We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“camper happy”
Review of Kielder Waterside

Kielder Waterside
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Kielder
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“camper happy”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this brilliantly located caravan site, on arrival was met by the warden who was very helpful and informative. Spaces available overlooking the water but chose a pitch in the wood. The showers are fabulous, much needed after a days cycling. The cycling from the site is fantastic, unfortunately the ferry was not on for the time we was here but just meant a few more miles cycling for us. The birds of prey centre is also a must. lots to do in this area, will be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mand15StHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    80
    27
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Scenic”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

There are boat trips available from here to two other parts of the lake. Views are good and there is a restaurant here also.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpiritofFreedom1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Little Break”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed at Number 1 Otterstone Executive Lodge for a midweek 4 night break with my wife and 2 daughters (8 and 9). Very clean and with a lovely views and very comparable, if not better, to the Center Parc lodges. The kids went back to school this week but our 2 kids don't go back till mid September so the price of our holiday was £300 CHEAPER than the week before. Quite a nice chill-out holiday with beautiful scenery. Kids really enjoyed the archery (£24) and the instructor was great. The ice skating rink wasn't open at all this week. The Boat House Inn was quite a pleasant place and only a 5 minute walk from our lodge. We ate here twice and to be honest the food was lovely and for the 4 of us including drinks it only came to about £50. Bar staff were very friendly. A round of drinks (Pint, half and 2 soft drinks) came to around £7. It was very surreal at night because we felt like we were the only ones there, maybe because the kids were back at school. The Bird Of Prey Center was an experience. The staff were very talkative and the flying demonstration was something else. I had some rather big birds of prey flying inches above my head and my kids got to handle a few of the birds of prey. It niggles me that the birds were tied to little stands, but someone said that they get to fly and they don't have to come back. The walks were also fantastic. 15 minutes from our lodge there's a bird hide and we saw red squirrels , woodpeckers and little finches (Chaffinches rule this place!)

Anyway, all in all, we'll probably come back here. I'm from Sunderland and it's amazing whats on your doorstep only an hour away in the car. Book outside of the school holidays and you should pay around £300 for a midweek break.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mralw1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing site”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Relatively new to caravanning, thought we would give this site a try, was well aware of the boring journey once off the A69. Arrival was straight forward, managed to find an excellent pitch overlooking the lake, (w51), not entirely level so a bit of work to level from side to side and front to back, block of wood recommended and there is quite a bit to make up front to back.

Food prep and dishwashing area cramped, and could have been cleaner (suspect its the users not the site staff), toilets and shower block relatively clean but shower power and heat was very good.

Had a pint in the Boat Inn, found it very dirty, with dead flies in windows, furniture grubby, and food from previous diners on the floor, staffed by young'uns maybe they just need managing better, but it putmus off eating there for sure.

Bird of prey exhibition excellent a really interactive child friendly demonstration by knowledgable people and they do 2 displays each day with different birds and dont mind if you come in on a different day for both sessions, hands on afterwards too. Well done lads!

Midges! Beware! Nothing and i mean nothing could discourage them, buzzed around your head and we were not in the trees, difficult to sit out on an evening, we got fed up and came away early, quite a noisy site, lots of kids riding their bikes atbrake neck speed. This is not a CC owned site and it shows, views amazing and nighttime sky was awesome on the clear nights we got

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andywallaceuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Otterstone Lodge”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just had a wonderful three night / four day break.
Never tried the restaurant or any of the facilities , we basically walked a lot , very dog friendly place.

Cabin was well equipped and spacious.
We booked the day before we went and got a decent deal , not sure i would pay the full price mind.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kielder Waterside also viewed

 

Been to Kielder Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing