We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hosts, great food and access to a great hiking terrain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oigardseter Fjellstue
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hovringen
Ålesund
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really nice hosts, great food and access to a great hiking terrain”
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Stayed here a weekend together with my girlfriend, my parents, my sister and here husband. Sunny warm days and cold nights in early September. Enjoyed the stay at a fully booked lodge. Good breadfast, awsome lunch and delicious dinner. The dinner is not ala carte, everyone is served the same good traditional Norwegian style food, we had course from local game and salmon.

Great terrain to do hiking, shorter or longer trips. You will not be alone around the mountains, many people are walking in all directions, enjoying the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betjent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We spent a delightful 5 nights in an apartment belonging to this hotel as we like the flexibility of organising and cooking for ourselves. The hotel and apartment have great views over the mountains and are only 8km from the main road, the E6. The apartment was on the ground floor of a house about 40 metres from the hotel itself and had virtually everything we needed, even down to a waffle-maker, which we made use of during our stay. Every room in the flat had under-floor heating, which we liked very much. In addition we were tidied up, rubbish taken out and the beds made every day: this is highly unusual, in fact we have never come across it before in an apartment. The curtains let in too much light for us, but our “Heath Robinson” curtains (black bin bags and pegs) did the job extremely well, we never travel without them now.
We felt the towels were a little thin, but did receive extra ones when we asked for them. My husband did not find the bed very comfortable as he has back problems; I thought it was a little soft: bear in mind that a Norwegian double if often 2xsingle beds pushed together. There was no kettle, but again, we bring our own.
We had dinner on our last evening in the hotel which was a fixed 3 course menu: the reindeer steak was delicious. The wine prices pleasantly surprised us, 210kr for a bottle of decent red wine, (we had paid 295kr for a half bottle in the previous hotel). The hotel is family run and has been for 3 generations, and family speak good English.
We did have free internet access at the hotel, but as we were a little distance away, managed to make it work by taking the laptop onto the verandah.
One drives up 10 hairpin bends to reach Høvringen and, at 910metres, you feel that you are away from the crowds. Even in July, at the height of the season, there were few people. It is a great place for walking and generally being outdoors: plant life is fantastic and we took many photos. The corner-style shop is a small gem, stocking everything you need to save a trip down the hill again to Otta.
If you feel that Flåm and Geiranger have an element of tackiness about (due to massive numbers of tourists) then this place is for you. BTY it is also a good cross-country skiing area in winter, apparently.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Just back from three days at Øigardseter Fjellstue. This is our second time. And we will be back! Greta location, close to Rondane Natinal park, great for cross country skking and hiking. The rooms are cleen, the beds are fine. The hosts are friendly and the people who are employed are nice..
If you enjoy excellent home made cooking, peace and quiet, a glass of red wine in front of the fire place, and like to go skiing or hiking, this is very good value for money!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oslobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Stayed here for one week, Great location, fantastic views from the windows. The rooms are homely but basic. The people that run the hotel are lovely and couldn't do enough for their guests. The food is excellent and plentiful. I wouldn't hestitate to stay here again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmj742016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We went for the second time to Oigardseter in Hovringen this summer and returned also this time home with lots of new experiences and unforgettable memories. Oigardseter is a family friendly and homely mountain hotel and our eldest daughter at 3 could play safely around the hotel and the doll house was a success.

With easy access to both Rondane National Park and Gudbrandsdalen we enjoyed shorter trips in the mountains with spectacular views and visited a couple of nearby traditional old and beautiful farms.

The owners, which in fact are third generation at Oigardseter, have all the local information you need and are more than willing to help you organize your stay and activities.

We are going back!!!

  • Liked — The prestine location and freindly staff combined with very good food!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StianSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hovringen
0.0 mi away
Hovringen Fjellstue
Hovringen Fjellstue
#1 of 3 in Hovringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
0.0 mi away
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
#1 of 3 in Vinstra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rondane Haukliseter Fjellhotell
0.0 mi away
Rondane Hoeyfjellshotell
Rondane Hoeyfjellshotell
#1 of 1 in Mysuseter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smuksjoseter Fjellstue
Smuksjoseter Fjellstue
#2 of 3 in Hovringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oigardseter Fjellstue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oigardseter Fjellstue

Property: Oigardseter Fjellstue
Address: Hovringen 2673, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Sel Municipality > Hovringen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hovringen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oigardseter Fjellstue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned mountain lodge situated at 1000 meters in Hovringen, with spectacular views of the mountains of Rondane National Park and the beautiful valley Gudbrandsdalen. A fantastic cross country and hiking resort with more than 120 km of prepared tracks in the winter and over 150 km of marked trails in the summer. Oigardseter has modern standards in a conserved traditional Norwegian style and atmosphere. Ski rental, training hill with ski-lift and activities for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Oigardseter Fjellstue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing