We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Besides the name and view....leaves much to desire!”
Review of Sand Piper Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Piper Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Murud
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Booked this hotel mainly for the view as senior citizens would not be holed up while the family was at the beach. However, besides a very warm welcome from Mr Philip at the time of arrival everything else was way below expectations. Considering that this is one of the premium places to stay at Murud, it indicates the lack of understanding of hospitality business.
Positive: Very nice terrace, prompt room service, clean sheets and bathrooms
Negative:The AC has no grill on the top and very very very noisy, open wires where there should be lamps, no tables or shelves in the room to keep luggage, not even a purse. Sliding windows to the terrace impossible to open without help from at least 2 people.
If you have chosen not to take the bundled meal plus room option, GOD only save you. You have to set your own table, no water served, no glasses at the table, breakfast served late but you cant start anyways as there are no forks, knives. Old tables are not cleared for over an hour leaving flies pestering you. table cloths lie at the side of the dining area like a dhobi's bundle. If you are of chalta hai attitude, you can ignore it, not otherwise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goots30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 66 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Guys visit this place for its amazing beauty and the surroundings...Resort is located up the hill and u will find the best view of the sea and the sunset. Spacious property..Great Service..Avg food..Amazing views from the rooms. However slight construction and interior must be done to rebring its original beauty... Overall its Perfect place to stay...but u need to shell out more....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raviramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed there for a night & glad it was only 1 night. While the resort looks fine from outside, the moment you step inside the room, you realise, how shabbily this place is maintained. Paint is coming off the walls, bathroom is smelly & looks like was last renovated in 90s, blankets are not comfortable. Food was strictly ok. To top it all, there was no hot water provision in the morning. Had to wait for 1 hour for a bucket of hot water arranged from another room. This was after we had taken the best room. The only positive is the view from the room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anurag_mittal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

It's the best place to stay in Murud. I will not be surprised if one day this property is bought by ITC Or Renaissance in case they are interested in business at Murud.

Its on top of a Hill hence View is unbeatable. Rooms are Big and very comfortable.
They give breakfast / lunch / dinner and I must say food is awesome.

Since there are no Bar and Restaurants in the town guys here will happily bring alcohol to your room. Sit back , Relax and Enjoy the view from this Hill Top resort !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiyushBhartiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The only positive aspect of this place was the view oft he Janjira fort from the room.
Otherwise the place was shabby, and unkept, with termite eaten balcony railings which were about to fall, insects and ants in the balcony and the room; smelly bathroom. The a/c was very old,hence some what noisy, though admittedly functional. The swimming pool had obviously not been cleaned for days. The morning after we arrived, attempts were made to have it cleaned a bit.The staff how ever wa courteous and helpful but had nothing to offer in terms of facilities. We were the only guets, and it was obvious why this was so. A definite no, no.

Room Tip: If at all you do dcdie to visit this place, look or a room with a full view of the janjira fort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MohanPuneIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Visited this place in August hence the weather was cool...the resort has an awesome view we had taken the 70% view room. The place didn't have any food hence we had to look out got other options...nonetheless the view at this place is worth it. The service is a little slow but the manager and his staff make a genuine effort to keep upto it.

Room Tip: Choose a 100% or 70% view to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AdelHenriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Extremely pathetic rooms, stinking so badly. Swimming pool is full of insects and small stones and water would have not been cleaned from months..... When we visited there was no water supply for 1 full day as there motor was not working, they call it a resort... i dont know why.. food quality is horrible. if you want to spoil your money and time u can visit or forget it...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haiitsmeash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murud
0.2 mi away
Sea Shell Resort
Sea Shell Resort
#4 of 6 in Murud
87 reviews
22.4 mi away
Big Splash
Big Splash
#15 of 17 in Alibaug
104 reviews
45.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 mi away
Lotus Beach Resort
Lotus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Murud
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Swan Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
Prakruti Resort
Prakruti Resort
#1 of 7 in Kashid
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Piper Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Piper Resort

Address: On the Hillock Facing The Murud Beach | on The Hillock facing Murud Beach, Murud 402401, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Murud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Murud
Price Range: $39 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Sand Piper Resort Murud, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing