We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous is the only word to use!!!”
Review of DeanGate Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DeanGate Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lydney
Devon.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous is the only word to use!!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Granville and his lovely wife personally vet every room before its occupied - and boy do they have high standards. As 'Burnhow' said in his review, all B&B's in the UK should be like this. Thank goodness Granville didn't just build flats on the site, but 14 months ago, built a motel instead. If only quality places like this were all over the UK. Nothing was too much trouble and you can only give the DeanGate 100% for presentation, cleanliness and wonderful facilities. Watch out for the piped music as you approach your room - cute! Eat out at The George up the road for excellent, reasonably priced food - Granville will book you a table. The breakfast was excellent value and amazing, with all you needed plus hot toast. For an alternative breakfast, try the Taurus Centre just 5 minutes away. It was a shame to have to leave at 10am - I could have stayed there for several days. Infact that's the plan for early 2012. Fact - they don't come any better than this - even hotels at 3 or 4 times the price! Detour to the beautiful Forest of Dean if you have to - but don't miss The DeanGate!!

Room Tip: Take any room Granville has free - we were in no. 6 - and loved it. 'Superior' for £10 more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanGate, Owner at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thanks for your 5 star review of DeanGate. We can't wait to welcome you back to the Forest of Dean next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    42
    8
    5
    14
See reviews for
60
72
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I can only say a huge 'thanks' and thank goodness we saw the sign to reside for the night at Dean Gate. The room was 'not probably' but the most immaculate room we have ever stayed in. There is a plasma screen (not that we watched it but it's there), beautiful huge shower, white towels, immaculate, Dean Gate could certainly teach the Brits and alot of European hotels how to delivery service. I wish them well and hope they build a chain on these motels. Keep up the intense address and we would recommend this highly. Very close to all amentities. About a 30 minute walk to a pub for some good pub grub. There is a kettle and tea, coffee etc. I loved the piped music in the gardens outside. We had a fantastic nights sleep, quiet, even though just off the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanGate, Manager at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for your very thorough review of DeanGate. It is great to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us and would recommend us on Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome you back to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend. I had two children with me. We had the breakfast and they didn't charge for the little ones. The heating was on demand so you are in control. The rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanGate, Manager at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Many thanks for your review of DeanGate. We would be happy to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Deangate for one night only on the 4th September and I have to say I was extremely impressed with the room. It was, without doubt, the cleanest room I have ever stayed in. We were greeted by Mike, who could not have been more polite and attentive. The breakfast, brought to the room, was of the continental variety and was more than sufficient.
My wife, myself and my son (who occupied an adjoining room) would have no hesitation in revisiting the motel if, and when, we find ourselves in the area. Well done!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanGate, Manager at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Many thanks for your excellent review of DeanGate. We hope that you do find the opportunity to visit us (and the Forest of Dean) again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2011

we have just got back from our three night stay in the most luxurious Deangate Motel we were greeted by Granville who made us feel most welcome from the start we stayed in the apartment which was lovely everything new and spotlessly clean breakfast was bought to our room and was lovely also the Forest of Dean is a great place to see and explore thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: the apartment was excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanGate, Manager at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Many thanks for your recommendationdation of DeanGate's luxury apartment. We are very grateful for your kind review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We received a warm and friendly welcome from Granvile who showed us to our room, which was clean comfortable and modern with a large shower room. We were offered the choice of having breakfast delivered to our room if required and advised where to go for a meal and a drink and where to visit. We stayed for four nights, the housekeeping was excellent. Plenty of parking and secure. The nearest pub suitable for a evening meal and a drink was a mile away but well worth it. We had a very enjoyable stay and would recomend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanGate, Manager at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at DeanGate. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

From the outset service was friendly and personal. We arrived very late but were given a warm and friendly welcome with fresh milk for tea. Much appreciated. The room was tastefully furnished and organised and the bathroom was particularly good. Granville is a huge asset to the business. We will definitely stay again. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy_a_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanGate, Manager at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for your review of DeanGate. We are very pleased that you were happy with the service we provided and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydney
5.8 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
727 reviews
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
432 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,544 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
5.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeanGate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeanGate Motel

Property: DeanGate Motel
Address: Claremont House High Street, Lydney GL15 5DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DeanGate Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deangate Motel, situated on the edge of the Forest of Dean, offers boutique bedrooms, continental breakfasts for just £5 per person per morning, free parking and free Wi-Fi. The elegant rooms at the Deangate all have a modern en-suite bathroom and tea and coffee facilities. Rooms also offer a flat-screen TV,sound proof walls, hairdryer and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your DeanGate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deangate Hotel Lydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing