We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accomodation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Colne Brook Barn

The front of the Barn, taken from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the Barn, taken from the garden.
Open plan living room with 32' wide screen TV on wall and electric 'glow' fire for cosy evenings in Main Bedroom, double aspect, overlooking the Brook and the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The front of the Barn, taken from the garden.
Open plan living room with 32' wide screen TV on wall and electric 'glow' fire for cosy evenings in
Main Bedroom, double aspect, overlooking the Brook and the garden
Kitchen with dining table, 4 chairs, tall fridge/freezer, washing machine and Neff halogen hob.
The driveway into the Barn through the secure, keypad operated electric gate
Garden from the French doors
Bridge over the river and steps up to the Barn
The Garden viewed from the main bedroom
Rear patio
The Garden in the snow
Second (twin) bedroom, with double aspect Velux windows to the front and back
Bridge over Colne Brook
Side of the Barn viewed from adjacent fields
An aerial view of the Barn and garden (edged in blue)
Buzz, a frequent visitor around the Barn
Great for amateur wildlife spotters and twitchers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janetkeel...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A fantastic cottage with every amenity you need. We even had a phone call fron Shirley to tell us cottage was ready early,plus a lovely chocolate cake milk tea etc.
Cardiff is well worth a visit and also Chepstow castle.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Absolutely wonderful
We have just spent a week here and we don't want to leave. A lovely stressfree location. Shirley and Mike have thought of everything such lovely people. Our dog and 1 year old boy have loved exploring the gardens and just had the best time we will definitely be back.
A massive thank you from all of us

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review Becky, we look forward to seeing you all again.
Shirley & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Liked least: Some road noise
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
beverlyba...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our second stay at the property and again we were not disappointed. The welcome tray was much appreciated. The new drive way up to the back of the barn is a great addition and the large garden was ideal for our dog. The owners Shirley & Mike are friendly and helpful without being obtrusive.
The Forest of Dean is a beautiful area and we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Away from it all.”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Colne Brook Barn offers a simple, very well equipped home away from home. It's in a pretty location and if being active is not your style then this cosy cottage is a restful retreat
We were extended a friendly welcome by Shirley who we saw at the beginning of our holiday and at the end and the only other time that we saw her was when we went for a walk locally, she assured us that she was available at all times if the need arose.
There is a main road running alongside the property which can be very noisy at certain times of the day even though it is completely blocked from view by the trees and bushes. This was not a concern for us as we are from London and are used to the hustle and bustle of a very busy city.
However, the wildlife, relaxation and general feel more than made up for this and you can relax and unwind if you feel inclined.
A car is not a necessity to tour the area and take in the local beauty spot like Lydney Harbour, Forest of Dean or even a trek over the border to Wales as the local bus for both directions stopped outside the end of the driveway of the barn and goes near Lydney train station and Chepstow.
We would definitely recommend Colne Brook Barn and intend to return sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Virtually everything - even the weather was kind.
Liked least: The sofa - no real back support.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jen082011
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just great.....”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

If you are looking for a modern detached barn for a few days away within its own piece of Gloucestershire countryside then look no further than Colne Brook Barn. Ideal for families and couples alike this Barn ticked all the boxes for us. The main plus for us was the beautiful garden which our dog enjoyed immensely running around along with the owners two dogs ! The children made the most of the Brook and tree swing too ! Thank you Shirley and Mike for your great hospitality. It was good to know we could contact you by phone or your website if we needed to. We will be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful garden.
Liked least: Nothing !
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review and it was great to meet you all. Look forward to next time! Shirley & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo P
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful, relaxing break”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Colne Brook Barn is a perfect location for access to The Forest of Dean and all it has to offer, it's in a pretty location and if being active is not your style, then this cosy cottage is a restful retreat. Lots of wildlife to see around this area too, plus an added bonus for us is this cottage accepts well behaved pets. This was our second visit following a great stay at Christmas and we are now firm fans! Mike and Shirley are so friendly and make every effort to ensure your stay is as perfect as it can be. We particularly appreciate the little touches - such as the welcome tray including chocolate muffins plus a pint of milk in the fridge - a cuppa is always welcome after a car journey! We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosyness of cottage; wildlife; the brook; access to Forest of Dean for walking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you and the dogs again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing