We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Border House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Border House
Ranked #1 of 4 Langholm B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have been on tour for 2 months and I haven't found a warmer and more pleasant B&B thank Langholm's Border House. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hostess couldn't do enough to make sure you were happy - even after I slept in past the agreed breakfast time! Everything was to a high standard and you could tell that the rooms were put together with care and though.

I know I will be requesting I stay here if I ever return to Langholm.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOperaBari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at Border House 3rd to the 7th September 2012 . We had the downstairs twin room which was very spacious and exceptionally clean. The only downside to it was that it did tend to get a little noisy early on due to it being next to the road. The beds were very comfy and warm, though it would be better if the tv were on the opposite side as we had to sit on the bottom of the beds to watch it. There is a full length mirror behind the bathroom door, which is very useful, however you have to plug the hairdryer in there and there's nowhere to put your brushes, makeup etc.,
As we were on an ancestor hunt, Gill and Dennis went out of their way to try and help. Gill's breakfast was superb. Not overfacing but just right and really nicely presented.

In all we had a very comfortable stay and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrison56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My father and I stayed at the Border House from August 9 to the 13 of 2012. Dennis and Gillian were wonderful host, providing excellent recommendations for local activities along with hints for navigating traffic in Carlisle. My only disappointment was the intermittent nature of their wireless wi-fi but in truth, that is beyond their control.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-of-Gilnockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Small B&B Guest House with friendly staff, good rooms and breakfast. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neville m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunvegan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have now stayed at the Border House on three separate occasions - each time just for one night. I am pleased to say that despite each time being shown to a room suitable for two people, I was not charged any single supplement.

For my first two visits, I had my dog with me, and was given the use of a ground floor twin-bedded room. This was very convenient, being close to the front door. In spite of the Border House being in the High Street in this small town, it is possible to park right outside the door, so unloading the dog, his cage and my own bags was not a problem. Some visitors may find this room a little noisy, as its window faces directly onto the High Street. Although there is not a great deal of passing traffic or pedestrians, there is inevitably some noise from outside, particularly in the early evening.

On my third visit, I was alone, and enjoyed a small double bedroom on the first floor at the back of the house. This room overlooks the garden, so there is absolutely no noise here.

Both rooms I have stayed in have been immaculately clean and freshly presented. All the rooms at the Border House have ensuite facilities, with complimentary tea and coffee, and TV/DVD players. I found the beds very comfortable.

Breakfast was served in the conservatory at the back of the house. There is a choice of cereals, toast, tea or coffee, and a freshly cooked 'full breakfast' is available. Breakfast is included in the modest price for a room. Service is efficient and friendly. The host and hostess have extensive local knowledge should you need it.

With the Border House being in the centre of the town, it is a matter of just a few yards walk to the nearest take-away, pubs, banks and variety of shops. The little town of Langholm is interesting, and well worth exploring. It offers a network of waymarked walks along the riverside and into the surrounding countryside. There is also an assortment of fascinating historical buildings in the town.

Room Tip: If the possibility of traffic noise bothers you, ask for a room at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidaySkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Gillian was a great host and could not do enough for us. We had cycled for 9 hours and she washed and dried all our kit The breakfast was brilliant with a fantastic choice.The accomodation was very clean and had just been re-decorated. Overall we had a short but great stay and would not hesitate in staying there again.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olierin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We were greeted at the front door by Gillian before we had even got off the bike. The welcome was very warm and we were directed to the garage and met by Dennis and the bike was secured over night. We were shown to our room which was lovely and spotlessly clean.

After settling in we decided to go out and find something to eat. Before leaving we were met by Dennis who asked us when we would like our breakfast the following day. He also recommended the restaurant at the Douglas Hotel for dinner which serves local produce. We had an excellent meal at the Douglas.

The breakfast was lovely as much cereal, juice and coffee as you would like and whatever you would like from the cooked selection. The quality of the ingredients were excellent.

We stayed for 2 nights and we would have both been happy to stay longer - unfortunately we had to leave.

Gillian and Dennis are excellent hosts who clearly care about their business and their guests. Nothing is too much trouble and I would have no problem recommending this B&B to anybody.

The B&B is ideally situated for exploring Scotland and the Lakes and we are very much looking forward to visiting again soon

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langholm
0.1 mi away
Eskdale Hotel
Eskdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Langholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zara Continental Hotel
Zara Continental Hotel
#3 of 3 in Langholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 4 in Langholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Border House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Border House

Property: Border House
Address: 28 High Street, Langholm DG13 0JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Langholm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Langholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Border House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO BORDER HOUSE Bed & Breakfast The Border House is a small family run bed and breakfast and is situated on the high street which is also on the main A7 tourist route to Edinburgh. Langholm is known as the famous "Muckle Toon" of the Scottish Borders, A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at the Border House, which boasts 3 well appointed guest bedrooms all en-suite, two double rooms and one ground floor super king double/twin ideal for guests with restricted mobility. The conservatory breakfast room which enjoys a lovely view of the garden and the hills beyond very relaxing way to start your day and enjoy your Scottish breakfast. Private car parking is to the rear and a locked garage for motorbikes and cycles is available, Guests are welcome to use our garden in the summer and smokers are also welcome to use this all year round. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries, Flat Screen digital television and Free WiFi access. All of our food is sourced locally. We pride our self in our home cooking, and if you have any dietary requirements we will be happy to cater for you. Langholm has its own theatre The Buccleuch Centre which hosts many excellent events throughout the year. Langholm also has a number of galleries and art studios which host a wealth of talent. For the more adventurous, Langholm is host to the Mucckle Toon Adventure Festival in early summer, or the Pumpkin Run at the end of October. Langholm is also a great place if you just want to chill take a lovely walk, then visit Abbotts amazing chocolate shop to finish off the day or enjoy and excellent dinner at one of our award wining restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Border House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Border House Langholm, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing