We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Swan Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Murud
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing Great”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Had been there on a weekend to Murud Beach and as had heard a lot about the Golden Swan resort decided to stay there. The place is almost a 4.5 hour drive from Pune at an exact 225Kms. 50 % of the journey is on the Mumbai-Pune expressaway and the 40% is on the busy Mumbai-Goa highway which is quite busy and after Alibagh you actually enjoy the drive with less traffic. Made a mistake of not carrying any food ( breakfast) as I thought would get it on the way but did not find anything worthwhile to stop. Murud beach is about 20 Kms ahead of the Kashid beach and as I had already stayed in Kashid with Prakruti and enjoyed the experience wanted to stay in Murud now. We reached the hotel at about 12:15pm in the afternoon and had to wait for about 30 mins as the room was not ready. At the reception we were neither served water nor any juice. When we got the room, it was quite small and the toilet was also quite quite small. Was looking at a much better place as after staying in Prakruti thought this would be worth it. The mattress was also not comfortable to sleep on and overall I would rate the room part at only 2/5. Food was quite decent, the vegetarian food but the service was a bit slow. Beach was walking distance say about 5 mins from the resort but I felt that Kashid beach was much cleaner. We were on an all meal package and the lunch and dinner were quite decent but breakfast could have been a lot lot better. On Food I would give them a 3/5. So overall you can give this place a miss but Prakruti scores a lot lot better than Golden Swan and though being slightly on the higher price side.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    181
    60
    18
    10
See reviews for
203
90
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

The resort is located right on the beach. The rooms are clean but not very spacious. The staff was excellent and the courteousness levels were at par with 5 star hotels. They set up a table for us right on the beachfront for a nice dinner under the stars hearing the sound of the waves. The resort offers buffet meals, which though not lavish, are fairly satisfying in variety and taste. The resort also offers bicycles for hire - which are very useful for riding the length of the beach and also exploring nearby places. Overall, at around 4K on full board basis, this place is excellent value for money.

  • Liked — location ,value for money
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelExotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

i revisited the resort exactly after 1 yr, and just like last time i had a wonderful experience.
the resort now has bicylces for hire, which u can ride on the beach or around the town of murud janjira. bicycles have gears for easy pedalling :)
the food is very good and so are the rooms...the resort is located literally a stone's throw away from the beach with a direct view of a fort (which is in the middle of the sea).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayushb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

This Resort is one place where i have revisited and liked it. the staff is extremly courteous and the location is heavenly bang opposite the Beach. the Rooms are neat and well maintained. The beach itself is secluded but for tourists like us. A lot of nearby places to visit. the janjira fort which is right in the middle of the sea, temples. The drive to the resort is very picturseque.We had a great time together

  • Liked — The room was spacious with neat & clean sheets and had a nice sitout
  • Disliked — Room service
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank konkani_layak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I visited this place in Feb 09
It was nice experiance being there.
I was there for 2 days and enjoyed it.
The beach is very close to the resort (hardly 25m). As other beacheds its not dirty it was clean.
Rooms were clean and well mantained
Food was also of good quality....
Cooperative staff ..overall nice experiance
In short worth 5000 per night

  • Liked — Location near beach
  • Disliked — Some rooms are on the back side so not a good location
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bookit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Decent place with big 2 bedroom cottages available. We checkid in late but was fun staying here. We where a group of 6 people and stayed in atwo bedroom cottage. property is on the beach, clean and perfect., Food is also decent enough. they dont serve liquer.

  • Liked — Resort is right on the beach and perfect location
  • Disliked — washrooms needs mordenization
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cold_smok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Date: Dec 30, 2008
Reviewer: A TripAdvisor regular Visitor, Mumbai, India
We have just returned from two days visit from this resort. I had a horible experience which led me to cut short my journey even though I booked for 3 days/2nights stay there.

While searching in the net, I was just looking for a place with peace and tranquility and this resort with its good home page and 2 reviews attracted me. Let me summarize below my experience so that nobody gets fooled by these type of suckers:

1. The place is very highly priced as compared to available
facilities and standard. I paid 17,100/- for 2 nights booking with food for one deluxe a/c room (front side) for me+wife+1 child.

2. The room was Deluxe a/c by name only. It was a horrible room with bank bed. Size of the room with bath-room is around 10ftx10ft only. It is so clostrophobic that we had to spend sleepless night and opened up the window ignoring the incomming traffic of large mosquitos. It was like a Doll's house. Furnitures (read, the bed) are all old and paint were peeling off from from bathroom door.

3. When I checked in, I asked for another room which was adjacent, without bank bed and little bit tolerable. Though nobody checked in there at that time, I was refused and some cock & bull story was told by the reception people about some body who had booked the room from Mumbay in advance.

4. The reception was almost non-existence. All the time they were found to be busy talking to each other rather than attending the guests.

5. Restaurant is very small with very old furnitures and layout of tables will confuse you while selecting your place to sit as they are either very close to food-table or very far. A unique layout indeed. There are very little space in between for free movement.

6. Food is the last thing I want to mention. We found the food spicy, tasteless and odd-combinations. I was shocked to see in the breakfast menu they were serving Pav (local hand made bread) to be taken with butter/ jam /omlette!!!!

7. Only good thing about the place was it's proximity to the beach.

8. I found the money I spent for booking Golden Swan Beach resort all went down the drain. They should charge 1/4th amount of what they are charging now for the quality of service they are offering.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — size
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dilli_ka_laddu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murud
0.1 mi away
Sea Shell Resort
Sea Shell Resort
#4 of 6 in Murud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
22.7 mi away
Big Splash
Big Splash
#14 of 16 in Alibaug
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
23.1 mi away
Ruturaj Inn
Ruturaj Inn
#6 of 16 in Alibaug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Maple IVY
Maple IVY
#4 of 16 in Alibaug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
7.9 mi away
Prakruti Resort
Prakruti Resort
#1 of 5 in Kashid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
11.7 mi away
Elysium Spa Resort
Elysium Spa Resort
#3 of 40 in Alibaug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Swan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Swan Beach Resort

Property: Golden Swan Beach Resort
Address: Darbar Road | opp Custom Office, Murud Janjira, Murud 401201, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Murud
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Murud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Swan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the sun go down behind the darkening silhouette of Shivaji's strategic fort, built off the coast of Murud Janjira. The breathtaking view comes free with a stay at the Golden Swan Beach Resort - a resort located right on the beach. Located just 150 kms south of Mumbai and 170 kms west of Pune, the resort is a perfect weekend getaway to a world once ruled by Abyssians, Marathas and the Portuguese. Indulge in adventurous water sports, mouthwatering food or just relax by the beach side with your loved ones at this Mediterranean style property. But please forget to carry your watches, as time nearly stops here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Golden Swan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Swan Beach Hotel Murud
Golden Swan Beach Resort Murud, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing