We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in the Borders”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eskdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eskdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Little gem in the Borders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Booked via trip advisor and not disappointed.

Comfortable room, good food and all very affordable.

Would definitely recommend as a stop off point from down south if you are heading up into the highlands. Just 20 minutes from the Motorway at Gretna.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Finchbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    42
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
70
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

myself and my partner have just come back from a 3 night stay at this hotel and had a very relaxing stay, the beds and pillows wow! never slept so well, the food was very good in the restaurant the sticky toffee pudding was the best I have ever had hats off to who ever made it, the breakfast was very good, the staff very nice nothing to much trouble for them, the rooms are clean maybe a little dated, if I had to be picky about something it would be about the shower I can run faster than the water, all in all an excellent stay and if I,m ever in the area again I would stay there again. thank you to the staff at eskdale hotel

Room Tip: rooms on the front have the noise of the church bells from 6am
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hazel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for reviewing you recent stay with us, and we are so glad to see that you enjoyed our food and hospitality and that our team looked after you well.
Apologies that the shower was not powerful, and please be assured this will be on our list of items for improvement in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Eskdale on your next trip to Langholm and the Scottish Borders.

Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stopped off here over night after a long day of travel, and very glad we did.

Service was top notch from when we arrived until we left. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and can't fault either, both were great and plenty of it.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

If you are in the area, I would definitely recommend.

Thanks to the two John's and all the staff we met. We will stay over again the next time we are passing through.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferrigan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

From the moment John N and John G met us on arrival until we left nothing was too much trouble for them and their friendly, helpful staff. The bedroom was immaculate, very comfortable,well equipped with complementary toiletries, hairdryer and a variety of tea coffee and biscuits.
The quality and quantity of the food was excellent, cooked to perfection, served pipping hot.
There was a good selection of cereals etc and full Scottish breakfast, cooked to order accompanied by toast. Dinner was delicious, cooked to perfection and plenty of it.
The staff of this excellent, friendly and spotless hotel go out of their way to meet your every requirement and always with a smile. Great value for money.
See you all again soon. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingscourt56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but our large family group, ranging from 6 months to 89 years, had an early evening meal there at the end of our cottage holiday week. The restaurant was very pleasant, the food was excellent and the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had an enjoyable time, even to the extent of running after us to the car park to return a toddler's Tommy Tip cup that we had left. I would have no hesitation at all in recommending the Eskdale Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_F562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I travelled with friends from Edinburgh to spend the weekend at the Eskdale Hotel.It is in the lovely village of Langholm,it has it's own car park around the side of the hotel,this is definitely a bonus as parking can be difficult on the Main Street.
The rooms were very clean and well equipped. We slept well on both nights due to the beds being very comfortable.
We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant on both days. The food was delicious and freshly cooked by the hotel chef.
The owners were very welcoming and attentive throughout our stay and nothing was ever a bother for them. This made our stay very enjoyable and relaxing and we will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago with a number of friends celebrating a birthday. The occasion was without doubt made extra special by the staff at the Eskdale Hotel who were very attentive and receptive to our every whim. Our comfort, needs and experiences throughout the week-end were clearly their priority.

The two managers/owners (John & John) went above and beyond to ensure our stay was enjoyable and memorable. They are clearly experienced in the hospitality and hotel environment and particularly in the field of providing exceptional customer service.

We had dinner both nights in the dinning room. The food was delicious plentiful and beautifully presented. It was obviously created by skilled chefs using top quality products which were locally sourced. Breakfast was appetizing. I had continental, some of the party had hot full Scottish while others enjoyed both. Everything provided at breakfast was of the same high quality as that provided at dinner.

All areas of the Hotel were very clean, bright and tastefully furnish. We slept on immaculate white linen sheets in a large bright bedroom well equipped with complementary toiletries, a variety of teas, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits.

Langholm is a friendly quaint and very interesting history soaked town with delightful walks. It has a Theatre and it’s own Amateur Dramatic Group. Although a small town there are a number of shops providing basic needs, unique gifts and best of all delicious hand made chocolates from Abbotts Chocolate Shop. We would like to recommend Truly Scrumptious Deli for light meals, scones and specialty teas.

We would definitely highly recommend The Eskdale Hotel for great value and a great experience. We will return there for short breaks and special occasions.
If you are just looking for somewhere to eat, dinning at the Eskdale is an opportunity not to be missed.

“Big Thank You” to the whole team at the Eskdale Hotel who we observed working tirelessly to make every guest feel special and welcome.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAEN_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langholm
0.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Langholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zara Continental Hotel
Zara Continental Hotel
#3 of 3 in Langholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
17.0 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eskdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskdale Hotel

Property: Eskdale Hotel
Address: Market Place High Street | High Street, Langholm DG13 0JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Langholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eskdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel, Bar, Restaurant and function space for up to 120 guests. Food served 12.00 To 2.30Pm and 5.30 To 8.30Pm Bar open all day from 11am Morning Coffee Afternoon Tea (reservations only) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eskdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eskdale Hotel Langholm, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing