We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Surprise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sangli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Great Maratha
Ranked #1 of 13 Sangli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unexpected Surprise”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Reached Sangali after 6 hours travel from Pune, I was little bit apprehensive about the stay and then there was surprise by the name of Hotel Grand Maratha. It has very big and comfortable rooms and all possible accessories inside the rooms and all at a very reasonable rate. Food (especially the breakfast) is not up to mark but at least you get something which you can eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GujTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
4
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were visiting our kid who is attending a med school in Sangli. We were to reach early morning and leave by 8 p.m. Thanks to TripAdvisor that we came across this hotel, After reading reviews on this site and on visiting hotel's website to decided to stay here.

If you are coming by bus ask them to drop you at Market Yard area. Just opposite the dropping point is this hotel. We reached there at around 6.30 in the morning. The facilities (not tried all of them) and other things were as per what they have shown/described on their site. A small cozy lobby welcomes you. The room was neat,clean and beautiful. Complimentary bottled water (2) were provided, TOI,Pune edition was also slipped inside the room along with complimentary breakfast note. We did not have any chance to complain about anything..

We wanted to rent a car and also book our return bus tickets to Mumbai which they noted down. We were reminded to have a complimentary breakfast in their resto. The attached resto called Kamat Maurya serves complimentary BF for guests of the hotel. The BF consisted of Idli-sambar-chutney and sweet sheera with cashews;fruits,jam n bread butter,cornflakes with hot/cold milk and tea/coffee. Of course one can choose from ala-carte. We thought the set BF was good enough to start the day. The BF was really good...taste wise...

At pre-determined time our car arrived and then we set to see our daughter.

For lunch we decided to come back and try the same Kamat Maurya again. We ordered Veg 65, Paneer Tikka Masala with rotis and Veg Schezwan Triple Rice. That was definitely not something special...just passeable. May be because by the time we came here it was 3 p.m. and we were not really hungry (as we had eaten some snacks en-route).

Again we set out at 4 p.m. for getting smal knick-knacks from local market and dropping our child back to her hostel only to return to the hotel at 6 p.m.

By 8.15 p.m. we checked out with happy,pleasant memories of a very brief stay here with hope to come back and stay at least for an overnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VU2CBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Great Maratha twice and must say both the times our stay was very pleasant. Both the times i had gone with my family. My daughter now insists that every time we visit sangli we must stay at Hotel Great Maratha only.There is a restaurant called Kamat maurya in the hotel which serves pure veg food. The room are clean and neat. The management and the staff are very cooperative. It is a good value for money . There is a rickshaw stand close by so commuting from the hotel to places in sangli is very easy. It is the best hotel to stay in Sangli.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sangeetaashishdesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Recently stayed at Hotel Great Maratha, Sangli. Enjoyed the stay. Nice, well maintained rooms. Very good vegitarian restaurant on ground floor and also a Baskin robbins Ice cream parlour. Probably the best in city.

Room Tip: If you like silence, choose rooms on back side instead of road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USP_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
191 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Well furnished nice and clean rooms and toilets. Co-operative staff, Decent food, however breakfast serves could have one or more dish and better quality. Staff needs to be little more professional especially in the front desk and restaurant. Good Location. All in all worth the tariff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haresh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

i visited sangli for the first time and was unaware of any good hotels.but as i checked trip advisor i found out great maratha and the reviews were good.soo i tried it myself and found out that the reviews shared were indeed true.the hotel is indeed worth staying.i stayed there for a day and now every time i visit sangli i prefer great maratha every time.the rooms are spacious and the hotel staff is very caring and mannerly.Being in a small town, maratha has a good standard of staying and is worth spending some cash.
the food is kinda average but overall i would still prefer Great Maratha.
thanks to tripadvisor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prateek27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

GREAT EXPRIENCE STAYING INN OVER HERE. was delighted with the ambience and service in such a small town thank you tripadvisor.in for your wonderful support and we also had a very successful conference there in the hotel with good authentic south Indian Food stuff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANKITPARAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sangli
0.0 mi away
Sayaji Hotel Kolhapur
Sayaji Hotel Kolhapur
#1 of 31 in Kolhapur
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nisarg Resort
Nisarg Resort
#2 of 31 in Kolhapur
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Residency Executive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Anuradha Star Tower
0.0 mi away
The Grand Heritage Business Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
United 21 Sangali
#3 of 13 in Sangli
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Great Maratha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Great Maratha

Property: Hotel Great Maratha
Address: Opp Vasant Colony, Sangli 416416, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Sangli District > Sangli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sangli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing