We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Merrymouth Inn - one of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merrymouth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merrymouth Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fifield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Merrymouth Inn - one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My brother and I have stayed at the Merrymouth Inn on numerous occasions over the past 5 years or so - and have always been most happy there. Bill and Mo are wonderful hosts, the atmosphere is welcoming, the food great (Bill's full English breakfast can't be bettered and Mo's desserts are delicious - her apricot and apple frangipane not to be missed) and the rooms warm and comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    70
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
144
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

My daughter and I arrived at the Merrymouth on a freezing cold night. Although staff were busy they took the time to make us feel very welcome.
Our room was beautifully warm and cosy. The beds were so comfortable, and the room had everything we needed. The bathroom did need an update but it had a bath as well as shower, and it was so nice to relax in. Loads of hot water and an extra heater.
The atmostphere in the pub was lovely, staff were very attentive.
Breakfast the next day was really good, with very generous portions. The Merrymouth is very good value for money. Our only regret was that we only stayed for one night!
Many thanks to Bill and all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I took my girlfriend on a surpruse weekend away - we both loved it. Bill & his staff couldn't be nicer & more helpful. We'd both definitely recommend staying here, it's a great base from which to explore the Cotswolds!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhiloStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

situated between Burford and Stow its the ideal location to discover the Cotswolds

really nice room, great breakfast, really friendly and helpful staff.

Would definitely return next time I'm down that way

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, UK
Level Contributor
258 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Went for a lunch on a Monday - unfortunately several of the menu items I wanted we're not available as they were awaiting a delivery of meat (following a busy weekend according to the host). Surprisingly this did not dampen my enthusiasm for the pub as there were plenty of other choices available especially the fish specials. The food was served hot and tasted fantastic - the service was good also. A very relaxed and friendly atmosphere overall. I would certainly return but probably not on a Monday !!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cornwall-blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Recently spent two nights at the Merrymouth and had a great time. It is a great base for the Cotswolds and we used it as a base for Cheltenham races.Beautiful old pub with plenty of character a statement which also applies to the landlord Bill.Mo and the rest of the staff looked after us really well and we found the food superb. The quality of the meat on the mixed grill was exceptional and the breakfast was just about the best we have had in our many racing trips over the years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilbert12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have been coming to the Merrymouth for 3 years now.Food really good (gary always has sausages and mash on his 1st night back!) Dogs welcome,with lovely walks behind the pub. Rooms are warm and cosy with freeview tv. Ideal after a long walk with the dog. There is no need to adventure out in the evening because the Merrymouth has everything you need for a good night. see you in the spring..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fifield
5.6 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
4.5 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Great Rissington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrymouth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrymouth Inn

Property: Merrymouth Inn
Address: Stow Road | Cotswolds, Fifield OX7 6HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Fifield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fifield
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merrymouth Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Merrymouth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrymouth Inn Fifield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing