We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place, pictures don't do it justice.”
other travelers have booked this property
The Cabin at North Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cabin at North Lodge
Night time in the hot tub Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
The Cabin at North Lodge
Night time in the hot tub
Lounge area
The shower room
Daytime view from the hot tub
Sleeping area
Lounge area
Lounge area with dvd player and a selection of dvds
Kitchen area with 2 burner hob, microwave, toaster & fridge freezer
Sitting area to admire the view and watch the wildlife from the veranda
Panoramic photo of the view from the veranda in winter
Enjoying a quiet paddle on the pond below the cabin
The view across the fields from the veranda
A wildlife haven including deer, kingfishers and even the occasional otter!
A morning visitor
The view of the Deer visiting the pond from the Cabin
unexpected guests!
Fishing the Border Esk, famous for both salmon & sea trout
The Border Esk is only 5 minutes walk away & we can arrange permits for guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Langholm, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rowanonho...
2 reviews
“Amazing place, pictures don't do it justice.”
Reviewed November 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We booked it for a long weekend away and had a fantastic time, the place has been done up with new sofa and out door furniture since when the pictures were taken so looks fab. It has its own morden hot tub on the veranda of the lodge and it's fantastic watching the stars! We will be back....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennnM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway For Couples Both Young & Old”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I (a 20 year-old) stayed here with my girlfriend at the beginning of October and it was the perfect place to enjoy a nice, relaxing long weekend.

Stuart was a perfect host and was quick to respond to any queries we had. He emailed us a few days in advance with directions on how to get to the cabin and gave us his contact information if we had any problems.

The cabin is very clean and the pictures don't do it justice. There is a new hot tub located just outside of the sliding door on the veranda which makes it great for days when it's raining. There is also a black sofa in place of the blue one shown in the photos which is pretty comfortable and a large TV on top of some drawers. The bed is very comfortable and clean and is in the perfect position to allow to watch TV in bed.

The cabin has a small gas fire and radiators which heat up very quickly and keep the cabin lovely and warm when it's cold at night. There is also a control panel which allows you to select a temperature and time for the heating. The shower is much better than expected as it has great pressure and keeps reasonably warm throughout the duration of your shower.

It was raining pretty heavily during our stay but the covered hot tub allowed us to enjoy the beautiful landscape and look at the wildlife during the day and stars during the night.

Overall, it was a perfect weekend away and it is well worth the money. We will definitely be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and privacy.
Liked least: There was only gas hobs and no oven. It didn't affect us but others may be unaware.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fi2105
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home away from home”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

It's such an amazing little place it was so relaxing and romantic with wonderful views and very pieceful . Stuart and Joanne are very welcoming and the hot tub was an amazing experience . We will be returning in the future

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroline...
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven in the Boarders”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the Cabin at the last minute - I was a bit worried at first that it might be a bit of a fisher man's retreat, however I had no need to worry the pictures really do not do it justice and it is lovely; clean, tidy with feminine touches, and everything you need for a very comfortable visit. The hosts are friendly yet leave you alone enough to enjoy the peace and quiet, but close enough if needed for help or advice. We had milk and biscuits on arrival and a host of local tourist information - something for everyone's interest. The area is stunning and the wild life is a treat to behold - the bird feeder outside brought endless hours of joy - as did the greater spotted woodpecker who had breakfast with us every morning at 9:30 am. I would defiantly go again and maybe visit Muckle town for their annual event - Langholm is a delightful village 5 miles down the road and a place to go if you like walking and rivers. Hawkins further on has a Salmon ladders just behind the school once again well worth a visit. All in all a fab find and one we will defiantly use again excellent all round - but don't tell everyone keep it quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the setting
Liked least: silly really but no facility for ice
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb tranquil holiday Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

From the moment we were greeted by Stuart and his wife to the time we were waved off two days later we enjoyed the best bed and breakfast experience we have ever had. The cabin is detached and overlooks a large pond. There were wild birds everywhere including swallows nesting in the eaves. We even saw deer drinking a the pond on our last morning. My daughter stayed in the Lodge and was also very impressed by her accommodation. The breakfast was lovely and I cannot fault anything at all about our stay. I would highly recommend this accommodation and location to anyone who wants a quality bed and breakfast stay. We have already booked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin is detached and has an excellent vista
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1fishingr...
hatt
1 review
“We came for the fish and stayed for the peace!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Being an avid fisherman, my husband was keen to try his luck on the Boarder Esk. Stuart could not have been more helpful in arranging tickets and helping with fishing spots - and that was before we arrived! We stayed in the cabin. It was very comfortable and provided everything needed during our stay. Stuart and Joanne were welcoming and friendly and made sure that anything we needed was arranged. The view across the pond is wonderful with plenty of wildlife to see. If you like bird watching, the veranda is the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine while the birds come down to feed. Did he catch any fish? No. But that is fishing for you. However, he had such a good time he is coming back later on this year to give it another go - and enjoy North Lodge and all it offers again. I have a feeling it could be a regular fishing venue.
We want to pass on our thanks to Stuart and Joanne for giving us a wonderful time.
Best wishes,
Angela Coleman.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_h1002
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another Lovely Stay”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights in the cabin and it was just as good as the first time I stayed there. Perfect for a relaxing break away from it all. Stuart has great local knowledge and tips to guide you around the local area. The location itself is ideal and is a good location for visiting many local attractions - Ice skating in Dumfries is well worth a visit!! Thanks again, Phil & Marie.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing