We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for the price”
Review of The Woolaston Inn

The Woolaston Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Woolaston Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Lydney B&B and Inns
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable for the price”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have recently stayed a this inn. It is easily in reach of Lydney by car, and is close to the Forrest of Dean. The room I was given faced the road which conveyed average traffic, but was not noisy. The bed was comfortable, wi fi available, television, tea making, and room service if needed to change linnen, towels etc, and food in the room if needed. The wardrobe was very small for a double room, but was the largest that would fit. Staff were very pleasant and owners mixed in with the guests. Food, 5 star rating was good, served hot and freshly prepared, However the menue was limited to gurka preparations, no English food except at breakfast and must say that was excellant. All round a very nice place to stay for the price, and I would stay there again when visiting lydney..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolmwilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    41
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
45
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
176 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We visit on a regular bases and always bring our friends and family down when they visit. Baggy runs a fantastic restaurant where the food is fresh and delicious. The service is old school the staff are kind and friendly. I totally recommend you come and eat here, everyone that try's it comes back for more !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a big family lunch here today to say goodbye to my nephew before he heads off to Uni. We all really enjoyed it and will be going back there again for sure. Even the 'off the menu' hot hot pickle that was given to my father on special request was fantastic. The owner who is an ex Gurkha spent time socialising with us and it brought back memories for both my mother and I from our travels in Nepal. The food is excellent, Nepalese/Indian, clean tasting, healthy and fresh. I had Narayani Prawn Special as i don't eat meat and it was just perfectly cooked. Very calm and gentle service and atmosphere. Just wonderful !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avetoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I love this restaurant. We used to live in the village and would visit often. Recently we were back in town for a couple of days, so we chose to stay here.

The food is excellent. I have described it to friends as "like Indian, only fresher". For starters, the Chhoyola and the Sekuwa are excellent. For mains, try dishes like the Everest lamb, the hill-boy special or Himalayan chicken. Nan breads are light and crisp, truly delicious.

Having now stayed, I can say the rooms are spotless, though perhaps a little basically furnished e.g. our double room had just one bedside table, leaving me nowhere to put my glasses.

Another pleasure was breakfast. It is so rare to have a breakfast cooked to order, and to sit where we could hear it sizzling away was a joy.

Overall, a lovely place, which I am happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jingscrivens717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Run by Gurkha to a very high standard.Great setting and internal decoration.. Rooms very comfortable and staff could not be bettered for friendliness and efficiency. The restaurant is a totally different experience, menu based on a mixture of Chinese, Indian and Gurkha traditional food. superbly served by extremely helpful staff and management. A wonderful evening and I am told it is advisable to book in advance for Saturdays.
The only slight let down was the room service. If you want to have you room serviced in a morning, you have to request it on checking in. Once done, all standards are very good. Merely a different approach to individuals privacy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
426 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for one night on a Saturday with my family and the rooms were comfortable and clean, the staff attentive and helpful and the rooms, which were at the front, were not noisy from the road outside at all. Breakfast was really great and we were served by the owner, who is an ex-Gurkha, who was charming and very interesting when we asked about his experiences. All-in-all a very pleasant stay with the only minor problem being quite a strong smell of curry (I think - it was traditional Nepalese food) drifting upstairs from the restaurant below.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We cannot speak highly enough of the Woolaston-ok its by a busy road but come 11 pm, the road is practically car free.The service is excellent and the cooked breakfast superb!Pre wedding we all ate in the Restaurant and the meal was delicicious.WE all had traditional Nepalese dishes and the ywere all very good.The Inn is spotlessly clean and you could literally eat off the floor it is so clean.Ok some of the rooms are small doubles but for £50 per double room inc breakfast-it is great value for money.Staff are vewr y helpful and wonderful with children and babies-we had several in the group.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshbyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydney
4.7 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
5.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
7.3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
3.6 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
2.6 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolaston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolaston Inn

Property: The Woolaston Inn
Address: Woolaston, Lydney GL15 6PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Woolaston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing