We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family getaway”
Review of Raffertys Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raffertys Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cams Wharf
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Family getaway”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We came away to Rafferty's with our 4 teenagers and the boat. We've been 3 times before and it's a great holiday environment- right on the lake, lovely native gardens, picturesque run/walk tracks, tennis, pools. Must say though that there are a few negatives...our loft cottage was in need of maintenance, particularly the bathrooms (taps/fittings old and falling apart), paint peeling, cleaning job not very thorough. Only 3 star accom at best, although have heard lakemacresorts are the way to go over mercure resorts, both manage accom here.

Little kids everywhere...pool goes a decidedly greenish tinge by end of day (don't see many little feet visiting the loo), screamers in restaurants.

Also seem to have the joy of really inconsiderate bogan types next door, who make heaps of noise well into the wee hours ev night. No security to call to solve the problem.

On the upside, everything you need for a reasonably priced family getaway is here. The restaurants are quite nice too. Miss the shop that used to be here though, none anymore, but Swansea down the road.

If you're not too picky and focus on the beautiful environment, it's a nice place. We may be back.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikw32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaffertysResort, General Manager at Raffertys Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
nikw32

Thanks for your feedback about your stay at Rafferty's. Maintenance issues relating to the cottage have been addressed by maintenance where possible and the owners advised.

The accommodation Managed under the Mercure banner has been undergoing upgrades over the past 18 months. Many of our terraces and cottages in our accommodation pool have been upgraded with further improvements scheduled for this year. The majority of accommodation falls under the Mercure banner.

Lake Mac Resorts as they refer to themselves manage a minority of the accommodation at Raffertys and make no contribution to the operation or maintenance of the resort. Guests of Lake Mac Resorts are generously afforded the use of Resort facilities owned and funded by Mercure Lake Macquarie.

Rafferty's is a family resort and kids of all ages are here for the holiday season. The tinge in the pool is more related to the high use of sunscreen these days and it washing off rather than kids not visiting the loo.

The poolside restaurant Al Lago was opened in April last year and has been very successful particularly over this holiday period.

The Resort General Store has been scaled back but we are planning a more comprehensive offering in future holiday times including fresh produce.

I hope to see you back next year when you'll see more improvements to Raffertys.

Regards
David

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    106
    78
    37
    40
See reviews for
172
46
Solo
0
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Ideal location for a stay from Sydney. Quiet, with childrens safety (free range children) paramount. Plenty of space to keep children occupied and parents rested.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We went there using our timeshare for a 7 night stay and just returned today. The weather was gorgeous, the location and accommodation were excellent. Having 3 boys, 9, 7 and 4 they absolutely loved the resort pool, heated pool, playing tennis, particularly fishing. My recommendation to other families intending to go is that the best time to visit would be during the school holidays as they have kids activities during this time, my kids missed out which was a disappointment. Very quiet at times which meant we had the pool to ourselves. The Italian Restaurant on the grounds was gorgeous, big sized portions for the kids and stunning just watching the sun setting right in front with uninterrupted waters views. The Thai restaurant was very good too but no views from here. The closest shopping is in Swansea about 10 minutes away, there is a Coles, Woolworths, McDonalds and various shops. We had lunch at the Swansea Hotel on Pacific Highway for only $7, highly recommend to eat here. Fantastic beaches close by, Caves Beach, Blacksmiths Beach, all patrolled beaches. You can also go deep sea fishing, kayaking, bush walking, maybe even a day trip to the Hunter Valley Vineyards. There is also a fantastic shopping complex at Charlestown, just in case of rainy weather, 30 minutes away. If you just want to get away to relax, spend lazy days by the pool and wind down, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaK70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

This hotel is set amongst gorgeous, established native gardens. The staff are friendly and the cottages are cosy, spacious and well equipped they would easily accommodate 2 couples or a family.
Our TV didn't work on arrival, it took the managers around 15 minutes resolve the problem by bring us a new TV. It's was the quickest and most decisive service I've seen in a long time, and greatly appreciated.
There's a lot to do, and the Thai Restaurant on site was good value for money and the food was delicious. It's so close to Sydney that it's perfect for a weekend break.
We will return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emjay36_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2010

My 2 kids, ages 3 and 5 had a great time!!
After starring for hours at the resort map, i finally booked at deluxe cottage with loft. When i got there, it turned out that the place I was hoping for (front with views) was unavailable. I was given another cottage, and it also wasnt what I wanted for my 2 young kids.

After speaking to the lady at reception, 3 cottage room checks, she put us in the terraces. AND IT WAS PERFECT!!!!! - Water views. 2 bathrooms, and maximum modern space! It felt like we were actually on holidays!

The place was very clean, and the gardens were immaculate (this is due to perhaps the multiple weddings that weekend). The facilities were all very clean and more importantly, the toilets in the shared areas were well maintained. As a mother of 2, I do not recommend any place that has a bad odour upon walking in restrooms!

The Heated pool and spa were much loved by the kids, and overall the place was very child friendly. Secure gates, and everything was in working order. The resport was right by the lake, and had fantastic view. Volleyball, climbing bars, 2 playgrounds, 4 pools, volleyball grounds.

The Italian restaurant was delicious, and so was the Thai restaurant inside the resort.
The only negative was that there was only one breakfast available which was a buffet. my 3 and 5 year old do not appreciate buffets as much as mum and dad and for the little eaters they are, I wish they had a simple brekkie menu available.

Overall, HIGHLY recommended to everyone with little kids and a place for mum and dads to relax.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 8, 2010

It was our first stay at Rafferty's Resort and we were very impressed. The terrace was lovely and it was particularly good that there were 2 bathrooms. The grounds were immaculate, the staff friendly and accommodating. After having dinner the first night at the Italian restaurant we could not resist the 2nd night and returned to once again a delicious well priced dinner. The location is stunning and peaceful and yet only a 5 mintue drive to Swansea where there are some major shops.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cams Wharf
24.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
1,010 reviews
12.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
5.3 mi away
No photo provided
Bay Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Morisset
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast
2.3 mi away
Caves Beachside Hotel
Caves Beachside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caves Beach
238 reviews
14.2 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffertys Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffertys Resort

Property: Raffertys Resort
Address: 1 Wild Duck Dr, Cams Wharf, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia (Formerly Mercure Lake Macquarie Rafferty's Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Cams Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cams Wharf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raffertys Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffertys Resort is located on the shores of Lake Macquarie, just 90 minutes drive north of Sydney and only minutes from patrolled beaches. The resort is set amongst 35 acres of natural bushland setting and features 103 self contained cottages, two restaurants, two bars, four swimming pools, four tennis courts, water recreational activities, massage centre and a holiday kids club. There are also 6 meeting rooms available for conferences and corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffertys Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lake Macquarie Rafferty`s Hotel Cams Wharf
Mercure Cams Wharf
Accor Cams Wharf
Raffertys Resort Lake Macquarie/Cams Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing