We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good in parts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Spa Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ensisheim
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Some aspects of this hotel are very good, but a few things let it down. We had a junior suite which was large and comfortable, but the balcony was rather grimy and unswept, and if the people in the next room had been on their balcony they could have seen right into our room. The shower gel dispenser and box of tissues were empty - small points maybe, but it does show a lack of attention. On the plus side, the staff were friendly and helpful, and we had an excellent dinner in the restaurant, with outstanding service from our waitress. The buffet breakfast was the best of any of the hotels we stayed in during this trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocasta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    178
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
146
378
4
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is a French 3 stars; do not expect any luxury, but the whole thing is very efficient. The cost of a "junior suite" is 125 EUR; for this price, you get a clean and sizeable room, with a tiny balcony overlooking a pond; the decoration is very sober; do not put high expectations in the views, but the place is quiet.
The hotel building is modern; there is an inside swimming pool and a small sunbathing area sitting 8 people.
There is a private underground parking.
Good food in the restaurant at quite low prices; breakfast is no thrills, but fine bakery.
Taking the cost of the stay into consideration, this is a good hotel for an one-night stop in Alsace.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulklib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights - the room was big and cvery celan and the terrace with a view to the river and the outdoor areas was great. The children really enjoyed the indoor pool. And there is short driving distance to the Wine route for lunch and wine tasting.
We had some car trouble arriving friday late night getting afraid that the whole staurday was ruined by chasing a garage - but the reception made two calls then the garage guy came getting the car and fixed and delivered it back during two hours for a minimum cost. Thanks to the hotel staff for finding the garage :)
The food in the nice restaurant was good but we did expect more - especially the cheese and the desert was a little disapointement - though we will come back if we are driving and staying in Alsace area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanneH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
284 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

we stayed at the domaine du moulin for 4 nights during christmas [2 couples] during our visit to alsace...
the hotel is situated in a peaceful village 20 minutes drive from colmar, a convenient location if you want to visit some of the wine villages in alsace...Definitely, it is more than a b&b [ the rooms are spacious and clean, the breakfast is very good, there is an indoor pool and some spa treatments], but i will describe what happened during our stay and u can make your own judgements
the other couple was given a twin room instead of a double room although we had asked for 2 double ones..therefore they kindly asked if there was a chance to change room [they did not apologise for this mistake..] They told us that there was an available room but since we would be out for the day they could change in the evening when we got back..and we got back at around 8...i open the door of my room and i see an old couple on their underwear lying on my bed...[they changed by mistake our room instead of our friends' and moved all our stuff..throwing them in the suitcases...something i think is entirely inappropriate, rude and stupid...i rushed to the reception and they said it was mistake and did not even apologise...!!! the lady said that she lacked information about this whole situation...
now i lough thinking of all this...but we are a greek couple...imaging that happening to a british one...

anyway..i should not forget to mention the restaurant which is next to the hotel ..the villa de meuniere which serves excellent gourmet food at very reasonable prices...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoomendoscopist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and it's sister hotel."le cheval blanc" in Baldersheim as well. I loved the Cheval Blanc, but this hotel beats it. We stop off here on route to Italy every year and I would always go out of my way to stay here.
The hotel is beautiful in summer, covered in flowers, next to a lake with ducks and swans. There is an indoor pool. In the summer they open the doors and you can sunbathe next to the lake. The hotel is new and everything is very clean. The restaurant is wonderful and never fails to disappoint.
The staff here are not the friendliest, but to be honest, it doesn't matter as this hotel gets top marks for everything else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I spend a night here together with my wife during our Alsace trip.
I guess the place used to be a bed & breakfast but now it is a completely new hotel, so the classification in the category B&B does not really do right to this new hotel.
The location is very good, because so nearby Colmar. In less than 30 minutes we drove to Comar center, so we found a easy parking space in the morning, on a near deserted parking space in the city center. After noon, when we left Comar the parking space was full, just showing the advantage of having a place near Colmar.
On the other side, the village Ensisheim does not have that much to offer in my opinion and there seems to be a big prison building nearby which isn't so nice obviously from a touristic point of view. But do not let this lead you to the conclusion to decide that this hotel is not the one for you. On the contrary, it has several very big treats to offer!
The hotel itself is new, with new furniture. We stayed in a spacious 'chambre supérieur' for 92 EU/night per couple. But also the less spacious chambre comfort and comfort plus, offer the same quality interieur. The bed and matress was good and we slept very well. The breakfast was very good, but I found it a bit pricy for 11,5 EUR per person.
One is the wellness center, with an indoor swimming pool, 2 hammams, heated rest chairs, a very nice sauna. They are spotless and we enjoyed them enormously. There was also some fitness equipment. Secondly the nearby restaurant "Villa du Meunier": is a classy restaurant for an unbeatable precise. I took the 3 course 18,5 EUR menu and my wife the "menu du terroir" for 21 EUR, we had an appéritive (Crémant d'Alsace) and 25cl Riesling, and a bottle of water, all for 55 EUR. For this we had a splendid dinner, with an impeccable service. So if you stay here, do not bother looking for another restaurant, when you have this gem, nearby.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Piet1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zellik
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed six nights at this hotel at the occasion of my husband's fifieth anniversary. We were very pleased with the location (very quiet) and only 20 minutes away from Colmar and from Mülhouse.
They have a very nice interior swimming pool, a sauna and a hamam.
We had opted for the demi pension" formula and we were very pleased with that. Great value for money !
The only negative point: when one goes from the hotel to the restaurant, there is no other possibility than to go outside. Since it unfortunately rained all week, this was not very comfortable.
Anyway, I would go there again, hopefully with better weather !

  • Liked — Good value for money
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertje61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ensisheim
7.5 mi away
Les Violettes Hotel & Spa Alsace, BW Premier Collection
22.2 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
7.1 mi away
Chateau d'Isenbourg
Chateau d'Isenbourg
#1 of 4 in Rouffach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Au Cheval Blanc Mulhouse Nord
15.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Spa Verte Vallee
19.3 mi away
Chambard
Chambard
#1 of 5 in Kaysersberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin

Property: Hotel Spa Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin
Address: 44 rue de la 1ere Armee Francaise, 68190 Ensisheim, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Ensisheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ensisheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alsace! Nestled within a verdant setting, the Landwerlin Family welcomes you to the "Domaine du Moulin" Estate. There are 65 guest rooms with all comfort just waiting for you to come and spend unforgettable moments...Whether you are planning on a studious or a tourist stay, it will be as you decide either restful or stimulating, thanks to our "spa", complete with indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, outdoor Jacuzzi and its peaceful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Spa Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing