We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food not over price”
Review of Osteria Emilia

Osteria Emilia
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 9/20
8:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 21, 2017 via mobile

Dinner with a group of colleagues in this hotel restaurant was much better than expected. Stayed in the hotel before but not used the restaurant before. Good and polite service and really tasty, well presented food was a real hit with all plates properly emptied to the last bite. A good wine selection and beer of course too just round off a good meal.
Very nice place to eat.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Paxlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 361 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

As far as I know this restaurant keeping traditional way to cook food ,all materials collect carfully,handmade pasta and so on.My daughter she is actually pretty hypercritical on foods,I'm glad to see she eat all and almost licking the bowl!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank yolandama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2016

The restaurant is located at the Best Western Hotel Modena District of Campogalliano, it is nicely decorated, but in the Italian way: not very cozi.

The menu shows very good choice of dishes. It is varied, and very well thought. Taking into consideration that it is located in Modena, they combine this ingredient with very good taste in some of their dishes.
It is understandable it is in the Michelin Guide, but I think Michelin should pay more attention not only how well the dishes are made, but to the rest of the service (e.g., the waiters, tables, places, etc.).

I was the oldest lady there, and the waiter served me after the others.

The dishes we chose were delicious, the pork filet with pears cooked in Modena sauce and bacon, was divine! The pasta we ordered was also excellent but was quite cold, strange, though.. They have excellent dishes but don't pay attention to this kind of details.

I would recommend it, naturally but don't be surprised if they don't pay attention to the small details that also make good impression.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GioryNiezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Momagnabein, Proprietario at Osteria Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2016

Good morning , thank you for the review being still positive , though I can not understand his criticisms , usually the service is very attentive , the service still does not we set it on seniority but for input , with one person taking orders , two for wine and the opening of the table and the consequent service with the staff . If by chance there were mistakes I apologize , being of a good standard norm, it makes me wonder ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2016

Fussy place full of seemingly underemployed waiters. One puts parmesan on your table the other one removes it and so on and on. The vegetable soup was far from being authentically italian. It might have even contained soup powder. The pasta we ordered was quite cold, looked like it was taken from deep freeze and boiled for too short a time. The restaurant is located at the Best Western hotel of Campogalliano and it seems to be frequented by the contained audience of the motel.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zurich71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Momagnabein, Proprietario at Osteria Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2016

Reading his review I noticed much superficiality . The cheese goes put the need and taken away when finished . The vegetable is cooked at low temperature to preserve the freshness and crispiness . The pasta is homemade by my family . Next time I'll show you the production .... being a restaurant inside un'albergo , I'm not surprised that there were hotel guests, do not you think ? ! ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2015

Davide takes pride in the dishes he creates, and rightly so!

His Guinea Fowl creation with balsamic vinegar (obviously from Modena) was absolutely to die for, and brought together this gamey bird and local character in perfect harmony. He can discourse about anything related to local produce, culinary habits and traditions. Friendly and professional service by all the staff.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kampagnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Momagnabein, Proprietario at Osteria Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2015
Google Translation

Gentile Signore, grazie di essere stato nuovamente ospite e di avere espresso un suo giudizio del nostro operato. Felici che tutto sia stato gradito offrendole oltre che un servizio un momento di piacere, le porgo i più Distinti Saluti.

Davide e Christian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Emilia also viewed

Campogalliano, Province of Modena
Campogalliano, Province of Modena
 
Campogalliano, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to Osteria Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing