We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class B&B second to none”
Review of Vine Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vine Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Rowde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I spent 8 delightful weeks staying at Vine Cottage whilst temporarily working nearby in Devizes.
It was absolutely top class, second to none, and I honestly could not fault it in any way.
Nothing was too much trouble for the very happy, friendly, helpful hosts, Mary and Ben. They even insisted on preparing me their award winning scrumptious full cooked breakfast ready for 6.30 a.m before I went to work each day. The breakfasts are truly delicious- out of this world. I loved every minute of my stay. Superb accommodation, beautiful room, very comfortable bed, in fact perfect down to every detail. There is even use of their fabulous sauna included in the price of the room!
I have stayed in countless hotels and B&B's and this one topped them all! Best all round experience. An absolute must.

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful and unique and with lovely ensuite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Hi Heather, many thanks for this glowing review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We know it is never easy working away from home and family so we are pleased that your stay here made the experience more pleasant. It will seem strange not welcoming you here this coming Sunday as we all go into your routine including the early breakfast which we are always happy to provide if needed for early business guests.

Maybe in the future you can return for a leisure break and enjoy a less rushed experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 139 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ben and Mary are great hosts and Vine Cottage is clean, very homely and welcoming. We would not hesitate in recommending them or staying there again. The location was perfect, we were seeing friends in Devizes. Oh, and breakfast was fabulous!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Many thanks Michelle for writing this lovely review, it is great for us to get this feedback. We really hope to see you and Rob again next time you visit your friend and maybe for a longer stay to help you earn our loyalty discount.
Best wishes
Mary and Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A home from home: home made jams and marmalade, local bacon (just like bacon used to be), proper bread, friendly host and hostess, so enjoyed our second stay we are looking for an excuse to visit again! Sustrans what have you got in the Rowde area?

It was a shame we didn't have time to fit in the sauna!

Naomi, Heather and Jill

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Jill, many thanks for taking the trouble to write this lovely review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay again. I don't know if you have seen this web site, but there are 3 circular bike rides starting in Devizes, which would of course help you gain those green points as we do so hope you can come again. http://www.cycle-route.com/routes/Wiltshire-Routes-110.html

Best wishes
Mary and Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Definitely the best B&B we have ever stayed in! Mary and Ben are wonderful hosts ----friendly,helpful and gregarious. Delicious breakfasts over our five night stay and lovely 'extras' in our room of fruit and bottled water in addition to the usual tea,coffee and biscuits. Also a substantial packed lunch provided at a nominal charge for a day out walking. A great idea. We really got into the jigsaws and completed two during our stay. It became a challenge or maybe we should say an obsession! We didn't watch TV at all! This seemed to impress our hosts as on the day we left they gave us a jigsaw to take home! All in all a brilliant place to stay. We'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable with excellent facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Barry and Eileen , thank you so much for this wonderful review we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of using our lovely lounge. We enjoyed your company at the breakfast table and hope very much to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night in May whilst on a course in Rowde. Mary and Ben were extremely hospitable hosts and have thought of everything! There is a lovely big lounge for guests to use, with books and even a jigsaw laid out waiting for people to join up a few more pieces! Sadly I wasn't there long enough to make use of this facility. I stayed in the Green Room which was well appointed but it is a small room - fine for single occupancy though. The double bed was very comfortable and the shower was good too - the room has a lot of character, if a little dark. Breakfast was delicious and lovingly prepared by Ben! Parking can be a little tricky - the lane is narrow and the parking spaces are all in a row outside the front of the house and it can be a bit challenging to get in and out if all the cars are there - but then parking is not my strong point!! Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank localgirlWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarynBenatVC, Owner at Vine Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear localgirlWestSussex, we think we know who you are (not always possible to work out during busy Summer months!). If we are right, then we thank you for your kind comments and really hope to see you again too, particularly as you can then take advantage of your offer won on Facebook, just call us to take advantage of that. Also if you would like a hand with parking, just give us a shout, we would be happy to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Visited Vine Cottage during a long weekend cycling the Kennet and Avon from Reading to Bath. Accommodation was first class with excellent room and delicious breakfast. Local attractions included Caen Locks and The Oliver Cromwell at Saint Edith's Marsh. Further afield, Crofton and Bath are well worth a visit. Thanks Ben and Mary for your welcome and hospitality

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John268752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I would like to endorse the favourable comments made about this place. The owners have that perfect combination of friendliness, openness and reserve that, as the internet generation say imho, make for a perfect host. Good wifi, superb breakfast, all one could want ... just what one hopes for and needs

The village has two pubs ... one a gastro-pub, which also does early bird pub grub basics and good beer, the other I suspect may know the magic word "Brakes" or knows that magic number "3663". Close enough to Devizes to enjoy all the facilities on offer, except that second pint of Wadworth's unless you want to walk back.

Thoroughly recommended. ... the two aspects I rated at 4 were really a 4.5

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uncle_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowde
1.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
George and Dragon
George and Dragon
#6 of 19 in Devizes
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vine Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Cottage B&B

Address: 26 Bunnies Lane, Rowde, Devizes SN10 2QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes > Rowde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rowde
Price Range: $101 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vine Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet country lane in Rowde, we provide an eco friendly environment without comprimising on quality. Our king room can accommodate a family of 3 with a folding bed. Our twin is on the ground floor. We have freeview TV/DVDs, FREE WiFi and you can also use our sauna and garden. We provide an excellent breakfast with own free range eggs and exclusive to Vine Cottage - "Bens mess". We can also provide vegetarian and gluten free options. Our guest lounge can provide a wonderful relaxing place to sit and meet friends with winter log fires. There is an extensive library for you to help yourself for a charitable donation to the RNLI. We are are proud of our awards, including new for 2015 tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence (5/5) and AA 4 stars + breakfast award. We look forward to adding you to large amount of returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Vine Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing