We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and excellent service”
Review of Masseria Appide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Masseria Appide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We just spent a week at Masseria Appide and had fantastic time. As a family of 5 we stayed in one of their family rooms which were plenty big, clean, quiet and air-conditioned. The gardens of the Masseria are beautiful and the pool perfect for a swim. The staff at the reception was exceptionally friendly and welcoming and helped us in many ways. The waiting staff was as well very friendly and efficient. Everyone was especially forthcoming and welcoming with our children. If you would like to discover the beautiful Salento region, the Masseria is a perfect location as it's centrally located. To sum it up, you get great value for your money and wonderful memories as well. If we visit the region again, we will stay there for sure and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miapattravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 262 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a fine hotel, clean, large room, plenty of hot water and fast, a bathroom with the first shelf for depositing things that I encountered on my trip, decent restaurant, and a nice large pool with a lifeguard (important for someone traveling solo). The place looks more expensive than it is. It is situated perfectly for visiting Lecce, Otranto, and Gallipoli.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldguy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We had a wonderful week at the Masseria Appide - we really couldn't fault it. Everyone was very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The waiting staff in the restaurant loved trying to teach us some Italian each evening.

We had a Superior room which was lovely with a large bathroom and sitting area. The grounds are well looked after and nicely lit for an after dinner stroll.

We were on a half board basis. Breakfast was typically European - don't go if you want bacon and eggs! Dinner was excellent with a choice of 2 courses from the 3 courses on the menu. Most nights there was a starter buffet which was first rate and the desserts were on a trolley with usually a choice of 3 things plus home made fruit salad. Also included was 1/4 litre of house wine and 1/2 litre of water per person.

A car is really a necessity as the Appide is in the middle of nowhere. However it isn't far to either the east or west coast both of which are a must for a visit as they are very different. Lecce is another place not to miss.

Altogether an wonderful holiday and, should we ever be in the area again, we would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaLighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We had a beautiful suite, very comfortable. Nice and quiet courtyard with shaded parkbenches. Very friendly staff, good food, though a bit traditional. Centrally located in Salento.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterH758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The area, the location, the staff are really nice and pleasant, however, I am not convinced with the quality of the rooms, that require a good renovation. The offer is a little limited and the food served at breakfast is under the average. The restaurant taking over at lunchtime or dinner is a bit better, but, the offer could be improved. In any case, if you're going there, I strongly advise you to take the all inclusive option, the Maseria being located in the middle of nowhere and given the impossibility to cook inside the room, it is difficult to have a meal elsewhere than in a restaurant, its own or somewhere in a surrounding town. The area being touristic with high prices, this can rapidly tripple the cost of your journey. However, all this region is beautiful, it is definitely worth going.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bosnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in June 2011 and absolutely loved it.

The Masseria is beautiful - thoughtfully decorated, very clean, and our room was excellent - spacious, comfortable and with lots of character. The grounds are also very well cared for, and the pool is fantastic. We ate dinner both evenings in the restaurant - we were very impressed, the food was excellent, the service impeccable, and the prices very good value (particularly for a hotel restaurant). Location is also very good - great for day trips to Otranto, Gallipoli and the two beautiful coastlines. All the staff at the hotel are lovely - very friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended, and we'll definitely be back if we're in the region again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_and_DLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Stayed 3 nights in August 2010 for an average of 180€/night breakfast included. Very nice modern hotel ideally located in Corigliano d'Otranto in the heart of the Salentino peninsula. 2-stories suites are clean and spacious with a queen bed, a sleeper sofa, a dining table, large closets, a full-sized bathroom with shower. Bar fridge & tv. Free wifi on request. Facilities include a restaurant for breakfast & half-board dinners, a large swimming pool, a magnificent garden, and a horse center. The staff are extremely helpful and speak good English.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRWorldCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corigliano d'Otranto
12.0 mi away
Hotel Club Koine
Hotel Club Koine
#20 of 40 in Otranto
372 reviews
18.0 mi away
L'Isola di Pazze
L'Isola di Pazze
#6 of 8 in Torre San Giovanni
287 reviews
2.8 mi away
Corte Dei Francesi - Historical residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Tenuta la Baronessa
Tenuta la Baronessa
#1 of 1 in Tuglie
254 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Elisabetta
Hotel Villa Elisabetta
#1 of 3 in Galatina
136 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sanlu Hotel
Sanlu Hotel
#1 of 2 in Serrano
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Appide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Appide

Address: Via Case Sparse, 73022 Corigliano d'Otranto, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Corigliano d'Otranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corigliano d'Otranto
Price Range: $67 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Masseria Appide 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Masseria Appidé is an original seventeen-century building and it is located in the heart of Salento a few kilometers from important centers of cultural and historic interest. On request we manufacture cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Masseria Appide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing