We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bedingfeld Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Oxborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly service in a great location”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booked a room at the Bedingeld Arms as we were planning to visit Oxborough Hall just across the road. We weren't disappointed. Originally booked one of the coach house rooms but we were upgraded by the very friendly owner Katkin to one of the upstairs rooms in the pub. Room was beautifully decorated and very quiet,
The building has been comfortably furnished and felt very homely.. We ate dinner here both nights and found the food to be excellent. Ideally placed for a visit to Oxborough Hall which is just a stroll over the road, and the nearby Gooderstone water gardens which we also visited. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annielyn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    84
    22
    18
    5
See reviews for
50
193
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just come home after a wonderfully relaxing weekend at the Bedingfield Arms. The building itself is beautifully decorated and furnished, without feeling stuffy or uncomfortable. We stayed in one of the old coach house rooms, really great with an extremely comfortable bed, en-suite shower/toilet, tea/coffee making facilities and a tv. The row of coach rooms run alongside the main building and again are really nicely decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom could do with towel rails but otherwise I can't fault it.

We had an evening meal on Saturday, the restaurant is open to non-residents and was quite busy. I'm glad we booked in advance as I think it might be difficult to get a table otherwise. Both the menu and the wine lists were quite extensive and offered great choice. Our meals were superb and at a reasonable cost, desserts too were very good.

After a lovely night's sleep, we had the most excellent breakfast; a range of cereals, fruit juices, fresh fruits, jams and preserves. There is also a full cooked breakfast on offer, and you can choose what you have or leave, eggs (poached, fried or scrambled), locally produced rare-bred sausages, smoked bacon, black pudding, baked beans, fresh field mushrooms, accompanied by toast, and absolutely gorgeous coffee.

All in all we had a thoroughly enjoyable time at the Bedingfeld Arms, and would have no hesitation in going again and recommending it for a visit.

Room Tip: The Coach Rooms are quiet and peaceful. We left the window open all night and did not get disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenetianStar, Public Relations Manager at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic and kind review.

It makes all the hard work that goes on behind the scenes all worth while!

Also, thank you for the useful suggestion of having towel hooks for our fluffy towels. It's a shame for them to end up on the floor.

We have had a busy few months with Oxborough Hall open until now (November!). We still have lots to do but i think we can be proud of what we have achieved; only being open from scratch still under two years ago.

I took the liberty of reading your many other reviews and definitely think you should write a travel book! You have inspired me to plan a detour to several of the places (and countries!) you have been to and reviewed. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bildeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had lunch today at The Bedingfield Arms. Although we're only about 30mins away, it's the first time we've eaten here in the 7 years we've lived in the area. We chose it having been recently disappointed by a pub near Stow Bardolph which has lost its edge on food in our opinion.

Sat in the garden, weather beautiful, as our 2 year old can run around safely. All staff were great, efficient and friendly. Food was lovely. We shared 2 antipasto platters to start with and the quality of the ingredients was good, as were the other bits. Too easy to ruin a dish like this with cheap stuff! And then 2 Bedingfield burgers and 2 ham, egg and chips... proper top quality rural English pub food worth every penny was the overall opinion.

Although we're moving away from the area in the next few weeks, we will definitely be back as it's halfway point between new home and grandparents, what a shame that is on a Sunday!!

Good value for money given a) hot summers day and a few pints of lager consumed and b) overall quality of food and service. Thank you to all the team.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trebbisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We visited Gooderstone water Gardens then called at the Bedingfeld Arms for Sunday lunch and we hadn't pre-booked. We all had the Sunday lunch and it was delicious. The beef was very tender and served with a really lovely red wine gravy. The sweet potato mash was really good and the selection of fresh vegetables was ideal. I can't comment on pudding as we were all too full from the roast. We then went onto visit Oxburgh Hall which is next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

As my daughter was born on my 30th birthday, when I was 60 it gave rise to a double celebration. We chose The Bedingfeld Arms in Oxborough as we both had West Norfok connections and what a good choice it turned out to be. We invited the whole family so virtually took over the place. My wife handled the arrangements and from first contact in February to check out last Monday we had no regrets. The staff, in particular Amy, could not do enough for us to make the occasion a special one. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was excellent and the food and service exceptional. We had 21 for Sunday lunch and it all went smoothly. Thank you Amy and the team, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms in the inn are designed for that special occasion, the coach house rooms are more for thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in May with a groupon voucher, The room felt new and was decorated and furnished without compromise, It was very comfortable and had all facilities required, The owner was very friendly, hospitable and accommodating. She even remembers your name! The pub/restaurant had a good selection of very high quality food at a good price and used lots of local produce. The breakfast was a small selection of cereals and juices, followed by a very tasty cooked breakfast, which could have done with being a bit bigger. The bedingfeld arms is in a very good location to explore Norfolk and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munglebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were drawn to this hotel / restaurant by a Groupon voucher and the good reviews on TripAdvisor - we were not disappointed. "Catkin" (owner) was at reception to greet guests and reappeared at several moments during our stay. We were staying in a coach room, which is not the best lvele they have, but it was more than sufficient for our needs. Dinner in the restaurant is to be recommended, and the breakfast is copious (even if the sausage and black pudding were overdone).
On top of all this welcome, Oxborough Hall is just over the road and makes for a delightful afternoon visit (excepting Thursdays and Fridays...).
Regular prices might have been at the top of our budget, but the Groupon voucher made it very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJPinBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxborough
2.2 mi away
The Great Danes Country Inn
The Great Danes Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Beachamwell
62 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
6.6 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
214 reviews
5.5 mi away
Timbers Country Lodge
Timbers Country Lodge
#2 of 2 in Fincham
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedingfeld Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedingfeld Arms

Property: The Bedingfeld Arms
Address: The Green | Swaffham, Oxborough PE33 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Oxborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oxborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedingfeld Arms is an 18th century freehouse coaching Inn, located in the picturesque village of Oxborough, that has been fully refitted in 2012 and now has 4 large comfortable and stylish ensuite bedrooms in the main building and 5 smaller but well appointed Coach Rooms. Impressive Marble/Stone Fireplaces in relaxed and comfortable bar and dining area. Good locally sourced fresh food, fine wines, and real ales all open to both resident guests and the public, with an extensive south facing and lawned garden where food and drink is also served in the summer. Situated opposite the popular National Trust Oxburgh Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your The Bedingfeld Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedingfeld Arms Hotel Oxborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing