We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service & Food are First Class”

Al Lago Italian Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Cams Wharf
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service & Food are First Class”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff here are among the best I've ever encountered and the steak I had was cooked to perfection! Huge servings - the kids meal of nuggets and chips was waaaay too big for my 5 year old, but I enjoyed helping him with his chips! Highly recommend!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlisonKate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    8
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good Italian family restaurant”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This is an Italian restaurant which is family friendly, but with food of a good quality for the parents. Located in a good setting overseeing Macquarie Lake, this restaurant has a good standard Italian Australian menu which should have someone for everyone. Good standard fare in a very pleasant environment. Friendly attentive service. Strongly recommend for families.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faulconbridge, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The restaurant is set in a beautiful part of Lake Macquarie, it is a great place for a family lunch as the kids have use of the onsite pool. The staff were excellent, very attentive and friendly. We were there in a large group and the value for money was excellent. We had a variety of food in the middle of the table for a serve yourself type lunch. the antipasto plate was excellent, but as a previous post said, the pizzas were a little burnt around the crusts, the toppings on the pizza however were amazing, I particularly enjoyed the prosciutto and rocket one. The various pasta dishes we had were excellent. The rest of the menu looked great, and reasonably priced. We will return there one day with just my family so we can enjoy an a la carte lunch and choose directly from the menu. Drink prices were also very reasonable.
It is hard to imagine that you could not have a great time there if the weather is warm and the sun is shining. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frazer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
382 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Worthy a visit”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Located inside a resort on the shore of Lake Macquarie. Great views. Service good and attentive. The pizzas two friends ordered were burnt. Wine selection OK but could be a little more extensive for a resort. Would return, but not for the pizzas.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Italian food, excellent setting and service”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have been to Al Lago a number of times and always had a great experience. The servings are large and on the whole very tasty. I think there are two couples that run the restaurant and try hard to make sure you are satisfied. The setting is wonderful, based on the water in the Rafferties Resort complex at Cams Wharf. You overlook Lake Macquarie and to the side is the main pool of the resort. Half of the menu is taking up by pizza, then starters, selection of 6 or so mains, pastas then deserts. You cant go wrong with this place either for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Lago Italian Restaurant also viewed

Lake Macquarie, Greater Newcastle
Caves Beach, Lake Macquarie
 
Belmont, Lake Macquarie
 
Belmont, Lake Macquarie
Swansea, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Al Lago Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing