We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and probably the best place to be at when in murud” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Swan Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Swan Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Murud
Certificate of Excellence
hyderabad
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing and probably the best place to be at when in murud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Gloden Swan was definetly the best resort you can find in Murud...It is exactly on the beach. A calm and relaxing place to be at. Mr Irshad was very helpful in getting the booking done and understanding our requirements.In all the resorts that we researched on, we are glad we chose this place. Definetly worth the price!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    180
    58
    18
    10
See reviews for
200
89
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed there for 1 night at Golden Swan, Murud. The reason for choosing this place was that its location was nice. Bad experiences:
1) We booked through a travel agency which said they will give us a 7% discount for cottages. The agency name was Sai Bless. The rate provided was Rs 3200 per cottage. On reaching the resort, we realized that there was an on-going discount and all cottages were for Rs 1400 - a loss of Rs 800 per room. On talking to the manager Ms Mrunal, we were told "You should have booked directly with us". Forget a refund, Ms Mrunal didn't bother even trying to give us any freebees or promises that on our next visit we can avail a discount. And the best part is that the receipt given to us by 'Sai Bles' mentions that Ms Mrunal from the resort has confirmed the amount charged to us. Clearly a scam in which the resort is also involved! What a sad way to make more money.....and ensure that the guests never come back to their resort
2) Food was good but for one instance in which there was a stone in the soup. On informing the waiter, we get a smile and then they also bill us for the soup. Clearly disgusting level of service
If you want to go here - go only for the location, ensure you confirm through 3-4 sources the actual tariff and dont eat here.
I would never visit this place again. There are multiple resorts available in the vicinity which are much better in terms of service and overall quality.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank npraikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

I had stayed at golden swan resort for 2 days. The stay at this hotel is worth for a remembrance of a pleasant stay at a resort during hotels with peace and calm area with home like enviorment of farm house. A trip to alibag is worthless without a stay at golden swan beach resort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy9966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

We booked this property for our first honeymoon, since we wanted to be near the beach and did want to travel to a far off place like Goa or something like that.

On reaching the location of the Hotel we were really delighted. The place was bang on the beach and our room/cottage was facing the beach. It was like steying in a beach house, however the place was in bad shape. There was fungus on in places. Bathrooms were small and still had leftover sand.

But all in all we had a great relaxing time there and might still go there if they offer great rates.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevalVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Murud Janjira such a beauty of nature. We enjoy the place where the stay "Golden Swan Beach Resort". Property just attached to beach & such a nice treatment. Very nice place to picnic & relaxation,Great Atmosphere. Murud Janjira is just like little mauritius.

I wish will come again & blast with friends. Thanx to staff of resort who given us such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dream1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

The resort has an excellent location and opens into a beach. The place is very calm and serene. Thekey attraction at Fort at Murud Janjira is about 4 - 5 kms away from the resort. The beach was clean and there are lots of hammocks, swings and sunbathing chairs in a small garden by the beach. The resort is a bit pricey but I think it is because of the location, and i felt it was worth it.
It is better to drive down to the place in own conveyance as it may be difficult to explore Murud without own conveyance. Excellent weekend getaway from Mumbai.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandegaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

Had been there on a weekend to Murud Beach and as had heard a lot about the Golden Swan resort decided to stay there. The place is almost a 4.5 hour drive from Pune at an exact 225Kms. 50 % of the journey is on the Mumbai-Pune expressaway and the 40% is on the busy Mumbai-Goa highway which is quite busy and after Alibagh you actually enjoy the drive with less traffic. Made a mistake of not carrying any food ( breakfast) as I thought would get it on the way but did not find anything worthwhile to stop. Murud beach is about 20 Kms ahead of the Kashid beach and as I had already stayed in Kashid with Prakruti and enjoyed the experience wanted to stay in Murud now. We reached the hotel at about 12:15pm in the afternoon and had to wait for about 30 mins as the room was not ready. At the reception we were neither served water nor any juice. When we got the room, it was quite small and the toilet was also quite quite small. Was looking at a much better place as after staying in Prakruti thought this would be worth it. The mattress was also not comfortable to sleep on and overall I would rate the room part at only 2/5. Food was quite decent, the vegetarian food but the service was a bit slow. Beach was walking distance say about 5 mins from the resort but I felt that Kashid beach was much cleaner. We were on an all meal package and the lunch and dinner were quite decent but breakfast could have been a lot lot better. On Food I would give them a 3/5. So overall you can give this place a miss but Prakruti scores a lot lot better than Golden Swan and though being slightly on the higher price side.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murud
0.1 mi away
Sea Shell Resort
Sea Shell Resort
#4 of 6 in Murud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
22.7 mi away
Big Splash
Big Splash
#14 of 16 in Alibaug
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
23.2 mi away
Ruturaj Inn
Ruturaj Inn
#5 of 16 in Alibaug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Prakruti Resort
Prakruti Resort
#1 of 5 in Kashid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
11.7 mi away
Elysium Spa Resort
Elysium Spa Resort
#2 of 37 in Alibaug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
11.0 mi away
Exotica Beach Resort - Dive Agar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Swan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Swan Beach Resort

Property: Golden Swan Beach Resort
Address: Darbar Road | opp Custom Office, Murud Janjira, Murud 401201, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Murud
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Murud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Swan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the sun go down behind the darkening silhouette of Shivaji's strategic fort, built off the coast of Murud Janjira. The breathtaking view comes free with a stay at the Golden Swan Beach Resort - a resort located right on the beach. Located just 150 kms south of Mumbai and 170 kms west of Pune, the resort is a perfect weekend getaway to a world once ruled by Abyssians, Marathas and the Portuguese. Indulge in adventurous water sports, mouthwatering food or just relax by the beach side with your loved ones at this Mediterranean style property. But please forget to carry your watches, as time nearly stops here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Swan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Swan Beach Hotel Murud
Golden Swan Beach Resort Murud, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing