We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to nature and back to basics”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saguna Baug

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Neral
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saguna Baug
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Back to nature and back to basics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Well, I had enough of the Hotels / Resorts and therefore decided to do something unusual this weekend. Unusual as in without AC, No TV or Room Service - tough apparently but worth a try. And I particularly wanted my kid to experience the nature at its best and very rustic - experiences which we all probably had as kids in villages. Saguna Baug was an ideal retreat. Set in 55 Acres of Farm Land, with a lazy river, 5 Ponds and cozy cottages. The food was homemade and great. Swimming in the river, casting a bait in the ponds and yes netting a catch, riding the buffalo in the river alongwith sumptuous homemade food - the weekend was fabulous. My kid though away from the usual privileges of a swimming pool, TV or the Tablet and room service was mighty impressed. With the many activities, lazing on the hammock and seeing trees of various types beyond one can count made his day. My day was made because I could connect him to nature and we all loved it. Good place for a weekend picnic. Ideally one can choose to stay in the cottages and should opt for the winter (ie if one is keen for an AC environment).

Room Tip: Two options - Pond Cottage (in between a pond) or the cottages. I would rather recommend the cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AjayGoswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    79
    16
    9
    14
See reviews for
105
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Last week, me and my son visited a green Oasis in HOT & SULTRY Neral, a 2 hours train trip from south Mumbai, which is a 55 acre plot called 'Saguna Farm' with Cottages & Dormitories available on hire where all the produce are produced organically in house & are fed to the guests. It is very professionally managed by its owner, Mr. Bhad Savle. They offer alot of activities like river swimming, bullock cart rides, games etc. It is supervised by the owner himself who takes care of each guest personally. While at the farm, there was a crowd of 250+ visitors on Thursday which was handled very professionally by Mr. Bhad Savle and his team.
The cherry on the cake is the horse riding school managed and supervised by Dr. Dave (first Indian female Jockey) who not only helped us overcomes the fear of riding horses but taught us how to handle and ride thorough bred horses within a short span of 5 days.

We wish Mr. Savle & his team success & good luck for creating this Nature park, which is a perfect getaway form the hustle bustle of cities like mumbai and Pune. We would humbly request Mr. Savle to overcome the minuise of mosquitoes to add to the comfort of his guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AhmedBadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had planned a day picnic of all members from our apartment block and were searching for a decent resort in the vicinity of Mumbai. We zeroed in on Saguna Baug based on suggestions of fellow travelers.

Our group age consisted of people from 70 years of age to a 6 month old baby. Saguna Baug offered something for all these ages.

The resort is actually a farm property converted into an eco tourist destination. Its located in Nerul and accessible by Central Railway (Nerul Station) and by road its a short drive from the Mumbai Pune old road or the Mumbai Pune Expressway. One can reach Saguna baug in about 2 to 2.5 hours from Mumbai (Max).

Saguna Baug can be a good destination for both a Day picnic and also an overnight stay. They offer cottages, a cottage on stilts in a stream, Dormitories (around 8 to 10 people with attached toilet) and tents (around 8 people, toilets outside). There is no TV in the rooms, but who needs a TV at Saguna baug ? The place offers loads of activities.

After treating the guests to a sumptuous breakfast the resort offered a guide to take us around the farm. The guide explained various farming and other activities carried out by the resort and showed us around. The guides are quite trained in their task and were happy to answer questions. Saguna baug offers city dwellers like us an opportunity to feel and see the village life and the guide added to our knowledge about the local flora and fauna.

During the 1 hour along tour they treated us to a nice Nimbu Pani. Then we went on to see the "drag net" being put to use to catch fish in their artificial fish pond. They showed the fish, explained the various characteristics of them and then released them back in the water without harming them.

Then came the piece de resistance... a dunking in the nearby river !! The farm is adjoining to a shallow river whose waters are calm. We had a ball in water to beat the hot sun. The staff had thrown in a line to mark the shallow area from the deep and positioned themselves to warn revelers in case they ventured in uncharted waters. They also brought in a buffalo and allowed the kids to ride it in water.

After spending time in water everyone was hungry and we headed back to the resort. They offered simple but tasty meal. (Note: Non Veg food available at additional charge and needs to be pre booked).

After the Lunch the resort brought out snakes captured from around the village. They explained various aspects about the fearsome crawlers and also busted a few myths surrounding the snakes. They also indicated that the captured snakes will be released in the wild after treatment.

Other activities like boating, horse riding, bullock cart ride, shooting, archery and fishing are also available at the resort. (though these have an added cost and are not included in the standard cost)

The staff consisted of local help, was not very polished but they knew their job well. They were friendly and helpful.

All in all a good place for a weekend overnighter trip or day picnic for family and for groups. Definitely worth a visit and maybe a return trip as well.

Note:
1. In my note below I have rated the swimming pool as excellent, be aware that I am referring to the river !!!
2. Since we were on a day picnic I could not comment on the sleep quality but I feel it should be really peaceful with no TV and traffic around !!

Room Tip: The stilt cottage offers an excellent view ! check the pic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kaustubh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

great experiance great food and service staff real good a real village feel enjoyed bull ride hope they had horse cart too it was day trip but now want to go for 2,3 days lots of fun.children from city can really get to see veg on tree ,mango trees ,lemon and many more, buffaloes to watch from close

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neha765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I with some of my frens went there for a one day picnic...

Nice place.... with easily accesible from mumbai..... by train n then auto.....

was full of fun activities which we city dwellers never do.....

best part was swimming in river.... n then the fish n chicken packed lunch.....

worth the cost.....very economical....

but u never get any booking here..... its always full...... they hv a pond house but u never get it......

Site needs to be imnproved.....

BUt in all a good place.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohan6485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to SB on 23rd March 2013. It was a superb experience. We travelled by road from Pune, but railway is more comfortable option. They welcomed us with "Limbu Sarbat"...! We had booked dormetories. it is a small self contained hall with loft type structure in it.. so 10-12 people can comfortably sleep. Rooms and toilets were clean. Even the comman toilets outside were also very clean.
Food is just great.... staff is very very helpfull.. my 10 month old son was with us. and they gave every required thing we wanted for him (milk, sterlization of bottles, food..) without any cost.
The best part was "Ulhas River" ... Its the best experince I had..!!

Must Visit place....!!

Room Tip: Pond House is very good for couples, Cottages are very good for small families.. We booked dormetory...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sanimisra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Saguba baug is a great place right in nature's lap.We took an early morning train to neral station and there was a farm vehicle there to pick us up ! The morning breakfast poha that we were served was the best poha i've ever had in my life. Later we had space for lots of outdoor games like voleyball,badminton etc The swim in the small little river was super fun. After which a decent lunch was served(great service,co-operative staff).We also went boating. Fishing was lots and lots of fun. Thus all in all a nice place for a fun short picnic. I recommend it !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NishiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neral
0.0 mi away
Discover Condos
Discover Condos
#1 of 2 in Neral
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#207 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
18.4 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
15.6 mi away
UK's Resort
UK's Resort
#2 of 2 in Khopoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
12.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguna Baug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguna Baug

Property: Saguna Baug
Address: Village Malegaon, Neral 410101, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Neral
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Neral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Saguna Baug Hotel Neral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing