We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Swan Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Murud
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best Beach Resort”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Golden Swan beach resort is located right at the sea shore with one entry / exit direct to the beach. There is ample parking place. Golden Swan beach resort only has Ac cottages nicely made. It has a nice garden for children. The restaurant serves best Indian, Chinese and other cuisine. A very good place to holiday for 3-4 days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vikram G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    182
    60
    18
    10
See reviews for
205
91
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Beach is the beauty, It was our wedding anniversary, we stayed at this resort. Room and bathroom cleanliness was just ok, A/C did not work, tried to inform at the reception in the mid night, got no response from there! Slept without A/C, informed front office staff, they did not accept their fault, we paid in full for A/C room, however couldn't use A/C! Food was pathetic, front office staff was not polite! Overall bad experience, had expected much but was highly dissatisfied!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharuDawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have been to Golden Swan Beach Resort twice. Once with Family and second time with my team. Its the only good property in Murud which offers great rooms. Although none of the cottages are sea facing but the last one gets you a good view from its balcony. Hotel is highly priced as compared to services offered however couples prefer this because of peace and privacy. Its a good resort for family with kids. Kids get ample space to play around. As this resort in on the beach itself, you can go out and then enjoy seashore walk. Inside the fence, you can also park your car and enjoy music with open air dinner.

They also have non ac cottages which are located little away from the main resort. I loved it the most because its kind of a private bungalow with a small garden area.

Food is certainly an area of improvement in this resort. Food is tasteless and overprices. Suggest you to have lunch or dinner outside resort. For stay, its recommended to book at provided you get a good deal. It remains fully booked all the times due to Mumbai crowd hence book it well in advance.

Room Tip: Book sea view cottage or the front side part of a cottage. If no luck then go for non ac cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GauravShri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Although we were passing Murud, we went for dinner. The buffet fare was passable but the food was terrible. Soup was tasteless and chicken so spicy that even the adults felt uncomfortable.
What struck us as unacceptable was the hotel is being run without any management. The Assistant Manager was on leave an incharge Manager was in hospital. The persons manning gave parrot-like answers. No contact number was taken. It was clearly evident that they just wanted to avoid any feedback. Even the head office at Mumbai dis not revert despite repeated attempts

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmitSany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have been to this resort on a outbound corporate training programme. We went by road and it took us more than 3 hours from Bandra to the resort in the afternoon.
The resort is located at very close proximity to beach. The cottage rooms are neat and clean and have basic amenities. Staff was courteous. They have a small restaurant which is situated on the resort entry. Food quality was very good. Service was average.
Things I liked most about the place:
1. You can directly go to beach and the view is awesome. One of the best resorts in Murud
2. Place to relax on the easy chairs facing the beach.
3. Rooms were quiet and comfortable
4. Food was tasty.
5. Resort offers a membership plan with discount coupons and cheaper tariff options for next visit
The place suffers from load shedding but resort has power backup to compensate. We got occasionally disturbed by power going off and coming in couple of times during training.
Overall, I was happy with this visit and would like to visit again with my family this time for a peaceful beach vacation

Room Tip: AC deluxe cottage is very good. Budget travellars can also opt for Deluxe room without hesitation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was a nice resort. Clean and maintained. One of its advantage was that it was on the beach so we cud to visit the waters as and when we wanted. the staff was nice. Food was ok. The staff responded very well whenever we asked for anything. They had facility of sterlising the bottles for my son too. There were swan and swings all over and my baby had a gala time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swatisaurabh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
285 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed from 12th Oct to 14th Oct. Drove down from Mumbai city to Murud. Check in was fast. Very helpful, polite staff.
Rooms are big, clean and neat and well maintained. Family of 4-6 or group of 6 can easily fit in with extra mattresses. Housekeeping was prompt. Clean linen. Hot running water available.
Food during the breakfast, lunch and dinner was good and tasty, except for one paneer dish on one of the lunches.
Has a private access to the beach. Has bicycles inside which can be used for free.
Needs to be booked in advance during the peak season.
Overall a good place and can be recommended for repeat visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach rooms and in that too stay in B-1 to B-3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAB-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murud
0.1 mi away
Sea Shell Resort
Sea Shell Resort
#4 of 6 in Murud
87 reviews
22.7 mi away
Big Splash
Big Splash
#14 of 16 in Alibaug
100 reviews
23.1 mi away
Ruturaj Inn
Ruturaj Inn
#5 of 16 in Alibaug
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Prakruti Resort
Prakruti Resort
#1 of 6 in Kashid
453 reviews
11.7 mi away
Elysium Spa Resort
Elysium Spa Resort
#2 of 41 in Alibaug
329 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sia Resort
Sia Resort
#8 of 16 in Alibaug
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Swan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Swan Beach Resort

Property: Golden Swan Beach Resort
Address: Darbar Road | opp Custom Office, Murud Janjira, Murud 401201, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Murud
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Murud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Swan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the sun go down behind the darkening silhouette of Shivaji's strategic fort, built off the coast of Murud Janjira. The breathtaking view comes free with a stay at the Golden Swan Beach Resort - a resort located right on the beach. Located just 150 kms south of Mumbai and 170 kms west of Pune, the resort is a perfect weekend getaway to a world once ruled by Abyssians, Marathas and the Portuguese. Indulge in adventurous water sports, mouthwatering food or just relax by the beach side with your loved ones at this Mediterranean style property. But please forget to carry your watches, as time nearly stops here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Golden Swan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Swan Beach Hotel Murud
Golden Swan Beach Resort Murud, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing