We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it so going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Twenty Seven B&B

Twenty Seven B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twenty Seven B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Kielder B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“loved it so going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

i went to this place as i found out it accepted dogs. jill was so helpful and helped with every need, bedroom was big n nice size shower room plenty of room bed was comfy and had all usually drinks and was given milk in a flask. breakfast was gorgeous and a fair varity of choices for such a small place

Room Tip: we had the first room up stairs on your left which is a big double room even got a single in there t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was a very welcoming guest house with really friendly owners. Breakfast was wonderful, one of the best ever and certainly the best scrambled eggs - they use only local produce!
They will provide evening meals and packed lunches if needed, too. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. Very comfortable room with everything inc tea/coffee and 'crystal' water glasses which is a rare treat!
I especially loved the crystal jam pots at the breakfast table, a lovely touch.

Room Tip: Lovely room with some lovely finishing touches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Ok so it may well be the only B&B in Kielder but even if it wasn't we'd likely stay there again. We stopped there on a long weekend in the North of England and were perfectly comfortable and felt totally welcome. Jill and Terry were very accommodating and hugely knowledgeable of the area. The dinners were perfect for a walking weekend both hearty and tasty and the breakfast was top notch too. We certainly didn't get the feeling we were staying in someone else's house for sure. If/when we go back - we'll likely stop there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChapmanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We chose this B&B based on its excellent location within Kielder & its amenities (Biking / Walking / Observatory ..... Kielder Castle - 2 minute walk / Entrance to road leading to Observatory 2 minutes in the car)

We stayed for 2 nights primarily to visit the observatory and for some cycling. The room / bed / food were excellent. The owners, Jill & Terry were friendly, courteous and very helpful with regard to information/activities etc.

Having read the sightly negative review I would like to make some comments.....

The role of a B&B is in its name....i.e. Normally a private dwelling providing accommodation/food.

I expect a B&B to have a clean room / shower / comfortable bed / nice food and friendly hosts. (We got this at Twenty Seven). I am not interested in how the general decor should look like as it is normally someone's home, and I don't book a B&B to stay in there all day & night.


The 3 Scottish Highland Terriers were no problem & well behaved (and cute). I'm sure if one simply doesn't like dogs the owners would keep them in the other room out of the way.

Tea/coffee/milk were always available in the room.

We were provided breakfast at the time we requested and had no issues with the quantity provided....not too much & not too little. In fact we were asked if we wanted more.

We decided to have an evening meal and were not disappointed. I recommend you try the hosts home cooking.

.........

Overall, this was a lovely B&B in an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

My fiancee and I travelled to Kielder for a weeks stay and on our arrival were greeted by the very friendly owners who showed us around our lodgings and informed us of the local amenities. We were very well looked after throughout our stay and it was nice to know that any questions or problems we had could be answered with just one phone call to their home 5 minutes walk away.

we had been a little wary before we went after having read one of the other reviews but we were delighted with the service we received.

the decor was anything but chintzy and was absolutely in keeping wwith a small country cottage, it felt like a home away from home

We will definitely be booking this b&b again next time we go to kielder.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank othersideuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

We booked to stay for 2 nights decided 1 was enough. We were greeted by the friendly owners, 3 yapping dogs, chintzy decor and the feeling that you were staying at someones house - which was effectively what we were doing. There is only one room available to rent in the house as family live in the rest of them. The walls were paper thin and we felt uncomfortable talking at a volume you would normally use in a hotel. The bedroom had mis-matched furniture, wallpaper missing from parts of the ceiling and walls and no milk for brews. The bed was very comfortable but none of the bedding matched. We were asked what time we would like breakfast and then told it was either 8.00 or 8.30, although the information in the room said it was available until 9.30. Breakfast was nice enough, but small portions. We paid £76 per night and the room slept 3. We could have stayed at the 4* Blackcock Inn just down the road at Falstone for £80 a night and would have had better value for money. Needless to say - we wont be going back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pezzzyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staykielder, Owner at Twenty Seven B&B, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments.

Regrettably as any complaints you had were not voiced while you were with us nor indeed over the phone, by letter or email since your stay - we could not address them to your satisfaction.

Your decision to join Trip Advisor to criticise us is sad and perhaps symptomatic of today's blame culture. We would have preferred if you could have taken personal responsibility for your opinions and discussed any issues with us.

However, we do not hold this against you and would of course accept you at any of our establishments in the future..

Thank you again

Terry & Jill Gregg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

This was a great place to stop on the Reivers route. Was easy to find and we got a very warm welcome. We stayed in the separate cottage and were given loads of provisions for breakfast/snacks. The cottage was very clean - the bathroom was very clean. Beds were very comfy indeed. There was a very short walk to the pub with some tasty ale. Would recommend other riders to stop here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGP021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kielder
9.7 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
14.1 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
15.3 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
7.1 mi away
Falstone Barns
Falstone Barns
#4 of 20 in Hexham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
9.3 mi away
Black Burn Lodge B & B
Black Burn Lodge B & B
#3 of 5 in Newcastleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twenty Seven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty Seven B&B

Property: Twenty Seven B&B
Address: 27 Castle Drive, Kielder NE48 1EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Kielder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kielder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dark Sky Friendly* and Stay & Gaze* accommodation in Kielder Water & Forest Park. Twenty Seven B&B - run by wife & husband team Jill & Terry Gregg is your place to stay when exploring Kielder - stay B&B all year round. Located in Kielder village - England's most remote village and in the recently designated Gold Star Standard Northumberland International Dark Sky Park - the largest area of protected dark skies in Europe, we are an ideal venue to view the dark skies. Especially being the closest accommodation to Kielder Observatory. As the most tranquil place in England, the vast Kielder Water & Forest Park is an amazing oasis where adventure and stunning scenery combine in a landscape rarely seen in England. With a 27 mile shoreline, Kielder Water is the largest man-made lake in Northern Europe and Kielder Forest, the largest planted forest in Northern Europe which means there is plenty to experience and enjoy.Kielder is a great arena for outdoor pursuits with plenty of fresh air and clean spring water. If you are into walking, orienteering, running, cycling, mountaineering, climbing, hunting and fishing, then Kielder is the place to visit. Nearby attractions for the less active include Kielder Castle Forestry Visitor Centre, Kielder Salmon Hatchery tours, the world famous Kielder Observatory for the best dark skies in England, Kielder Birds of Prey Centre, NWL Visitor Centre and Kielder Arts and Architecture. Twenty Seven is an ideal base to explore further afield: Alnwick Gardens & Castle (1.5 Hr); Hadrian's Wall forts and path (45 mins); Northumberland coast and castles (2 hr) and Scottish border towns (45 mins). We do home cooked, fresh food for Breakfast (meaty, pescie & veggie), packed lunches for your day out or onward journey. After a busy day you will receive a warm welcome where you will find a comfortable lounge with woodburner to unwind in. All rooms come complete with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and toiletries, TV with FreeSat. Locally we have : "the Anglers Arms" only 5 minutes walk away, Kielder Village Store only 30 seconds walk away and Kielder Cycle Centre only 9 minutes walk away. Kielder filling station is open 7am-7pm 7days (chip n pin only)with 7kW Electric Car Charging only 1 min drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Twenty Seven B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twenty Seven B&B Kielder, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing