We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bedingfeld Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bedingfeld Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Oxborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here after buying a voucher ftom wowcher. Before we stayed there I telephoned a couple of times and the staff and owner couldn't have been anymore helpful. From them moment we artived we were mafe to feel very welcome. The room was very homely and comfortable. The food excellent and so was the breakfast. For the two days there we decided to head to Sandrigham for the day. Thoroughly enjoyed it and it was only about 20-30 minute drive. Another day we headed to Oxborough Hall which is a five minute walk from the hotel. Therr are also lots of lovely walks close by. It is rural in its location but if you like walks its perfect. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meeshe121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    81
    19
    15
    5
See reviews for
46
189
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

As a party of eight, we had a perfect dinner on a Monday evening.

The Bedingfeld Arms is beautifully located within the Norfolk countryside - a lovely and impressive drive up to the building in the dark.

On entering the bar, we were greeted by very friendly staff - a large open fire and great beers.
The food was very good and again, served by friendly faces - over emphasised by me but why do so many other hostelries get this bit wrong.

I'm sure we were noisy but we ate in a smaller dining room just to the side of the bar.
Very reasonable prices, considering a few bottles of wine were consumed.

I'll definitely return, this time with family and friends - no longer an unknown location.
Many thanks Bedingfeld Arms - and all who helped make the evening an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Bedingfeld Arms was an ideal place to enjoy a two night mid week break (Sunday to Tuesday). We were fortunate to be put into the Bedingfeld suite with a lovely four poster bed and excellent bath.
The welcome from both the staff and the host, Katherine, was warm, friendly and efficient. We arrived anticipating that there was no food available on a Sunday night but a new menu has recently been started offering some good basic choices - ideal for a Sunday evening. We also enjoyed an excellent dinner on the Monday evening and the chef was very flexible when we asked for some variation in the menu to accommodate some particular idiosyncrasies!
Oxborough Hall and St John the Evangelist Church both of which are right next door to the pub are a "must see" however there is little else in the immediate area of note. The surrounding countryside is easy walking - Norfolk is wonderfully flat and with the help of the hotel Ordnance Survey map and local knowledge provided by a pub regular we enjoyed a two hour walk . If the weather is poor then Norwich is only 45 minutes away and we would recommend the Park and Ride facility at Costessy. Cambridge is under an hour in the other direction and Kings Lynn and the North Norfolk coast are within easy reach.
It should be remembered that this is a pub with rooms so there is a little noise as local residents leave at the end of the night and you happen to be sleeping in the pub bedrooms rather than the coach house but nothing that shouldn't be expected.
Our experience was definitely at the top of the very good range and we would happily recommend the Bedingfeld Arms.
Aidan and Antonia C

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights in one of the outside rooms. Nice room and really comfy bed. Shower ok but nowhere to hang anything in bathroom otherwise no problems. Owner, Katkin, friendly and good fun. Staff helpful and food enjoyable. Hotel good base for visiting local coastal areas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights in the outside rooms,comfortable and quiet,although the shower was rubbish.Had two excellent evening meals and the breakfasts were adequate.Polite and helpful staff.You are a bit stuck once it gets dark as no pavements in the village and a lack of street lighting which is common in Norfolk.Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mags087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenetianStar, Public Relations Manager at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to review us and help direct future guests in a manner to ensure they are not disappointed and know what to expect.

On the subject of pavements and street lights, I am glad you highlight this aspect as it is the very nature of our rural location with lack of street lights (rather than pavements) that attracts many city folk to get a rare glimpse of our stars thanks to the lack of light pollution.

The village has no shop but at least there is a village hall, a bus stop (for the weekly bus!), a splendid 16th century church with services and a pub that is open 24 hours, 7 days a week providing jobs for 18 employees!

The Government 's response to this effort, through the local council, was to double our business rates at the end of our first year of opening! A business credit or a staggered increase would have been more encouraging and less of a set back. Please point this out to any officials who might not realise the impact they cause by not supporting community 'hubs' more fully.

Oops, a bit of a side track there but a change from usual responses perhaps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The room was warm comfy and biggest bed ever
Though not as clean as expected including cobwebs and easy dirtied from gravel drive but the underfloor heating was good though the shower / wet room disappointing
The staff and owner very friendly and approachable
The dinner, considering reviews I'd read, was disappointing and with al due respect and consideration was overpriced.
Breakfast was decent but not as good as expected
The proximity to oxborough hall was excellent
The groupon offer was worth it though

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoupaman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Recommended to us by a friend, popped in for lunch before going to Oxburgh Hall. Nice log fire and proper comfy leather sofas next to it. Very varied menu, generous portion sizes, friendly staff and owner. Just needed a dog to stroke and I'd have spent the rest of the afternoon on the sofa. Not the cheapest, but definitely value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidA689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxborough
8.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
6.6 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Great Danes Country Inn
The Great Danes Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Beachamwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
13.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedingfeld Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedingfeld Arms

Property: The Bedingfeld Arms
Address: The Green | Swaffham, Oxborough PE33 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Oxborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oxborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedingfeld Arms is an 18th century freehouse coaching Inn, located in the picturesque village of Oxborough, that has been fully refitted in 2012 and now has 4 large comfortable and stylish ensuite bedrooms in the main building and 5 smaller but well appointed Coach Rooms. Impressive Marble/Stone Fireplaces in relaxed and comfortable bar and dining area. Good locally sourced fresh food, fine wines, and real ales all open to both resident guests and the public, with an extensive south facing and lawned garden where food and drink is also served in the summer. Situated opposite the popular National Trust Oxburgh Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Bedingfeld Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedingfeld Arms Hotel Oxborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing