . There was wild grass all around, which possibly bloom for a very short period of time just after the monsoons.Clearly at this period the flowers were very few .The views from the valley are beautiful but there is nothing unique about it - one can enjoy similar views all along the western ghats. The kas lake is beautiful, but again, we found nothing unique about it.
Overall, a very average experience .

Tip:There are no proper eating places enroute from Satara to Kas and it is advisable to carry some food along.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
18 Thank Tanushree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Kaas - Maharashtra's Plateau of Flowers”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Visited Kaas in August this year. Though the plateau was not yet in full bloom, we had a lovely time. The entire landscape is beautiful. A place worth visiting especially since its not very far from Mumbai.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Binaifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“As others have said...its about timing it right”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had visited Kaas plateau on 14th Oct 12 (Sun) with family. The objective of viewing the blooming season was not met after traveling 575 kms in a day to and fro from Mumbai...so we were disappointed...nevertheless it is very scenic place...almost virgin nature with beautiful water bodies around....DSLR / high MP cam is must. A paradise for photography. Dont miss the place. Pre registration on Satara Forest division's Kas website seems not mandatory....but better have it if travelling such long...Narrow roads, with parking 5 kms away from the plateau...buy munching, cold drinks and water at Satara itself....its hardly available up there only at a spot or two that too costlier.

Dont miss driving down to the lake as well...its beautiful.

Seems this place needs to be visited perfectly after rains have almost departed (Sep 15 - 21 kind of time)....though not able to witness bloom when we had been there, I have uploaded few pix as a treat to eyes.

A request: Use trails created by forest department and dont hurt the flora / nature...no littering / plucking please....care for the nature

If heading from Mumbai....it is not one day affair...we were damn tired....suggest overnight at Satara (or reach Pune previous night at least) ...If planing for more than one day (recommended) stay at Mahabaleshwar and drive down to Kaas from there via Mahabaleshwar - Satara highway....u wud love driving...sunrise / sunset worth experiencing

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank kotharidhimant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL FLOWERS, EXCELLENT LOCATION”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We visited the plateau between 21-23 Sept 2012. Flowers were in full bloom. We had to park our car some distance away and walk 2-3 kms to reach the plateau. But the sight of pink, violet, yellow, white flowers was mind boggling. The photographs that I've uploaded speak for themselves.

The best period to visit is just after the rain (mid Sept) to 1st week of October. The flowers wither away once the October heat starts.

The Plateau is 25 km from the city of Satara. To reach Satara, we took the Mumbai Pune expressway. We drove past Pune and reached Satara in 4.5 hours.....a total distance of 260 km from Mumbai. The road is excellent with minimal traffic.

We stayed at the Novant Hill Resort which is enroute from Satara to Kaas.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Bijal_Damania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaas Plateau also viewed

Satara, Satara District
Satara, Satara District
 
Satara, Satara District
Satara, Satara District
 

Been to Kaas Plateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing