We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like the Website”
Review of Raffertys Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raffertys Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cams Wharf
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I booked my family into the resort recently for 4 nights for a bit of rest and relaxation after looking at the resort on the web site. We opted for a loft cabin. Unfortunately the cabin was not like the one depicted on the web site. The cabin was very clean although there was a dead cockroach in the kitchen and the furniture was old. The bedspread on the main bed looked like it was bought in the fifties and the sheets had a big green stain on them. The bathroom was an apricot colour. The loft area was OK and the same as the photo on the web site. The main area of the resort was very ordinary.
Definately not value for the money paid which is probably why they make you pay up front before giving you the key.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Noelene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 326 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed in a loft villa which was very spacious, roomy and had a bathroom and an extra shower/toilet off the laundry ideal for a family with teens.
Improvements could be some TLC, a lick of paint on the courtyard area, clean down the verandah table and brush out the leaves etc. and fix the toilet which sounded like a freight train when flushed, little things which would improve the whole presentation of the place.

However where the Mercure really let us down was customer service. The staff were informed three times that someone had parked in our allocated garage but apart from a note on the offending car's windscreen that was the extent of their response.

A request for some champagne glasses was out of the question too, so service was a real disappointment.


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank MoSki_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank tin2qtpie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Im a fair reviewer, always have been. We recently got married at Rafferty's Resort, in March 2014. I was really looking forward to it, as all the walk throughs we did I found the landscaping to picturesque. All little things I noticed such as dirty windows I made the assumption would be rectified prior to a wedding taking place, unfortunately this did not occur, but I will start at the beginning of the day.
On our arrival the ceremony area was set up exactly how requested, this could not be faulted. The wedding went off without any glitches, this was great also. Unfortunately there was some noise in the pool area, the co-ordinator did make us aware that if there was noise it would be taken care of, the noise was not stopped however was minimal so no big issues.
Next was photo time. Every time we visited for a look around we pointed out the wonderful wharf and how it would be a great spot for our photos. One issue we pointed out was the hire boats potentially being in the photos, the co-ordinator told us "the manager of the hire company is usually okay if we give him warning he will move the boats for photos it will not be an issue". We were told this on each visit. Unfortunately when it come down to it, the photographer asked for them to be moved, the co-ordinator said "the wharf is rented out by the hire company and we cannot make them move". I felt angry, as if we were lied to just go get us to sign up. We were directed down to another wharf, told it would be fine to use. On the way to this wharf we passed 2x signs "No entry, private property, the area beyond this sign does not belong to rafferty's". Technically this meant we were trespassing….
Whilst getting our photographs the co-ordinator brought down canapés and drinks as per our package. This was great, except the incorrect amount of drinks were brought down on both occasions, the co-ordinator said " oh I wasn't sure how many of you there would be". Umm okay, you are the co-ordinator, no one was more informed of total numbers then yourself…

The reception was faultless, customer service offered by all staff members was outstanding. Kudos to the co-ordinator in that regards, as she liaised with our photographers and DJ ensuring everything happened without a glitch. Unfortunately the exterior windows or the roof glass was not cleaned, being a sunset wedding this did make the salt and dirt stand out, thankfully did not show up in our photographs.

The next day everything was placed into a spare room for us to collect. Unfortunately our cake stand was missing and still is. This cake stand ended up costing us $50 as it was one of a kind, hand made. Rafferty's did not want to accept any responsibility for this and even went as far as stating one of our brigade party may of took it without telling us.


Overall I had a great time, the vast majority of the staff were fine. Just very disappointed that our main liaison lied, deceived us and could not remember how many were in our bridal party, this made it all feel very impersonal and ruined my opinion of Rafferty's. We are loyal Mercure fans, but sorry, we will not be back to this Lake Macquarie establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CC_Tourism_Journal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, could not fault the place, has several pools, 1 heated, the location is magical, quiet and the staff helpful & friendly, special thanks to Jemma, our unit was beautifully decorated,clean with everything needed.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cams Wharf
12.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
4.8 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
24.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#2 of 6 in Terrigal
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Caves Beachside Hotel
Caves Beachside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caves Beach
248 reviews
14.2 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
2.4 mi away
Black Swan Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffertys Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffertys Resort

Address: 1 Wild Duck Dr, Cams Wharf, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia (Formerly Mercure Lake Macquarie Rafferty's Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Cams Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cams Wharf
Price Range: $159 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raffertys Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffertys Resort is located on the shores of Lake Macquarie, just 90 minutes drive north of Sydney and only minutes from patrolled beaches. The resort is set amongst 35 acres of natural bushland setting and features 103 self contained cottages, two restaurants, two bars, four swimming pools, four tennis courts, water recreational activities, massage centre and a holiday kids club. There are also 6 meeting rooms available for conferences and corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffertys Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lake Macquarie Rafferty`s Hotel Cams Wharf
Mercure Cams Wharf
Accor Cams Wharf
Raffertys Resort Lake Macquarie/Cams Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing