We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in the USSR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dilijan Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dilijan
greymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back in the USSR”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you ever wondered how the party Boss's lived it up in the Soviet era then look no further that the Hotel Dilijan Resort. This sprawling complex was getting a makeover in May 2012 when I visited but the building would look more comfortable in a city scape than it does perched in a forest. The rooms are spatious and quiet, most with balcony views out to wooded hills rising behind the hotel. The ballroom come dining hall is truely monumental and reminiscent of a bygone era although the food was plentiful and the staff were helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silkroad_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    30
    15
    4
See reviews for
21
18
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on 9 Sep 2012 as part of a Group of 38 people from Italy booked by Armenia Holidays. I booked a single room for which I paid the corresponding supplement. Everybody in the group had nice suite-style rooms, very spacious, with good, if old, furniture and a large balcony with a lovely view of the woods and hills.
I, on the other hand, in spite of the hotel looking dismally empty, was allocated Room 415 which must surely be a service room. Located next to the service elevator, overlooking some rubble and debris, small, with barely space to move about, cold, with a sagging bed and a duvet and sheets which were too small for the bed. The shower drainage was clogged.

So, the moral of this story is: if you ever use this hotel and are allocated Room 415, do not accept it.

Room Tip: Choose a room located along the large corridor. Reject room 415!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucyqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dilijan hotels

antwerp
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed one night as part of a tour in Armenia. Big, previous sovjet style hotel. Rooms are really big, with a separate bedroom, sitting room and bath room. Old fashioned furniture but clean. Elevators stop halfway of the floors. Restaurant dining room is huge but cheerless and our group of 12 people were the only guests, diner was buffet style. The problem is that they do not keep the dishes warm. No burners under the containers. We entered the restaurant as soon as it opened and the dishes were lukewarm at best, come later and they are cold. Breakfast was reasonable, no hot dishes anyway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

It is a very comfortable and big hotel with big rooms, great views from the balconies, different kind of facilities, good service, nice stuff and kitchen. It is a right place for those, who want to enjoy Dilijan's nature .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilaiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Dilijan Resort and Spa in July. On arrival we were greeted by the porter who took our suitcases up to the reception - there are a few stairs up to the front of the building just to warn you! Check in was smooth and the porter also brought the suitcases to our rooms shortly after.

My sister and I were in a very large twin room complete with balcony overlooking the forest and and my father was in a smaller double room, in which we were all located on the top floor. Unfortunatly they were carrying out work on the hotel on the top floor and were drilling into the wall of my dad's room and this was extremly noisy. Those rooms should not have been allocated at all as you could not relax or enjoy your evening, especially as the hotel wasn't exactly fully booked! After complaining at reception he was told to 'wait it out' which of course wasnt acceptable and he was finally moved after complaning at reception. No apology was given which he wasn't happy about.

Our dinner was arranged at 08:30 however after the room move we were late down, and wern't happily greeted by the staff, in fact we seemed more rushed out than welcomed. However breakfast and dinner on the second night were lovely and both buffet style. Keiren (sorry if I spell your name wrong) was doing a great job and remembered our names and always welcomed us.

We also booked in for treatments at the Spa, my sister had a pedicure (approx 12,500 AMD) and my father and I a full body massage (approx 15,000 AMD) which were relaxing. The staff at the spa are really lovely and friendly. We also made use of the pool which is open until midnight, however the jacuzzi wasn't working.

The hotel also has a 'computer club' which has many desks but only one computer with free access to the internet, a children's playroom, billiards, fitness room, sauna (payable), tennis and a piano bar.

Intresting elevator, which stops between floors so you have to walk up or down a small flight of stairs but it added to the overall quirkyness! You can't beat the views and the position and the hotel was extremly clean.

Room Tip: Top floor for great views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyAnna1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aiv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our very enjoyable week's tour of Armenia. Since it was such a short stay I won't allow the archecture to influence my rating. It's enough to say that this is an amazing example of Soviet-style building: huge expanses of public space, long marble corridors, glittering chandeliers suspended from ceilings so high you could strain your neck looking at them. Cosy it's not, but it's all a matter of taste.
For travelers with any mobility issues be aware that the elevator stops each time at a 'half-floor' so you need to go up or down a short flight of steps whichever floor you are on.
The rooms were huge, though the bathroom was the usual tiny proportions found in so many hotels. There is a computer room (charmingly-signed as 'computer club') with a terminal and internet free.

The setting is lovely but where this hotel really falls down is on the food and the service.

We arrived in time for dinner, our expectations raised by the promise of a buffet as a change from the waiter-served two/three course meals we had been eating during our tour (which were almost all outstandingly good, fresh and tasty and attractively served).
I think that this was probably one of the worst meals I've ever been offered. Almost everything was cold, the food had presumably been standing for some time and there was no apparant heating under the chafing dishes. What made it even more aggravating was that the staff showed absolutely no interest in the guests. The language barrier is no excuse - how difficult is it to understand that we want the soup to be heated when it's obviously cold (congealed fat on the surface is a give-away).
Breakfast was not any more successful. If you have to stay here, bring sandwiches.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniaGourevitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Poor service and uncomfortable beds....Though in a very picturesque nature.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dilijan
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Paradise Dilijan Hotel
1.5 mi away
Tufenkian Old Dilijan Complex
2.3 mi away
Diligence Hotel
Diligence Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dilijan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Tsaghkadzor Marriott Hotel
Tsaghkadzor Marriott Hotel
#1 of 16 in Tsakhkadzor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
18.7 mi away
Tufenkian Avan Dzoraget Hotel
76.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Jermuk
Hyatt Place Jermuk
#1 of 3 in Jermuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dilijan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dilijan Resort

Property: Hotel Dilijan Resort
Address: Getapnya Street 66, Dilijan 3906, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Tavush Province > Dilijan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dilijan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dilijan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dilijan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing