We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bedingfeld Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Oxborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

A party of nine visited here for a birthday celebration, it is a lovely welcoming place, nicely done out and clean. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good especially the steak and kidney pudding. We will definatley come here again , maybe for lunch as the gardens looked very nice and we would like to enjoy them in daylight hours.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    87
    24
    18
    5
See reviews for
53
198
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Norfolk is very lacking in good quality Hotels, but this little gem is hard to beat. Others before me have accurately described the situation and I can add, how much my wife and I enjoyed two nights celebrating a wedding anniversary. I really believe the owner would do anything to assist ,as would the young staff. I had reserved a double room in the main building, but we were shown several rooms to choose from. We ended up in a very large four poster bedroom with lovely bathroom and entrance hall. No cupboards to hang clothes, so had to hang them in the hall on a screen - no problem, but interesting, as there is room to construct a wardrobe in the area at a later date !
The log fire in the Bar area was gorgeous, with many local magazines to read. Real ales and wine all served while sitting in the comfortable leather sofas. There are two dining rooms, one of which has nice ambience while the other is rather bland. However, the food is exceptionally good and reasonably priced.Starters average just under £7.00 and main courses under £15.00. All desserts are £5.50 and looked interesting !
Finally, my sincere thanks to Catkin for returning my wifes kindle by post, which had been left under the duvet, so had not been seen. This she did promptly and without charge, having to travel to, not so nearby Swaffham, to find a post office !

Room Tip: Look on the website - there are photographs of each room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinDNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich, suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We've driven along this road so many times and been meaning to stop in to see Oxborough Hall so we finally did yesterday. It's definitely worth a visit if only to go in the priest hole. The real bonus though is the Bedingfield Arms next door. Excellent and very reasonably priced food and a choice of real ales. It was busy, maybe because it was Easter Monday, but we'd certainly suggest worth booking in advance. It seemed to have managed to still feel like a pub while being effectively a very good restaurant. All good, maybe a regular lunch stop hereafter and might even stay the night too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinchIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Called in for lunch on the off chance after a visit to Oxborough Hall on a very cold day. We were in need of warmth and sustenance and got both. Very good atmosphere and excellent service. The fish pie and the steak and kidney suet pudding were superb. Both served with fresh veg that was excellent. The cost was also very reasonable for the quality of the food. It is obviously a popular place, and one I hope to return to perhaps to stay next time .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in one of the coach rooms because we had our dog with us. We knew the room wouldn't be overly big from the description of it on the Hotel's website. It was perfectly adequate for one night's stay and at £85 per night it was very reasonably priced. There was an issue about the heating - we arrived at about 2.30 pm and the room was cold. We mentioned this to the owner (we think) and he immediately offered us a different room in the pub. We didn't take up the offer because we didn't want to leave our dog alone all night. The room was clean although the shower area in the bathroom would benefit from a refurbishment. The room did heat up to a reasonable temperature by 8.00 pm that night. We ate lunch, dinner and breakfast in the pub and the food was faultless.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walker90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had an amazing night at the the bedingfeld arms last weekend. Both my husband and I were blown away by the hospitality of the staff and specifically the owner of the pub. When we arrived they realised that they had set our room up as two singles... we were more than happy for them to change it back into a double while we ate our dinner- but the owner went the extra mile and upgraded us the four poster room for the night!! Was absolutely incredible, wonderfully generous and amazing. I have never stayed in such an amazing room! We never saw the coach house rooms- and heard they were lovely- but must say the four poster room above the pub itself was just incredible! Totally worth staying in.

The food was also just wonderful! Such reasonable prices for food that was by far the best pub food we've ever eaten. Everything was fresh and the flavours were incredible. The atmosphere was just friendly, and people kept coming and checking how we were doing and just having a chat with us which was just lovely.

The next day we went and explored oxborough hall which is literally opposite and then went to castle acre. Both are national trusts/english heritage sites which are well worth a visit, castle acre is a 25 minute drive away.

All in all- we would highly recommend a night in The Bedingfeld Arms!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location in the middle of Norfolk, ideal for touring. Main building and coah houses have been tastefully refurbished, the decor and ambience make you feel very welcome as do the friendly and helpful staff. We stayed for 2 nights (not long enough) in one of the coach houses which was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Bedroom and bathroom were ideal with big bed and large shower.
We ate in one of the two restaurants for both dinner and breakfasts, the food was quality and the presentation complemnted locally sourced produce. Portions were ideal with a full english setting you up for the day. A good selection of wines accompanied a very comprehensive menu.
We stayed here for our 25th and were pleased we picked the Bedingfeld Arms for our special occassion.
We would definately stay here again, and thoroughly recommend a visit.
Catherine, Steven and staff celebrate their first year this March and are to be congratulated on their achievements and success, well done and thank you. Sue and David.

Room Tip: Coach houses were very modern and functional, would think a room in main house would have more chara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinaplates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxborough
6.6 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
463 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
2.1 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
868 reviews
13.5 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
806 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedingfeld Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedingfeld Arms

Property: The Bedingfeld Arms
Address: The Green | Swaffham, Oxborough PE33 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Oxborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oxborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedingfeld Arms is an 18th century freehouse coaching Inn, located in the picturesque village of Oxborough, that has been fully refitted in 2012 and now has 4 large comfortable and stylish ensuite bedrooms in the main building and 5 smaller but well appointed Coach Rooms. Impressive Marble/Stone Fireplaces in relaxed and comfortable bar and dining area. Good locally sourced fresh food, fine wines, and real ales all open to both resident guests and the public, with an extensive south facing and lawned garden where food and drink is also served in the summer. Situated opposite the popular National Trust Oxburgh Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your The Bedingfeld Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedingfeld Arms Hotel Oxborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing