We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embrea-First class!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Rowde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just returned from a few days break in beautiful Wiltshire and an excellent stay in Janet and Andy's lovely home.
The welcome, the accomodation, the breakfasts and the help and advice given were first class. We have stayed in many B and B's over the years and we cannot remember anywhere better. Excellent value for money and we highly recommend the Embrea.
Many thanks to Janet and Andy.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LankyWestLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 282 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were recommended to stay at Embrea B & B as it was in the area we needed just for one night. The Bedroom was of a nice size as was the En-Suite we were greeted with tea and coffee also biscuits and were immediately impressed with the decor and clean well maintained rooms.
Breakfast was also excellent and we only wished we could have stayed longer. Andrew & Janet certainly have the right idea to make you welcombe.

Room Tip: We had a rear facing Bedroom which was very quiet, but the property is set back from the road and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Embrea for three nights at the end of April. We arrived after a long journey from Buxton and were greeted by Andrew with a cup of tea and biscuits!! The B&B is very well maintained; rooms are very nice, very clean and ours had en-suite facilities. We welcomed the large room as it makes a change from some places where you have to walk sideways to get around the bed, plus we had a fair bit of luggage for the event we were attending! Breakfast was excellent and I had more than enough to eat. Hosts Andrew and Janet are friendly and chatty and make you feel at ease but dont get in the way. It is well positioned for getting around even though we had things to do on our trip and couldn't get to see too much of the wonderful countryside, I would certainly want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carstvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Embrea is a B&B in Rowde close to Devizes. It is well located for visits to Stonehenge, Avenbury and associated sites including Bath.
Janet and Andrew provide a modern and large ensuite room that is clean and well maintained. The shower was large with good water pressure. It was a welcome change from the usual smaller rooms and facilities.
I found them helpful and welcoming and happy to chat. Food was delicious and abundant.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at Embrea for 3 nights during May 2012 on a visit to the U.K. from Australia. We could not fault Embrea, it was clean and comfortable with an excellent breakfast provided. The hosts, Andrew and Janet made us feel very welcome. The location was great, walking distance from Devizes and the Kennet and Avon Canal. Andrew was kind enough to drive us into Devizes in his car one wet morning which was much appreciated. We look forward to staying at Embrea when we again visit the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annapeter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

5 nights here, very comfortable bright sunny room with balcony. Hosts very welcoming and provide ample breakfasts plus tea and biscuits on arrival, also the use of the dining room to bring in a takeaway is helpful. It is an ideal spot for Kennet and Avon Canal walks with bus stop outside the gate which saves using the car.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Philip9_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We visited Embrea for 1 night as we toured Oxfordshire and Wiltshire over the Easter Bank holiday week and wished that we could have stayed longer!!

We arrived mid-afternoon to a well sign posted Embrea with loads of parking space and were greeted by Andy with a coffee and buscuit which made us feel welcome straight away. We were initially shown the Graden Room with the balcony (which was very nice) but, as we were only there for 1 night, we ended up staying in the Orchard Room which was very spacious and clean with a really comfortable bed and a very large ensuite bathroom. The complimetary tea tray had ample tea, coffee, water and buscuits and the fresh fruit included in the room was a really nice touch.

Breakfast was fabulous! There was plenty of choice of cereal, toast, condiments etc. and, as Andy had taken our order for our brekkie fry up the day before, the full English was served piping hot with plenty of it. You could really tell the difference with the fresh free-range eggs from their own hens - so much so we bought some to take home with us!

Andy and Janet were the perfect hosts. They recommended a good place to eat in the evening and were really helpful with advice on places to visit in and around the area.

I would definitely visit Embrea again if was in the area and have no hesitation in telling everyone to come along and stay at this lovely B&B.

10 out of 10, Andy and Janet - keep up the good work and many thanks for wonderful (although too short) stay.

Room Tip: All the room were lovely but the Orchard Room was the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JanieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowde
1.0 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
264 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vine Cottage B&B
Vine Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Rowde
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Avalon Lodge Devizes Road, Rowde, Devizes SN10 2LU, England (Formerly Embrea Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes > Rowde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rowde
Price Range: $93 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Lodge is more than just a place to stay! It is centrally situated; a perfect location for touring the whole of the beautiful county of Wiltshire with its wonderful towns, villages, National Trust properties and World Heritage ancient sites, not to mention the crop circles! City of Bath only 40 minutes by car and accessible by public transport. The B&B is within walking distance of good food pubs, the Cain Hill locks and canal & the market town of Devizes with its own brewery and castle, selection of independent shops, weekly market and good places to eat. You are assured a warm welcome, a good night's sleep, a delicious breakfast & lots of little extras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing