We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, ideal location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Platts House Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Platts House Holiday Cottage
Private courtyard garden Pretty courtyard garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Platts House Holiday Cottage
Private courtyard garden
Pretty courtyard garden
Bedroom with king size bed
Dining area
Living Room
Flat screen T.V
Living Room
Woodburner for cosy winter stays!
Cosy evenings in!
Kitchen
Full size cooker - 4 ring hob, oven and separate grill
Large shower cubicle
A 40 minute walk from the cottage will take you to the tranquil Clanna Ponds.
Clanna Ponds. You will often see people fly-fishing!
Clanna Ponds. Feed the ducks!
The Rising Sun, Woolaston Common
Nearby walk
View of Tintern from Devils Pulpit. Keen walkers? Its possible to walk to Tintern from the cottage!
The Cottage in winter
Clanna Ponds in Winter
cute and cosy at Christmastime!
Christmas bookings include a seasonal welcome tray including a homemade Christmas cake.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jack T
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, ideal location.”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a great time at Platt's cottage. We visited early March, for a short break to enjoy the local sights and for a break from the city. The cottage did not disappoint, especially the wood burner which was handy for all three chilly nights! We enjoyed visiting Clearwell and Puzzlewood was a personal favourite, all within a short scenic drive. We are already planning on returning later this year, thank you Elaine and Gareth, both very helpful.

Jack and Clare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2016
Thanks for leaving a review, glad you enjoyed your stay. You seem a lovely young couple, best wishes for the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent and welcoming”
Reviewed March 2, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage is just lovely as was the warm welcome we received from Elaine. There was also the very nice touch of having delicious Welsh Cakes left for us on arrival (which was welcome after the 4 hour journey). The cottage is very homely and extremely clean, and the added benefit of having the log fire was definitely a bonus especially in cold February. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area and we completed some beautiful walks. Would absolutely recommend the local pub (approx. 10 min walk from cottage) The Rising Sun and try the pies they are amazing. Overall a lovely cottage, very welcoming owners and will be returning again and recommending to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2016
Many thanks for leaving a review, really glad you enjoyed your winter break. I'll also pass your compliments on to John and Maria at The Rising Sun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
120noccer
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, cosy, well equipped, good location”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just like our last visit, really enjoyed staying here, lovely cottage, well equipped, all the little extras supplied like washing up liquid, cooking oil etc. Nice welcome pack of local bread/cake which is a nice touch

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: log burner
Liked least: nothing, all really good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Lovely to see you again, maybe see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickiandM...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I cannot recommend Platts House highly enough....

We had a 4 day break before the arrival of our little girl and couldn't have asked for anywhere better. We wanted somewhere to relax and we certainly chose the perfect cottage - very cleani, spacious and comfortable.

The cottage was beautiful with absolutely everything we needed for our break made better by the wood burning stove which made for very cosy evenings. Looking out of the windows onto the perfectly manicured gardens and watching the birds in the bath every morning was just lovely.

There was a welcome pack and many leaflets provided to give you all the information about things to do in the areas, buses, shops etc. and the cottage is in the perfect location for the Forest of Dean, Symonds Yat and so much more.

On our arrival we were met by Elaine who was so welcoming and there was freshly baked bread, jam, butter etc which was a really lovely touch.

We would love to come back for another stay - thank you so much Elaine and Gareth!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in a lovely comfy, cosy cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, really glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you again post baby! All the best for January
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moira k
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome to a lovely,comfortable cottage,with easy access to the forest”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Visited area to view Severn Bore.Lucky to find such a lovely cottage with very friendly host.
Super home made treat on arrival.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review Moira, glad you both enjoyed your stay and got to see the Severn Bore!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elayne y
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Surpassed our expectations in every way.””
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We seriously enjoyed our stay at Platts House holiday cottage. Elaine was the perfect hostess providing us with essential cottage and area information. The welcome pack was unexpected but very much appreciated. Tea, coffee, freshly baked bread with a selection of locally sourced butter and jam produce.This was just the perfect touch in hospitality etiquette..........thank you!
The cottage was perfect in every way and boy have we slept well . Incidentally, watching the wildlife at play in your well manicured gardens each morning has been a real treat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirkiness of the property and hospitality of the owner.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
Thank you for a lovely review, pleased you enjoyed staying in the cottage. Gareth loved the bit about the 'manicured gardens' - he does his best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val and N...
Penarth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class stay at Platts House”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I have just returned home from our first stay at Platts House in Woolaston near Lydney. We were made to feel very welcome by owners Gareth and Elaine. The cottage is very clean, comfy and well furnished. We really enjoyed watching the birds feeding from our cottage garden patio. The surrounding area of the Forest of Dean is rich with wonderful picnic stops and woodland walks. The 20 minute walk from the cottage to Clanna Ponds is highly recommended. Take your binoculars to get a great view of the birdlife.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing