We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something very special”
Review of Brekkeseter

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hovringen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brekkeseter
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hovringen
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Something very special”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in late June. We booked the hotel for one night on our way to Trondheim as the hotel is only a few kilometres off the main Oslo -Trondheim road and is well worth a visit. Wow what a location - the views from the hotel are truly stunning. Quite exceptional.

We were made very welcoming by this family run hotel. We stayed in the main building though there are a number of very characterful individual properties with grassed roofs to stay in at the rear of the main building.

Dinner was a set meal of a good quality which included moose meatballs at a reasonable price. Breakfast was equally good and overlooks a field with horses and views to the distant mountains.

This hotel is not just another very good hotel it is a wonderful and memorable experience. Wifi available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestreviewer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

8 km up a steep road off the E6 may seem daunting but the road is good and it is well worth the journey. The views are stunning. The hotel is easy to find and well signed. We were greeted warmly by our hosts despite our somewhat arrival time. The smell of food pervaded the entrance and we quickly sat down to a simply delicious meal of moose meatballs. They were delicious as was the rest of the meal. Our room was very comfortable and the following morning we had a delicious breakfast with an enormous variety on offer. An obligatory walk of an hour or so was needed to work this off, and it was well worth taking. It is not difficult walking and the paths are well marked. Any regrets? Yes, we should have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterbs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brekkeseter, Manager at Brekkeseter, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are again and agian thrilled by the good respons for just little things we do. Like serving a nice cup of hot tea if the guests are cold. Its only our pleasure.:-) The little things are often the most imporant things we do and they usually turn out to be the best exsperiences also for us. Thank you so much for visiting us and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Ford, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We love to pick places away from the crowds and closer to nature, and this was exactly what this was. We only allowed one afternoon and one night at this location which requires much more. While we were there, it was quite cold and windy and we didn't get to do any hiking. Kari served us hot coffee and hot tea in the largest teacup I had ever seen, along with chocolate torte cake. The lounges were warm and inviting and full of reading material of all kinds. Kari was quite knowledgeable about the property and the history of Brekkeseter and the surroundings. We should have allowed more time to spend there, but that will have to wait until the next trip. It's wonderful to find a little gem like that to revisit.
LGAL-Colorado

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brekkeseter, Manager at Brekkeseter, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Google Translation
Tusen takk for veldig hyggelig tilbakemelding! det varmer våre hjerter. :-) Service er i grunnen bare å se gjestens ønsker, og gjøre noe med det. For oss er det tilfredsstillende i seg selv å se at våre gjester har det bra og gleder seg over det å være her. Tusen takk for at dere var her og hjertelig velkommen tilbake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our addiction for over 15 years. Winter in Hovringen, staying at Brekkeseter on the shoulder of the Rondane mountain area with its stunning views. In the past is was our starting point for challenging trips through forests and into the mountains. Nowadays we come here with our children (8 and 11 yrs) and our friends, and can choose more easy routes that inspire our children and friends with the beautiful countryside of Norway. Staying at Brekkeseter has always been rewarding whatever activity during the day time. We could always look forward to the charming cabins or stay at the cozy Hotel with the kind hospitality, delicious food and fine wines, and of course the warm welcome by Kari and Bjorn.

Room Tip: The recent years we allow ourselves the treat of combining our self catering stays with the superb f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank R-E-vdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Bamsebu, a cozy cabin with all the necessary equipment. The breakfast was delicious and dinner was superb. But what really set this hotel apart from all the others are the owners, Bjorn and Kari. They were very helpful and turned our stay into a unforgettable vacation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you want to enjoy Norwegian nature while having a nice, relaxing place to stay and getting top service and delicious food? At Brekkeseter you can do that, and feel that is far away from all the stress ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Brekkeseter as part of a touring group from Australia. We found it a well equipped family owned hotel (that started life as a summer farm) in a perfect setting with good access to the attractions in the surrounding national park

The accommodation and Norwegian themed meals were excellent and our whole stay made more comfortable by the personal attention of our hosts Kari and Bjorn who were prepared to go the proverbial extra mile to make our stay a success and in one situation help resolve a medical emergency.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hamish007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hovringen
0.3 mi away
Hovringen Fjellstue
Hovringen Fjellstue
#1 of 3 in Hovringen
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oigardseter Fjellstue
Oigardseter Fjellstue
#3 of 3 in Hovringen
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rondane Haukliseter Fjellhotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Rondane Hoeyfjellshotell
Rondane Hoeyfjellshotell
#1 of 1 in Mysuseter
69 reviews
2.8 mi away
Putten Seter
Putten Seter
#1 of 3 in Hovringen
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hovringen Hogfjellshotell
Hovringen Hogfjellshotell
#2 of 3 in Hovringen
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brekkeseter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brekkeseter

Property: Brekkeseter
Address: Brekkesetervegen 33, Hovringen 2673, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Sel Municipality > Hovringen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hovringen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brekkeseter is originally a mountain farm from the middel ages. The older original farm building is from 1772. However, Brekkeseter consists of many very old logcabins that are originally raised at Brekkeseter or set up during the last 15 years. These are farmhouses, barns and stabells all transformed into nice, cosy units for self catering. They are fully equipped with kitchen, bathrooms, sleepingrooms, living rooms all with open fireplaces for compfort and heat. At the small hotell it is possible to enjoy a better meal along with a good selection of wine. The place invites you to relax after a trip in Rondane National park. You may hike, bike, ride, look for rare birds or go fishing in creeks, rivers and lakes. All activities are nature based. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing