We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, clean rooms, pity about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Radhika Palace
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Satara
India
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 749 helpful votes
“Good service, clean rooms, pity about the food”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Radhika Palace is one amongst several such hotels lining Satara city's nondescript New Radhika Road.

Conveniently located near the bus station and Powai Naka, the Radhika Palace is a good choice for both the business and leisure visitor to Satara. It is also a pure vegetarian hotel for those who are particular about this facet.

The rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. We have stayed here twice, last year in September and this September as well. We noticed that the maintenance of the rooms was not as good this year as it was previously, though nothing that a phone call did not get attended to promptly.

The staff are courteous and efficient, in particular the room boys who are quick to respond to the slightest request.

Parking is within the compound with watchmen on duty round the clock.

The only fault if you can call it that, is the restaurant which serves a Gujarati thali and nothing else. Not a very brilliant thali either, I may add, though it is supposed to be better on Sundays. Of the four vegetables we got in our thali, three tasted like identical stodge!

It does not really matter, for one can always repair to the Rajtara Hotel next door serves perhaps the tastiest cuisine in all of Satara.

We have stayed at other hotels in Satara city when the Radhika Palace was full. I would rate the stay here higher than the others we tried, except for the limited choice of food. In all fairness I must add that the local breakfast of poha, sheera etc. served up at the Radhika was of excellent standards. Another plus point is the availability of tea, coffee and breakfast early in the morning.

I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Check the rooms on offer before you decide and negotiate the rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gita-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
3
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Located near the main market and bus stand, but well away from the din, as it is located on a side-lane. Our room (411) was a little crowded with furniture but was overall clean and comfortable. Telephone and television in room. Locally packed sachets of shampoo, powder, tooth paste, etc provided with towels (thankfully white but spotless).

The dining hall was plain and served only vegetarian food. For snacks, you will get a list of options but for meals - only one type - Gujarati thali (rice, chapati, sweets and savories, pickle, two kinds of vegetable, dal, etc) with repeated servings. Food - average.

Room Tip: Do not opt for rooms on the upper floors if you have a weak knee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ug_cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hospet, India
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I have regularly staying at this hotel and I notice despite so many other options/new hotels coming up at Satara, they are not improving. May be they are complacent as their occupancy is generally high.

Hotel is an average budget Hotel. The rooms are average but its suit rooms are generally better and you may negotiate a reasonable price even for the same. Even though have a restaurant, they do not have much variety and the options are limited. However, the good part is their Gujarati Thali, which definitely can be given a try. However, if you stay for more number of days, then you get bored by having similar food daily.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mka003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I was on my business trip to Satara and had to stay there for 2 nights. Although Satara is just 110 km from Pune, I preferred to stay there so that concentrate on work. The room was booked by the company and I checked in at evening.

This hotel is very close to Satara ST stand, just walking distance. Still it was quite silent at night. The room was neat and clean. My room was Executive deluxe type with Balcony attached. This is something interesting. The balcony is good for morning tea / coffee with small table and 2 chairs included. If you relax in the chair, you can get very nice view of Fort Ajinkyatara. This fort Ajinkyatara is situated in the city itself. Infact we can say the city is situated around this fort. This is very ancient and famous fort. Shivaji maharaj used to come here for relaxation / rest in his busy schedule. Watching this heighted fort from balcony with sip of tea is good experience. I went for morning walk in the nearby area which connects to Radhika talkies, a good option for entertainment and again just 10 min walking !

The room was well equipped with TV, cable, hot running water etc. Another interesting here was hotel provided me not only soap and towel for bathing, but it also provided talcum powder, cream sachets etc. This not common for even luxury hotels which provide only soap and towel.

Food here was excellent. Pure veg restaurant is connected. I also tasted there famous Gujarathi Thali which local people admire. The menu and food is mouth watering. Kadhi served is typical sweet gujarathi type and very nice after day long excursion to my throat.

It wasnt just business stay but memorable stay mixed with local sightseeing at evening. There is one excellent museum located in between the ST stand and the hotel. It is primarily focused on Shivaji maharaj articles, memories, weapons etc.

I lived there for 2 nights and enjoyed the stay. I will definitely like to come there with family also.

  • Liked — location, food, Internet access
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank PuneTravelbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Satara
1.8 mi away
Hotel Preeti Executive
20.8 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#2 of 5 in Satara
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vegas
Hotel Vegas
#1 of 1 in Shirwal
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hotel Millennium Park
Hotel Millennium Park
#10 of 17 in Panchgani
215 reviews
23.1 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
309 reviews
21.9 mi away
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
#34 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Radhika Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Radhika Palace

Property: Hotel Radhika Palace
Address: New Radhika Road, Satara 415002, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Satara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Satara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Radhika Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing