We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay!”
Review of The Douglas Hotel

The Douglas Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Langholm
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here with my sister in Aug 2013. We had a lovely twin room that was cosy and roomy with the fluffiest beds in the world! The family owners were warm and friendly and could not do enough for us. The food was home cooked from local produce and delicious. We both felt thoroughly spoilt. Their home made jam is a delight and apart from being served at breakfast you can also buy some to take home.
There is no parking but there is loads of on road parking in very quiet streets.

Room Tip: We had Room 2 which had a double bed and a single. Would make a great family room. It had a sofa bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithandbrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here when attending a concert at the Buccleuch Centre. It was ideal. The busy restaurant downstairs serves local produce cooked well. Our fillet steaks were delicious (though a tad overcooked for our tastes). Breakfast of smoked haddock and poached eggs was superb! The bar serves a decent pint of hand-pulled bitter and the prices are good value. Booking in busy restaurant essential. Order smoked haddock breakfast in advance to ensure availability. Walking distance from the Buccleuch Centre.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a great meal here with great service. My husband is a butcher and said the steak was brilliant. Very reasonably priced too. Lasagne was also very good as was Pâté. Great selection of sweets to choose from. Cheesecake was lovely and meringue.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kelly150474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

If we go out for tea or a work night out we always come here.
The staff are lovely and friendly, the food is absolutely fantastic I just can't fault it.
Only thing is I often have the same thing to eat. Spinach and mushroom lasagne, but I love it.
The puddings are immense. The butterscotch meringue is huge and lovely. There ice creams are good to. Always look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Erin192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have been here several times. The hotel is very clean, cosy and situated in a wonderful tiny town called Langholm. The best thing about the Hotel though is the food!! All homemade...Buccleuch Scottish Beef, imaginative menu, excellent portions and presentation and the homemade desserts are to die for! Excellent prices too! Seriously, check this out!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mascot09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We just visited for an evening meal which was of superb quality and very reasonable priced. There was a queue for tables but the wait was well worthwhile. The fact that the restaurant was packed mid week in the off season probably says it all! I would definitely return here to dine if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for my brothers wedding 14/15th March 2013.
Very friendly staff and host, nothing was too much trouble for them. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Food was excellent and the breakfast was the best I've had in a very long time.
A very special thanks to Jason & Co
Would definitely recommend this hotel for everyone, couples,families and solo travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langholm
0.1 mi away
Eskdale Hotel
Eskdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langholm
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zara Continental Hotel
Zara Continental Hotel
#3 of 3 in Langholm
16 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
318 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
920 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Address: High Street, Langholm DG13 0DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Langholm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Langholm
Price Range: $90 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Langholm, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing