We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Family Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kielder Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kielder Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful week in a Hadrian Comfort lodge at Kielder water and really couldn't fault the place. This is an excellent place to visit if you are an active family who enjoy the great outdoors. The lodge was very comfortable and had everything you need for a self catering holiday, dishwasher, washer/dryer etc. However the onsite shop is very basic so I would recommend getting an online delivery from Tesco who delivered to us without any problems.
The onsite Pub/Restaurant was really good, we had excellent Steak and Lobster dinners! we felt it was great value for quality food.h
Our children are aged 6 and 3 and although they were too young for some of the activities on offer there was still plenty to keep them occupied, they really enjoyed the onsite play areas, of which there are 4, all different and very well thought out. We also did a lot of walking on the lakeside way visiting the squirrel hide(we saw red squirrels every visit!!)The Wave Chamber, Freyas cabin and Silvas Capitalis which were great and the walking was easy even for little legs. We also made great use of the swimming pool, which although small was never overcrowded due to the booking system, changing facilities were really modern and clean. We also used the Osprey Ferry twice, once on a round trip and as a way to return to Leaplish after walking to the Tower Knowe, which is well worth visit and sells the best ice cream ever!
The on site Birds of Prey centre is well worth a visit too, Our 6 year old really enjoyed holding the birds.
Don't hesitate to book this place its really special, a real place to get away from everything and enjoy spending time together, I'm sure we will be back many times in future

Room Tip: We stayed in lodge 13, fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
52
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Reception
We were made to feel extremely welcome by the receptionist. I didn't catch his name but he really engaged our daughter and deserves a customer service award. Whilst visiting the pool the female receptionist was also very friendly.

Lodge
We stayed in a Redesdale Comfort Lodge, number 24, if it helps. We've stayed in a fair few platinum and superior caravans over the years and we were very impressed with the Redesdale considering it is at the budget end of the price range for Kielder.

The lounge is large with two very comfortable sofas, a good size flat screen TV with lots of digital TV channels and a warm air fire "flame" effect fireplace.

The kitchen is very well appointed with a washer/dryer, dishwasher, four ring electric cooker, oven and microwave. Also a good size fridge and freezer that managed to freeze my vodka! All the utensils, pots and pans you'd need as well as dishclothes and tea towels. They even threw in a few dishwasher tablets and some tea, milk and sugar.

The bathroom has a power shower over the bath with a toilet and handbasin. There were a few toiletries included as well. Probably the low point for me was the shower, quite low pressure and temperature drifted a bit.

There are three bedrooms with reasonable amount of storage space. A good sized double, a smallish single and a twin roughly the same size as the double.

A hairdryer, iron and ironing board are supplied.

Outside is a covered verandah with shoe storage and coat hooks. A little tip, you can turn off the outside light by the trip switch in the cupboard near the door. Let's you see the beautiful night sky more clearly. A set of plastic chairs are supplied for the verandah.

Activities
We only did the Water Walkerz. Five pounds for five minutes. Felt it was a bit expensive to us but our daughter loved it.

Shop
The shop is very well stocked for souvenirs but I wouldn't want to rely on it for food and drink.

The Boathouse Inn
Bit disappointed with the pub. It's table service and even though there were four waitresses we waited 15mins for a second drink and left after complaining. The place wasn't even that full. Perhaps we just unlucky or not pushy enough. Didn't try the food but saw others eating and it looked like typical pub food.

Scenery and Walks
Beautiful but you probably know that anyway!

In summary, definitely go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a nice 4 night stay for a very decent price as it was booked the night before as a last minute break, we stayed in Hadrian Comfort lodge and cant fault it really, everything you could possibly want or need including a washer/dryer and dishwasher, the park itself was nice and had plenty to keep you busy, the fact me, my partner and little girl got private use of the swimming pool and sauna was a huge bonus, not as many activities the time of year we went but if you go during the summer season then there is any amount on offer fantastic for a family break and would definatly return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dom-wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I can't fault the Lodges at Kielder. Great service, great facilities and superbly maintained. Where the accommodation isn't the cheapest, there's no extra charges for electricity and there's 24/7 support. The restaurant facilities are excellent, the foods good but maybe a little basic. A lovely holiday experience with lots of outdoor activities.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celpieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending Christmas in a Redesdale lodge. I was apprehensive about the size of the lodge and how nice it would be, I need not have worried, the lodge was plenty big enough for the 5 of us and very well equipped. It was spotlessly clean along with the surrounding area. It was the first time we have spent Christmas away from home but now hope this can be a regular event. The staff at Kielder/ Leaplish park deserve a special mention, they are so friendly and helpful and really made our stay special. We used the pool and the snow slope whilst we were there and had the pleasure of visiting the bird of prey centre (well worth a visit). This is a place at the top of our list to return to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

we stayed here in march 2012 . booked late and got a great price . cannot fault the lodge the master bedroom was lovely, plenty of space. there was also a double room perfect for storingour luggage. kitchen had all the ammenties you could need and the lounge was just so cosy and homley feeling. all in all cannot fault the lodge . picturesque you could often see bunnys running by the windows . there was also an adventure area for children, and a small petting zoo . also as the park is on a man made lake there is plenty to see and do . we went for walks every day. thoroughly enjoyed ourselves . would love to go back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at Kielder lodges having picked up an autumn deal and were thoroughly impressed.
We booked a 2 bedroom lodge, 1 for my wife and I and one for our baby. We took our own travel cot which fitted in although there were travel cots available for a small fee if required. The lodge was very clean and had all the things you would expect in good working order.
The setting is very quiet and peaceful with plenty of birds, rabbits and the occasional red squirrel around. The park very clean with a small shop stocking essentials food supplies, gifts etc. The pool is pleasant although the changing rooms were very cold to have a baby in. We ate in the pub and had a few drinks which was nice overlooking the lake.
The ferry to the visitor centre and trip around the lake is also well worth the time and money.
If you would like a peaceful place to stay with easy access to hours of walks, cycling, nature, history then this is the holiday for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr-M-Gascoigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kielder
11.1 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
14.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
19.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Border Forest Holiday Park
Border Forest Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.9 mi away
Falstone Barns
Falstone Barns
#5 of 21 in Hexham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kielder Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kielder Lodges

Property: Kielder Lodges
Address: Kielder Water, Kielder NE48 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Kielder
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kielder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kielder Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kielder Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kielder Hotel Kielder
Kielder Lodges Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing