We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing valley but went at a wrong time”
Review of Kaas Plateau

Kaas Plateau
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Satara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing valley but went at a wrong time”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were a group of 20 people who went to Kas yesterday (30 Sept, 2012) but were little disappointed as the flowers were not blossomed as such and the scene was completely, totally different from what I saw in their website. I was told by Kas's security uncle that there was so much heat from last couple of weeks due to which the flowers were drowsy. But I am sure there is no such place in Maharashtra which is so mesmerizing and could actually imaging if the flowers were blossomed completely then yesterday would have been the great day for me.

I am definitely going there next year and if possible I'll stay there for 2-3 nights just to admire the nature's beauty.

In a nutshell, I would recommend each and everyone to visit this amazing place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Romation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    144
    63
    11
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kaas”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

brilliant, rain and coooool breezewe were told there would be more flowers blooming in two weeks .. and hope to go back soon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank adriennevirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda, India
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Natural World Heritage site”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Kaas Plateau, 27 km. from Satara has been incl. in the Natural World Heritage sites by UNESCO this year and deservedly so. It has a unique topography in that the plateau has laterite soil, hence the flowers blossom primarily between Aug. and mid-Oct. due to the effect of monsoon and from end-Dec. onwards, it once again becomes barren. Most of the flowers are tiny and to observe at close quarters, one has to painstakingly walk on the trails created by the Forest Dept. to stop people trampling the flowers all over. The place has an almost ethereal atmosphere in the monsoon due to the constant mist. Every week the flower variety keeps on changing and some of the flowers are of the insectivorous kind. It is to be remembered that besides the actual plateau, the ghats/slopes leading to the plateau has also good variety, some species not found on the actual plateau itself. The trip would be enhanced if one went with a knowledgeable organisation whose representatives help in explaining the names and particular qualities. The Kaas Lake is further 3-4 km. down from the Plateau and when we went in early Sept., during our stay of about an hour, it was completely covered in mist but it also looked beautiful. It is the lake which supplies water to Satara and unfortunately, a lot of refreshment stalls have come up resulting in filth/plastic, etc. particularly on weekends. I would recommend at rip to the 2 places on week-days as they have become very famous in the past 2-3 years leading to hordes of people descending on week-ends, majority of which are ignorant of the concept of eco-tourism.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Kashmalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Flower bed”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

perfect place to be just after the monsoons. This place is in full blossom just for a couple of months. This would be a favorite place for any photograph enthusiast. It takes a whole day to cover the entire flower plateau. Heard this place should be visited every week to discover a variety of flowers. The lake when viewed from the plateau is amazing, covered with a bed of white lotus flowers. Its a not to be missed place. Just a 2 hour drive from Pune and 45min drive from Satara. The enroute to Kas is also very beautiful that your camera just can't stop clicking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Vishwa_Manoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Micro- Macro Magic”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Gum Boots- good rain gear and this place is blissed out. Photography can be a challenge because of the rain... everything's super wet...but it is an amazing place with very little tourism infrastructure which also is part of the charm.
For anyone who loves nature - this place is a MUST
There are waterfalls, forts and endless vistas of Neon green drama to gently rolling meadows- the Wild Flowers are the highlight and the plateau at Kaas is spectacular.

I hope MTDC doesn't screw it up in good governmental style, which is the main threat to this beauty- the Govt. will step in and 'beautify' the place without any considerations to the environment and design aesthetics...Good LUCK

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrayragi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaas Plateau also viewed

Satara, Satara District
Satara, Satara District
 
Satara, Satara District
Satara, Satara District
 

Been to Kaas Plateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing