We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bedingfeld Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Oxborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My partner Christine & I, plus of course Barney, would like to say a very BIG thank you to the owners and staff of this lovely country Pub/Hotel/Restaurant, I mention all 3 as thats how I found them, all 3 in 1 place.
We could not wish to stay and eat in a more friendly establishment if we tried and that's why we're returning at the end of next month for another 2 nights of relaxation.
I highly recommend this establishment if you're looking to stay in the heart of Norfolk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0TD0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 349 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

We've just come back from a 2 day Groupon deal. We had a very pleasant stay, we stayed in one of the coach house rooms, it was a lovely room, clean with fluffy white towels, my only small criticism would be that the connecting door allowed any noise to travel from the adjoining room
.
Breakfast was very tasty, with good quality produce, we ate at the pub both nights and again the food was very good, we also got to take advantage of the "Monday Madness" and "Burger night" with was great value at £10 for main meal and drink.

The owners have obviously put a lot of care and attention into creating a lovely place to enjoy. The welcome was warm and all the staff were polite and friendly, the owner Catkin took time out to have a chat with us and to tell us about local places to visit

The village it's self is quite remote but an ideal base for traveling around Norfolk.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We popped in for lunch today and it was excellent top range pub grub. I had delicious fish and chips and my husband a wonderful ploughman's full of 'real' ham and a huge selection of cheese.

We did not really need it, but pigged out on pud. Mine was a lemon - could not taste it - cake with clotted cream and berries. My husband chose the super sorbet. All this with drinks a little shy of £ 40. Good value for the quality of the food.

This really is a delightful place, with jars of wild and cottage flowers on the mis-mash of dining tables. So pretty. The staff were very attentive and friendly.

Do go and see the piece of sculpture in the garden, next to the derelict church. We thought it was Jesus in modern clothes, but apparently it is John Lennon. Beautiful craftsmanship, but so incongruous in the depths of Norfolk!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

One of the best restaurants in the area! The food is excellent and the chef even made me a specially made sticky toffee pudding just how I liked it. Also serve the best mocktails here out of every restaurant I've ever visited. My favourite by far!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tab K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed on a Groupon deal as we live locally.
Did not upgrade from coach house rooms but they were fine. Shabby chic sort of decor. Not much room but sufficient and we obviously had a large bathroom designed for disabled folk. No wi-fi and minimal phone signal but those of us that live here know this is normal for Norfolk!
Good drinks and choices of wines in the bar. Food was good but it was night before bank holiday weekend so a bit of a wait. To be expected anywhere on those days. Breakfast was also nice. Good location to walk out but unfortunately it rained while we were there. Would return again when passing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norfolknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night over the bank holiday weekend and overall it was a lovely night and a nice break. The staff are not just friendly and approachable but go our of their way to help you where ever they can.

The bar in the evening has a buzz to it and serve both Hendricks and Bombay Gin, a nice change from the standard Gordon's wherever you go. The location, well rural but lovely to hear the birds singing and no traffic in sight.

The things that let the hotel down all stem from the coach house where we stayed. Our bathroom was filthy! To the level there was lumps of hair all other the shower pump and walls. This really put me off and I could not use it due to tonnes of hair.

The wifi connection in the coach house does not work unless you stand by front door and the TV connection keeps cutting in and out.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenetianStar, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

'Oh no', we thought when we read your review and how we wish you had mentioned your concerns at the time, as we would have sorted out the disaster of a cleaner letting the side down - we work as a team, so it may well have been any one of us but we would be more than happy to rectify the situation. All very hard now you have gone....

Perhaps you will give us a second chance? We hope so!

Delighted you noticed our 'Can Do' friendly attitude and the Trendy choice of Gins - influenced by my eldest son, Felix. No traffic wardens and a chance to hear the birds is one of our unexpected attractions.

Wifi - is tricky for most places and occasionally needs to be reset - but we need to know the connection is breaking up to do so. Often this happens after we have had very wet weather.

Feedback is so important for us all - thank you for taking the time. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Lovely setting for country house hotel. Excellent dining combined with local pub type atmosphere. Good for weekend stay. Roaring log fires and hard working staff. Stayed in main house which was very comfortable, no wardrobes but everything else ok for weekend. Individualism and setting more than made up for any niggles. Well done. Would recommend

Room Tip: Powder blue room very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenetianStar, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for your feedback - and for the high score. We aim for 5 stars always so we take on board your helpful comments.

The issue of a 'missing' wardrobe is a puzzling one. We have 'conventional' wardrobes in two of our 9 bedrooms; hanging space (not covered) in all 5 coach rooms and then two eccentric, it seems, hanging arrangements using a hatstand and in the case of the Bedingfeld Suite - a walk in 'Nania' wardrobe with a screen to hang clothes on - as well as a hat stand!

If one is staying longer, we are very happy to arrange for a temporary wardrobe to be installed but most often guests only stay for a night - and so the balance is in favour of a less cluttered room and a bit of theatre instead.

We have only been open for 2 years and so we are still finding our way - hence feedback is vital. Many thanks again. We look forward to welcoming you back again - soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxborough
2.2 mi away
The Great Danes Country Inn
The Great Danes Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Beachamwell
65 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
282 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
926 reviews
6.6 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
483 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedingfeld Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedingfeld Arms

Address: The Green | Swaffham, Oxborough PE33 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Oxborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oxborough
Price Range: $81 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bedingfeld Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedingfeld Arms is an 18th century freehouse coaching Inn, located in the picturesque village of Oxborough, that has been fully refitted in 2012 and now has 4 large comfortable and stylish ensuite bedrooms in the main building and 5 smaller but well appointed Coach Rooms. Impressive Marble/Stone Fireplaces in relaxed and comfortable bar and dining area. Good locally sourced fresh food, fine wines, and real ales all open to both resident guests and the public, with an extensive south facing and lawned garden where food and drink is also served in the summer. Situated opposite the popular National Trust Oxburgh Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bedingfeld Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedingfeld Arms Hotel Oxborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing