We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't Have Asked for More”
other travelers have booked this property
Middleholms with a large garden, set in farmland and open moorland.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Middleholms with a large garden, set in farmland and open moorland.
Middleholms surrounded by fields and moorland. Middleholms is an old farm steading set in a large well maintained garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Middleholms with a large garden, set in farmland and open moorland.
Middleholms surrounded by fields and moorland.
Middleholms is an old farm steading set in a large well maintained garden.
View of Middleholms looking across the valley and the River Esk.
View towards Langholm - only a mile away, and a lovely walk across fields and through woods.
The front of the house.
Front door opening onto hill views.
The large bespoke hand-painted kitchen is well equipped with plenty of storage too.
The kitchen is the whole width of the original house and opens out onto the new conservatory.
An electric Aga is the heart of the kitchen and the home. We leave instructions and Aga cookbooks.
The snug breakfast area within the large kitchen.
The kitchenette offers a second fridge freezer, induction hob &
electric oven as alternative to Aga.
Architect designed, this very contemporary conservatory was completed in August 2018.
The new conservatory has sliding doors which open onto the sheltered courtyard area.
Light filled conservatory dining room with underfloor heating and a very comfy sofa for relaxing.
The long bespoke oak table is ample for ten diners, and the house is well-stocked with table ware.
The conservatory leads into the kitchenette and utility room.
The rear of the house with new conservatory and sheltered courtyard with outdoor table and chairs.
Living room with enormous L-shaped sofa and original contemporary artworks.
Living room with wood burning stove, comfy seating and views.
A wide selection of books and games in the study, plus a sofa to curl up on.
Large bedroom with king size bed, French doors and walk-in wardrobe.
Twin room with single beds and a view across the valley.
Two single beds in upstairs twin room.
Double bedroom with oak bed and original contemporary artworks on walls.
One of the three double bedrooms - this has a zip and lock bed.
One of two bathrooms with bath and shower.
Bathroom with bath, shower and original shutters.
The barn with large games room and wood byre storing wood for the wood-burning stoves.
Inside the spacious games room - table tennis, wood burning stove, TV and view of the monument!
The white barn in the large garden
Rainbow View from Middleholms garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Langholm, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie G
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Couldn't Have Asked for More”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Middleholms. So wonderful we have already booked again for this year. There were 9 of us staying and the house still felt enormous. Lots of space for us all to be together (or apart if we felt like it!!)
Extremely well equipped across the whole house, and particularly the kitchen. There was nothing we were left wanting for.
We had some chilly days, as it was winter, and the house was extremely warm and comfortable. The children loved the separate building housing the table tennis and another tv (as did we some days for a bit of peace!!!)
David, the housekeeper, was extremely helpful, before, during and after our stay.
All really looking forward to our return visit.
Couldn't recommend highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful retreat for a gathering of friends or family”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We have ben returning to Middleholms for the last several years, it is a beautiful, warm and friendly place in a glorious setting with great walks nearby.Nearby Langholm is charming simplicity. We love it and it embraces us every time we visit.Dumfries and Galloway is a cracking part of Scotland too. The property is comfortable with very comfy beds and no worries for dogs running around the place ( providing they are well behaved and don't bother with sheep!). We will keep on going back ..............

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, quality of accommodation
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Family Holiday Home”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a wonderful few days at Middleholms staying with a extended group of friends and family 7-60+ years. We all loved it. House spacious and well equipped but homely and very comfortable. A fantastically quiet spot with great views. A pretty garden for games and lounging- a 10 minute walk for river swimming. Nearby Langholm provided all our pub and food needs. Would recommend a trip to Pelosi's for great ice cream. One of our best trips to Scotland yet.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackTick...
Sydney, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome stay.”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My family of five had a wonderful week at Middleholms and we all hated to leave. Everything was first class and a real Scottish experience for a family from Canada. Secluded enough to be peacefull but close enough to Langholm/Carlisle to shop and enjoy those two towns.
We were greeted by a very helpful caretaker who couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay. We highly recommend a stay at this great house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l_cook400
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic country retreat”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed with family friends here for a few nights, they were staying for longer. The house is situated in a lovely country location with amazing views, yet only two miles from the local town of Langholm which has sufficient small shops and eateries to fulfil your needs for food whether you choose to eat in or out. The Douglas hotel is particularly good for an evening meal but advisable to book if eating at the weekend.
The house is large enough for ten people to stay in comfort with sufficient room that you don't feel as if you are living on top of each other. It is well equipped with everything you would need for cooking from the essential crockery to jelly moulds! The dishwasher made life easy, essential when staying with a large crowd. Cooking can be done on an AGA or an electric cooker. When I stayed the weather was fantastic and we spent most of the time outside,eating alfresco using the patio table and chairs. For winter stays there is a log burning stove.
There is however plenty to do if the weather is not so great with a large flat screen TV, table tennis table in the outside barn and an array of board games and jigsaws.
The bedrooms are adequately equipped with bed linen, towels etc and the beds are very comfortable.
If you want a peaceful break in comfort with friends or family I would recommend this as an ideal place to stay.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
13alex123
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home in Middleholms”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our extended family had a very happy week in this lovely spot. We were lucky with the weather so spent most of the time in the garden, eating al fresco, reading, watching wild-life (butterflies, red squirrels, pheasants and barn owls to name a few) and on long rambles in the surrounding area. Some of us even swam in the river! The house was very welcoming to come home to with lots of space to relax. We enjoyed cooking in the well equipped kitchen and were pleased to have an electric hob & oven as an alternative to the Aga. The table tennis tournaments were also a highlight. David the caretaker met us when we arrived and showed us around, and couldn't have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: We didn't have long enough there.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed April 18, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tons of space, peace and quiet and everything we needed!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing