We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Eskdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eskdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having booked our first long weekends fishing trip to the borders we needed somewhere to stay that was central to the Langholm area. Having read the reviews of local establishments and those previously posted on trip adviser we decided to opt for the Eskdale Hotel as we were to understand it had recently undergone full refurbishment and was under new management. On arrival the front foyer was very welcoming and gave an instant feeling of a well run establishment. We were greeted by the very friendly managers/ owners, John & John who showed us to our rooms..The rooms were very pleasant, of good size and in excellent decor with good tea/ coffee making facilities but most of all, beds were comfortable and spotlessly clean. The public bar area to the front of the hotel was very pleasant as we're the staff and locals who made you feel welcome. Bar food was excellent, not only in quality and quantity but also in cost. The main restaurant was truly superb and gave the feeling of being in a very comfortable country hotel with excellent table service with a well balanced selection to the menu. The food was freshly cooked and truly delicious but above all, great value for money. Breakfast, which is also served in the main restaurant was brilliant and plentiful, meaning we could go off on our days fishing without the need for further food during the day, albeit with the offer for packed lunches if we so desired...If only the fishing could have been as excellent as our stay this would have been truly memorable.. Overall, an excellent place to stay, perfect for those visiting the borders or just passing through. Well done guys. Keep up the good work and we look forward to seeing you a little later next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexBlackrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Eskdale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a wonderful, comfortable and welcoming visit at this hotel. Super location in a lovely village/town. Wish we could have stayed for longer. The hotel is in the centre of the town, close to a lovely tea room and riverside walk.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have been to this hotel on several occasions since it has been taken over by new management and would certainly recommend it if visiting Langholm. The hotel is well situated to all local amenities including the Buccleuch Centre which provides varied entertainment. The service is second to none. Staff provide excellent service. Food is delicious and fresh cooked. Rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Overall it is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Borders.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jintycrossgates1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a cycling weekend. The hotel very clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel dining room both nights food very good, breakfast also very good.
However 2 days after our return I received a phone call saying the bed I slept in was badly soiled and the manager was wanting compensated. I found this false accusation very upsetting and when I phoned the manager denying all knowledge he suggested I have a word with the person I was sharing with and put the phone down on me.
What disappointing ending to a nice weekend at this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pockets57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night recently. I was really impressed with the standards and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were in a room on the top floor which gave us a great view of the town. I would definetly reccomend to anyone looking to stay in langholm.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murdagmacrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A warm welcome awaited us at this hotel in the heart of Langholm. The room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts served in the dining room were good and we ate in the hotel bar on both nights. The food was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgdbdhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

my husband found and booked this hotel for for a surprise birthday weekend the biggest surprise was that he got it 100% right lovely staff. room spotless,had dinner both nights menu and food excellent,will certainly be back THANKS LIZ/ JOHN ROOM 4

Room Tip: every room is a good room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langholm
0.1 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Langholm
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zara Continental Hotel
Zara Continental Hotel
#3 of 3 in Langholm
16 reviews
14.3 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,067 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eskdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskdale Hotel

Address: Market Place High Street | High Street, Langholm DG13 0JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Langholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langholm
Price Range: $91 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eskdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel, Bar, Restaurant and function space for up to 120 guests. Food served 12.00 To 2.30Pm and 5.30 To 8.30Pm Bar open all day from 11am Morning Coffee Afternoon Tea (reservations only) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Eskdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eskdale Hotel Langholm, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing