We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cracking find, an absolute gem”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Studio Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy Fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Cosy Fire
Kitchen
Summer Baskets
Side view
Front Elevation
Super King Size Option
Twin Bed Option
A touch of home
Bathroom vanity unit
Bath and shower
Perrin and Rowe shower
Perrin and Rowe fittings
The Studio Barn door
The upper field
The lower field
Beautiful!
Spring has Sprung
Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JmTng
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cracking find, an absolute gem”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Short summary: High quality accommodation well worth the price with excellent hosts; great location making easy visits to landmarks/attractions in the surrounding Wye Valley AONB.

The Studio Barn was a surprising find given our relatively last minute booking. It was a stunning property (The pictures featured are a genuine reflection of what it is) with a fully equipped kitchen, spacious bathroom and welcoming living area.

We especially appreciated the maps and guidebooks provided helping us plan our days out. We arrived at the property exhausted after our long drive but Chris gave us the most lovely welcome and walked us through how to get the most out of studio bar [We really appreciated the fresh loaf of bread and pint of milk in the fridge too!]. In the short interactions we had with Chris & Katherine both were superb hosts and went above & beyond what was expected (Thank you for the hairdryer, it was essential!)

The property was finished to an amazing standard and we could really see the hard work put into the barn.

The only issue we encountered was the patchy WiFi signal that we couldn't use inside the barn but could outside - But as we came for a holiday we didn't make use of the WiFi much so wasn't a real problem for us (Something to consider for future guests who need to check emails frequently or so?)

All in all, a very lovely stay with very lovely hosts. If the chance comes up to stay at The Studio Barn, you'd be mad to give it a miss!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
That's an amazing detailed review! Thankyou very much indeed, and thankyou for booking with us and leaving the barn spotlessly clean. We really do look forward to you booking with us again sometime. Many, many thanks again, Katherine & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpencerS4...
1 review
“Really nice all around.”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great accommodation, fireplace is fantastic and kitchen was perfect. Bed and shower area are top draw aswell, the nearby locals are a good laugh and nearby to all the forest of Dean hot spots, we both really enjoyed it, would highly recommend

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review Spencer, we are so glad you both had such a wonderful stay and that the locals made you laugh!! Hopefully you will book again sometime. Best Wishes Katherine and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynneylou
shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very early days so im sure will improve with time”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We arrived at 4pm last Saturday knowing the owners were stuck in traffic. We were quickly shown round and told there was milk in the fridge. No welcome pack but we were handed a fruit cake and some biscuits later on from the farm shop (but as I am g/free, these weren't eaten!)
Weather scorching so missing for us was maybe a couple of sun loungers or deck chairs and maybe a bistro set right outside the door for b/fasts.
We realised after 2 nights in a large and v comfortable bed, of being v hot that the duvet was infact a combi of a 9 tog and summer 4 tog, so we took the 9 tog out of the cover. On day 3 we were offered a fan!
The tv was intermittent from day 1 but this problem of not having a constant signal in the evenings when we wanted to chill wasn't sorted during our 5 nights.
The shower was lovely although hot water only lasted about 20 minutes and the bath was rather sloped where you had to stand so quite unstable. nothing to wipe bath out with.
We didn't have one night where we slept thru to morning due to the pack of dogs on the farm next door barking and then howling 3+ times during the night, cars coming and going and heavy machinery starting up by 6am!!! So definitely not tranquil or ideal for a lie in!!!
Several suggestions to ignore or take on board :
-supply essentials and ensure there is enough for the length of a stay ie tin foil/k towel/toilet rolls/w up liquid/ we had to purchase bin bags/tin foil, toilet rolls etc ourselves
-supply enough towels for the number of nights and large enough hand towels to go round hair
Really need a hand held shower head for washing hair over bath and a hair dryer if like me you share one with a 24 year old daughter who had stayed home!
Chris v chatty and friendly and welcomed feedback and suggestions .

-

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Many thanks for your review and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Studio Barn. We very much welcome feedback, as it allows us to improve our offer to our future guests and we aim to address any problems or improvements where practically possible. Therefore, for the benefit of future guests, we would like to respond to your review as follows:
A welcome pack is given to every guest that stays at the Studio Barn; as it was on your stay. (Albeit a little late due to traffic delays, as the old Severn Bridge was closed). We try to accommodate our guest’s needs where possible and if advised of any physical or dietary restrictions, we would have made sure that the welcome pack met those needs. However on this occasion, this was not highlighted to us before your visit.
The Studio Barn provides both duck down and hollow fibre bedding and we provide sufficient layers to make your stay comfortable. The bedding is provided to be adjustable to suit your needs as required. Improvement from our side, would be to explain this to our guests or highlight it within our handbook; thank you for bringing this to our attention.
The original building has stone walls 18inches thick which means the temperature is usually reasonably constant, but as, during your stay it was the hottest day of the year for June since 1976, a fan was offered, to keep you cool and we were surprised that you had not requested one. It is now part of the standard provision in the Studio Barn.
The bath provided is a deluxe super steel double ended central filling bath, the design of which, intrinsically means that there are gradients at both ends for two to enjoy; if you so wish. We made a conscious decision not to provide a retractable or loose shower attachment as this is often open to abuse and misuse and could cause damage to the property if not used correctly. Therefore we felt the Perrin and Rowe fixed deluge shower head, a far superior arrangement; which all our guests have enjoyed tremendously. We could in the future provide a jug upon request should our guests wish to bend over the bath to wash their hair. The bath is fully secure and a bath mat is provided although with any bath and shower, caution should always be taken as it is a ‘wet area’.
At the Studio Barn we are not on a mains gas supply, being in a very rural area, so we are reliant on an electrical hot water system. We advised that if taking baths or showers directly after each other, you may need to apply the boost setting on the 230litre hot water thermal store which runs the hot water system. This was demonstrated on your arrival along with the other facilities we provide. You must have enjoyed the shower if you used it for 20mins and didn’t slip – we are very pleased you enjoyed it.
Given it was the hottest week since 1976, we appreciate you probably had the windows open, as did we in our house. This may have amplified some of the local noise from the farm next door. Farming in the countryside does tend to start early and there is not much we can do about that; It is also not an everyday occurrence. This is the first time it has been brought to our attention. As too the barking, which, being honest is a rare occurrence from the farm dogs next door. – there must have been something to set them off as they are usually very quiet except for when a police car’s siren goes by.
With regards to the television, we subsequently tested this on the day of your departure. You advised us that there was a problem around 8pm on day 1 of your stay, at which point I stood and tested it during you attendance. Once reset you later text to say everything was fine. The TV was reset, cable connections checked and a visual inspection of the aerial and TV were carried out. An offer to replace the TV was provided, but as a full investigation could not be carried out during your stay we could not accommodate this on the basis that we could not see a fault. Upon your departure and during our 4hour clean of the property, the TV was left on with no interruption in signal, or cutting out of service, or picture. We had a new booking the very next day and our guests stayed for the weekend, where they experienced no problems with the TV, signal, picture or reception; indeed they watched 3 movies back to back on Friday night. We can only put this fault down to the heat encountered during your stay, something that no-one has experienced since 1976.
Again we try to cater for our guests as best we can and take on board all comments. We provide, what we feel is adequate provision for the length of stay for our guests. We did say at the time of your arrival that if you needed anything else, to please ask us, as nothing is any problem as previous guests have stated. We have a supply of towels, throws, blankets, toilet paper, bin bags, tin foil, cling film, washing up liquid and more if requested. At no time during your stay did you request any of the above items, which we would have gladly topped up or replaced. We wish all our guests to have the best stay possible and we will try to accommodate your needs where practical. Highlighting any shortfall after your stay unfortunately cannot be rectified.
Sun loungers are a nice idea and something that we will consider in the future. A breakfast table and chairs by the front door is possible, but as this is by the designated parking space, the 8 seater garden picnic table set in the garden overlooking the Severn estuary, we like to think, is far superior. This provides ample space to spread out for breakfast, lunch, dinner and even late evenings where you can relax with the beverage of your choice.
We are glad you enjoyed our conversation and company and like to make our guests feel at home, but we also try to respect your privacy and let you enjoy the cottage and all that is on offer in the local area.
With kind regards Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs M B
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful, very caring owners.”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Studio Barn, Lydney is a lovely place to stay, the barn is cosy, has everything one needs for a break. The barn is tastefully decorated, and the owners provide extra little touches, we even found a nice homemade loaf on the table, milk in the fridge and best of all a very warm welcome. It is located in such a good place to go sightseeing, being at the edge of the Forest of Dean, a short car or train ride to Gloucester and the Quays, and also within easy reach of Cardiff and numerous other places of interest.
Thank you to the owners Chris and Katherine.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you found the barn so cosy and that you could reach some lovely places to visit easily. It's so nice when guests appreciate the little extras we provide. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Katherine & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs.”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This little gem is amazing! My husband and I stayed in the Studio Barn for four days and it was the perfect place to be for popping out to the many beautiful sites that are in the area. It was just down the road from Tesco's so we could buy food for breakfast and dinner. Fully stocked kitchen with a washer/dryer. Very comfortable king sized bed and large bathroom and bathtub, which was lovely for a hot bath after a long day of hiking.

Katherine and her husband were very kind and accommodating. I can't recommend this place enough if you want to get away from the hotel experience and really have your own space while you explore this gorgeous part of the UK. It's right over the border from Wales.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. It was so nice meeting you guys, and hope that you stay with us again the next time you are in the UK. Hope the rest of your holiday was just as good. Many thanks for booking with us, Katherine and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie68...
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed over the weekend and couldn't wait to write a review! worth every penny! A really lovely place to stay and we will be returning! The whole place is finished to such a high standard, The bed and the log fire were the best! I couldn't recommend this place enough. Only problem we had was going home:(

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
What a fabulous review! So glad you enjoyed it so much, look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thankyou ever so much for booking with us. Katherine and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, great base.”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely long weekend staying in the studio barn. We used it as a base for walking and were not disappointed. we could easily have spent much longer here walking during the day and coming back to this beautiful barn to relax in the evening. we loved the stable door which meant we could sit and eat whilst still looking out over the lovely view. As said before the bed is really comfy and the big bath was perfect for a soak after a long walk. The barn is opposite the owners house which means picking and dropping off the key is straight forward but the gap is great enough that at no time do you feel they are too close.
I'm sure we will be back to this area and would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
Thanks ever so much for your wonderful review, we are so glad that you both enjoyed it so much and hopefully we will see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing