We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property
The Cottage has its own fenced garden and patio area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage has its own fenced garden and patio area.
The well equipped kitchen has a full size oven, hob, microwave, and fridge with freezer compartment. The window from the kitchen looks out onto the garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The Cottage has its own fenced garden and patio area.
The well equipped kitchen has a full size oven, hob, microwave, and fridge with freezer compartment.
The window from the kitchen looks out onto the garden.
A stable door opens out onto the garden.
The Cottage bedroom
The Cottage bedroom is full of character.
The Cottage bedroom.
The Cottage bedroom.
The Cottage bedroom.
The Cottage bedroom has its own ensuite shower room.
The Cottage garden and patio area
The Cottage garden opens onto the Paddock, and from the Paddock is direct access into Forest of Dean
Monnow Bridge with ancient Gate Tower, Monmouth
Wenchford Picnic Site, Blakeney, Forest of Dean
Bluebells carpet the Forest of Dean in the Spring
Autumn colours in the Forest of Dean
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
polarmo
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was very comfortable/spotlessly clean and situated in beautiful rural surroundings with amazing views. My husband and I were very pleasantly surprised and pleased to find ourselves located in these beautiful surroundings. The owners were both very nice/helpful friendly people. The estate they own ranges from camping/caravaning/cottages it is highly maintained, well run and spotlessly clean. I don't think they have forgotten anything that anyone might need/require to ensure the perfect holiday, They should feel very proud of their achievements.
I would reccommend this as a holiday/short break to anyone, especially those who love the company of their beloved pets. Our weimaraner 'Asha' loved her stay as much as my husband and I. We plan to make this a regular get away throughout the year as it has everything to offer on it's door step, making it the ideal place for all ages. Lazy days/ outdoor activities/dog friendly pubs that serve snacks and meals as well as many sightseeing trips at your fingertips. The forest is serene with many miles of walkways/ trails to explore. The village itself is beautiful and well worth walking around it's spread out surrounding the forest/countryside and the people are all very friendly and welcoming.
Our stay was perfect we loved it!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
Thank you for your glowing review! It is lovely people like yourself and your husband that make our work so worthwhile. Look forward to your next stay in September :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Christmas break”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I spent our Christmas break at the cottage and couldn't be happier with our choice of location and host. And cat lovers rejoice - this is one of the few places I have come across which accepts cats instead of only dogs!
The cottage is located right in front of the forest which is fab, as it enabled us to make the most of the natural surroundings a short walk away. It's also 10 minute drive from town so quite convenient. It is on the small side, but it's perfectly comfortable for two people (and a cat!) and had everything we needed. Loved how warm and cozy it was - perfect for a winter stay!
Elaine was a great host and even provided us with a sand box for the cat. Both her and her husband were kind and respectful hosts, who were more than happy to help in times of need and took good care of us. Communication pre-holiday and during has been easy and smooth. Would certainly recommend it.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
Thanks Liz for such a lovely review. So glad you all (cats included!) enjoyed your Christmas here. Look forward to welcoming you again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess W
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage we loved it and dog loved it , managers very helpful .same about the weather .”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely time at the cottage friendly managers , the dog had a garden of his own , nice cosy cottage. And was near all the places of interest .the only bad thing was the weather that spoiled it , recommend it to anyone .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
122steve
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“relaxing break”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

enjoyed a short break here in the cottage, had a great time owners attention to detail was brilliant. We took our dog who loved it,she had her own little garden and direct access to the forest, the owners had provided washing facilities for her paws and our muddy boots.Lovely break at a brilliant place.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moeju
1 review
“Great 5 days in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The Cottage was the perfect 2 person holiday house. It backs straight onto the woods so you could start your walk straight from the back door. Elaine looked after us really well and made sure we had everything we needed. It was great to only be a short trip away from all the attractions of the Forest of Dean: the Heritage Centre, Puzzlewood and Symond's Yat, as well as being a short drive from Lydney to get to Tesco/Ruddy's Fish Bar/ the Ugly Duckling for food.

The tv did have some signal problems one night but worked fine for the rest of the time. It's also the sort of place you'd want to take dogs as they'd clearly had them before (the rug in front of the fire was a bit smelly!).

All in all, we had a great week and the Cottage was a really cosy little base for everything we wanted to do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosalind...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I enjoyed staying here. It was clean and in good condition. The bed was really comfortable and the kitchen simply but adequately equipped. The heating was great because it was easy to adjust and it was good to have parking right outside the cottage. The dog loved the garden and having direct access into the forest was brilliant. I liked the rural location of the cottage. Fuel and groceries were easily accessible within a few minutes drive and it only took around 45 minutes to drive to Bristol. The only downside was the wifi connection which I could only find in the garden and even then it seemed to be variable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and garden
Liked least: The wifi
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage Lovely Place”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cosy cottage - lovely and clean - lovely and warm and perfect for the dogs too. The garden is ideal and well enclosed and then just a few yards further on is The Forest of Dean a sheer haven for walks.

On arriving a welcome pack for us and the dogs was provided and much appreciated and Elaine made us feel very welcome.

It was our first visit to the Forest of Dean but we will certainly go back to this little bolt hole as we have arrived home feeling relaxed and chilled out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the garden/forest
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing