We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend beak”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bedingfeld Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Oxborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This has been fully refurbished in the last year or so. Rooms are very good but we would have liked decaff coffee sachets and tissues to have been provided. The breakfast was well cooked and tasty. however we ate in one of our two evenings and though the duck I had was very good my husband was very disappointed with the lamb he ordered. It was raw not rare and was sent back once but was returned a little more cooked, but tough and the fat was not a very nice texture. We were not offered an apology just an explanation of the cooking technique. It was the only thing however that dropped the score and its position opposite Oxborough Hall is ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill5058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 368 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have just spent the weekend here with my husband and thoroughly enjoyed it, our room was lovely and all the staff were friendly and service was excellent. The Manageress Adi was very bubbly and made sure you were looked after and her partner who is the chef provided us with excellent food which looked and tasted lovely, the scallop starter was so good I had it both nights. Catkin the proprietor was very welcoming and took time to chat to all the guests. We went to Welney Wetland Centre which is worth a visit and on Sunday morning went for a walk around Oxborough Hall woods and garden and saw all the pretty snowdrops. We will certaintly be visiting the Bedingfield Arms again. Superb!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for just one night but would happily stay again. The room was comfortable and clean with tea and coffee facilities and bottled water provided. The bar area was cosy and had a selection of books and games. We stayed for dinner and had three courses, all of which were delicious. The wine we had was also delicious and good value.
Breakfast in the morning was cereal and yogurts with a cooked meal to follow including sausage, bacon, mushroom, egg and tomato. There wasn't a huge amount, just enough - especially as there was plenty of really good toast on offer... The service was first rate and we were made to feel very welcome. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayCeeBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

First time staying here, the food and service was excellent. The pub is in a wonderful part of Norfolk. We came on the Friday night having a lovely first meal, the food was first class, we were shocked with the quality of the room it was beautiful and we were very impressed. On the Saturday afternoon the pub was full and the atmosphere was tremendous with some lovely young people watching the rugby. Another great supper on Saturday night, the service was very sharp and friendly and we shall without a doubt be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosBerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

After a long working week and even longer trip down to Norfolk from Manchester the Bedingfeld Arms was just the place for a relaxing and fun weekend in the country. The food was fantastic I had the sea bass and my partner had the steak both were cooked to perfection. The atmosphere was friendly and homely with wonderfully polite and helpful staff. We stayed in the Green Room which was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was really yummy. Shame we couldn't stay for longer. I highly recommend the Bedingfeld Arms for an escape to the country!

Room Tip: Book ahead, as it gets quite busy at the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chica12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Bedingfield Arms. We stayed in the blue room which was lovely, nicely furnished with good sized ensuite. Plenty of tea and coffee and a lovely view out of the window of the village green.
The food was top class, beautifully presented and served by attentive friendly staff. breakfast was plentiful with cereals, fresh juice and a full english.

We paid a very good rate as we used a groupon voucher however the rooms are reasonably priced anyway.A gem, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nine of us stayed over on a Friday night and had a wonderfully relaxed evening and meal. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive. We had an exquisite meal and got to spend some time with head chef Andy later that evening, he is clearly passionate about his food. After the meal we mixed in with the locals and staff and enjoyed some good bar games and laughs. I would definitely recommend the Inn and we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxborough
6.5 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
310 reviews
5.5 mi away
Timbers Country Lodge
Timbers Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Fincham
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#2 of 2 in Oxborough
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedingfeld Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedingfeld Arms

Address: The Green | Swaffham, Oxborough PE33 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Oxborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oxborough
Price Range: $94 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bedingfeld Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedingfeld Arms is an 18th century freehouse coaching Inn, located in the picturesque village of Oxborough, that has been fully refitted in 2012 and now has 4 large comfortable and stylish ensuite bedrooms in the main building and 5 smaller but well appointed Coach Rooms. Impressive Marble/Stone Fireplaces in relaxed and comfortable bar and dining area. Good locally sourced fresh food, fine wines, and real ales all open to both resident guests and the public, with an extensive south facing and lawned garden where food and drink is also served in the summer. Situated opposite the popular National Trust Oxburgh Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Bedingfeld Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedingfeld Arms Hotel Oxborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing