We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Style”
Review of Castello Dal Pozzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castello Dal Pozzo
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Italian Style”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a wonderful place place to stay for exploring the area. Very elegant and comfortable with impeccable service. A comprehensive breakfast sets you up for the day and the meal we ate from the new menu was delicious. Friendly and courteous staff make sure your stay is a delight.

We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67anthonyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AimoneDalPozzo, Direttore generale at Castello Dal Pozzo, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your very nice review. I will pass your compliments on to all the staff that will surely be very proud to read your lines.

We really hope to have you here again soon! Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    132
    38
    12
    10
See reviews for
51
313
7
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have just spent three days in this beautiful hotel. It must be unique amongst five star hotels in as much as it is as if one is staying in a family Palazzo, still lived in and owned by a distinguished Italian family - which indeed is the case. The rooms have all been individually designed by Cassiano dal Pozzo and furnished with pictures and objects by his wife, Nicki, carefully chosen from the family collection. But all is done to the highest of contemporary standards. The restaurant serves superb food and as one says "le patron mange chez lui". The staff were always smiling and very friendly - after two days having taken breakfast at the same table I found it had a "riservato" notice on it, so I sat elsewhere - the head waiter immediately said "but Signore I have kept your table for you". I thoroughly recommend this hotel for the highest of standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artmonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AimoneDalPozzo, Direttore generale at Castello Dal Pozzo, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your detailed review.

It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoed your stay at our hotel and that you have taken time to leave an important feedback to all the travellers.

My Parents will be very happy to know that you appreciated the style and effort regarding every detail they put into buildig the hotel.

We are looking forward to having you here again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was exceptional, and when they finish building the spa centre alongside I am sure it will be 5 star, meanwhile the service is well up to 5 star standard. We stayed for 3 nights. The accommodation is in the (modern but beautiful) Pallacio. Rooms and public areas are spotlessly clean, elegantly furnished and comfortable. Our bedroom was better that the 5 star hotel we had been in the previous few nights, and that was good. The restaurant had excellent food with local dishes, service good here too. Only complaint would be that on arrival we found the restaurant was already fully booked that evening, but reception made us a booking at a very good restaurant within walking distance. There was an excellent breakfast buffet which could be eaten indoors or on the internal courtyard. You can visit and have a guided tour of the old Castillo free of charge, also free access to the gardens for walking. Good wifi access throughout the building and terraces. We will definitely choose to go back there. Read less

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimone D, Direttore generale at Castello Dal Pozzo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Traveller,

thank you very much for your detailed review. It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoed your stay at our hotel and that you have taken time to leave an important feedback to all the travellers.

We are looking forward to having you here again soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the old castello at this hotel. We then changed rooms to the palazzo in the main hotel where they were much more modern. I would advise against staying in the castello rooms but all the hotel rooms are quite small with restricted storage and wardrobe space. The staff are outstanding and the location - in good weather - is excellent but difficult to find and very difficult to exit onto the main road. The hotel promises significant extensions "soon coming" but there is little sign of the promised development. Web felt that the hotel over-promised and under-delivered

Room Tip: Stay in the palazzo and NOT the castello which smells dusty and is remote from the dining and lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimone D, Direttore generale at Castello Dal Pozzo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your review and informations.

As you mentinoned, our hotel complex is composed of the Castello, first built in the year 1.000 where the fifth Roman Legion used to be placed, and the Palazzo recently rebuilt to be a 5 star hotel that opened in 2010. Although they are both national monuments they are very different and indipendenlty chracteristic.

We are moving on with the extentions and the old stables will be ready in spring 2014 with more rooms. Also the amenities are moving forward and we will be posting them on our website as soon as they are ready and running.

We really hope to have you here again so that you can try first hand our new features.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our journey in the castle was amazing. We would recommand it to any person looking for authenticity, charming and original spot. Everything is meant so you can feel like being at home. The reception as well as the room service is impeccable, highly flexible and attentive to any of your demand. We asked to have diner in the park of the castle and they made everything ready for it. They also have a good notion of french and i m french and of course they speak English. We will definitely go back there.

Jan and Yann

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henry y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from spending 4 nights in the Palazzo of the Castello dal Pozzo and simply couldn't fault our stay. Navigating to the Palazzo was slightly complicated due to a couple of road closures, but from the moment we arrived we were treated to nothing less than exemplary service.

Aldo greeted us at reception, checked us in, and directed me to our room. He then explained to my husband how to reach the secure carpark, and then met him in the carpark to carry our bags to our room. This set the flavour of our entire stay. Every single member of staff, not only couldn't do enough for us, but always seemed to be so proud of what they were doing, and why they were doing it.

Our room was absolutely beautiful, with fabulous decor, and the most comfortable bed. Toiletries were by L'Occitane (a favourite of mine, so big tick there!). The decor of the entire hotel was perfect, and the original artwork and ornaments on display caused us to spend many minutes just gazing at them.

Breakfast was delicious, with slight variations each day. We ate an evening meal twice in the restaurant and each time it was outstanding. There was a slight mix up the second time we ate, with one of our dishes being confused with someone elses order, but were were given a free bottle of wine, courtesy of the hotel which more than made up for the hiccup.

We asked for recommendations for restaurants in the local town (Arona) and Aldo provided us with several, even telling us his favourite dish from one of the menus! He also gave us directions to a large free carpark in Arona to save us paying for parking.

The Castello itself was closed as it was still out of season, but one day we went and walked all around the gardens which were beautiful. Then the next day (Saturday) we decided to have a look inside the Castello and by fluke we bumped into the other Aldo! He was gracious enough to give us a guided tour, even though these were advertised as only available by appointment on Sundays. The Castello is breathtaking. I've never seen anything like it. I could have spent hours just absorbing the history of each room.

I would definitely go back. Crikey, i'm already saving to go back! The only downside for me was that the spa wasn't yet open. I will be waiting until it is, just to put that cherry on the cake!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerriHoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

One of the the best value for money around the southern part of the Lago Maggiore. Friendly welcome, big beautifully decorated room, quiet environment, cleanliness, everything is so surprisingly positive and peaceful here. The staff is competent, polite and helpful. This is the ideal place for nice families, loving couples and friends who enjoy the unexpected and elegant extra. We now know where we shall come back next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markhenry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oleggio Castello
9.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
9.8 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
6.3 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,343 reviews
9.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,324 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais Casali della Cisterna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Dal Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Dal Pozzo

Property: Castello Dal Pozzo
Address: Via Visconti 8, 28040 Oleggio Castello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Oleggio Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oleggio Castello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Dal Pozzo 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of the Castello Dal Pozzo is as ancient and distinctive as its splendid surroundings, and together they create what is undoubtedly the most unique and exclusive Property to be found on Lake Maggiore… a fascinating treasure: the Castle…English art experts defined the architecture of the Castle as one of the purest re-interpretations of neo-Gothic Tudor existing in Italy.Set as a jewel in the delicate filigree work of the surrounding English gardens, the Castle offers the most exclusive and unique setting for any event.Excellent in-house dining combined with exquisite hospitality and impeccable service ensure the success of every special occasion, ably overseen by our professional and courteous staff.La felice sinergia con il Palazzo accresce le opportunità per eventi e soggiorni.The Palace, situated just across from the Castle, adds an additional component to the already wide range of different solutions for all events and stays. ...the perfect setting: the Palace …Built by the Visconti d’Aragona family, the luxury Palazzo boats a perfect combination of age old elegance and modern comfort throughout.The Palazzo is the perfect setting for a relaxing stay in the thirty bedrooms, full of charm, whilst the excellent selection of dishes and traditional specialities offered by the restaurant “Le Fief” complement the atmosphere of wellbeing.The Palazzo has versatile spaces for MICE activities (auditorium capacity of more than 300 people and 8 smaller meeting rooms) as well as prestigious Ballroom for Gala events.A few minutes drive from Lake Maggiore, the Castello Dal Pozzo Property is located 30 kms from the International Malpensa_Airport and a mere 60 kms from Milan City.Motorway exit (A26 – Arona) 2 kms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castello Dal Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing