We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bedingfeld Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Oxborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Bedingfeld Arms is a beautiful Georgian establishment situated in the pretty Breckland village of Oxborough, within a stones throw of the famous National Trust Oxburgh Hall, and St John's Church with it's stunning terracotta monuments. I've recently moved to the village and visit the pub as often as I can. The atmosphere is always extremely warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. It's great at any time of year, whether to sit in the spacious garden and watch a magical Oxborough sunset or beside the cosy log fire in wintertime. The food is extremely tasty, and there's a wide range to chose from (and some very tempting desserts too!). The warm welcome I recieved here when first visiting Oxborough is one of the main reasons I decided to move to the village!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ltee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 349 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We visited the Bedingfeld Arms after a winter stroll around Oxburgh Hall. We were greeted by a roaring fire and friendly staff. Not being able to choose between Stowfords Press or Aspalls I was given a sample to try - what great service! We settled in a very comfortable sofa in front of the fire and didn't really want to leave. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great groupon deal,We just paid extra for dinner which was fantastic, not a huge choice on the menu but it was great to try new things and the puddings were to die for :) we half expected, on the weekend after xmas, to be the only people their but it was packed. It had a nice atmosphere with open fire and sofas if you were lucky enough to get one.
Only negative was the coach rooms were not very sound proof and Next doors TV etc could easily be heard and there was no bath only a shower. However not a huge problem, loved the quirky furnishings and staff were all very cheerful and attentive.

Room Tip: Four poster rooms within the pub itself would be worth the extra cost (we had a look at them)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliHayhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

living in central Norfolk i once described to a friend from London as like living in Nigeria with electric! and then every now and then a real pearl of a place opens and becomes established. such a place is the Bedingfeld Arms. not only is the food first rate, the owners Stephen and Catherine make everone feel welcome. the rooms upstairs are lovely and great VFM! any place that opens and stays open and full in our area of norfolk is doing everything right.As someone who travels as often as i do, and visits as many good eateries and hostelries as i do, take it from me, its a fantastic place. free wifi, great ambience and right next to the most beautiful National Trust treasure, Oxborough Hall.

Room Tip: ask for the four poster! fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at hotel 14th December for 3 nights. Rooms were cosy we stayed in coachhouse. had excellent breakfasts. Food in pub was also very good. There were some local attractions nearby which are worth a visit. Good value and

Room Tip: Would ask for room in hotel as disturbed last night of stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynetteSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife I and our dog stayed in the coach house which was excellent value for money, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and had 2 evening meals which were excellent value. I would recommend this hotel for business and/or pleasure. The staff were very good

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff1831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

went to the bedingfield arms 15/12/12 for two days for my birthday and what an amazing place, with amazingly friendly staff and people .the room was great and food ,wow! will deffinatly be going back and even though this time was with a groupon voucher i,d certainly pay full price in the future would recommend to anybody give it a look. many thanks to the owners have a good christmas regards leigh & jennie

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topazblueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxborough
2.2 mi away
The Great Danes Country Inn
The Great Danes Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Beachamwell
65 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
282 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
927 reviews
6.6 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
484 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedingfeld Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedingfeld Arms

Address: The Green | Swaffham, Oxborough PE33 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Oxborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oxborough
Price Range: $81 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bedingfeld Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedingfeld Arms is an 18th century freehouse coaching Inn, located in the picturesque village of Oxborough, that has been fully refitted in 2012 and now has 4 large comfortable and stylish ensuite bedrooms in the main building and 5 smaller but well appointed Coach Rooms. Impressive Marble/Stone Fireplaces in relaxed and comfortable bar and dining area. Good locally sourced fresh food, fine wines, and real ales all open to both resident guests and the public, with an extensive south facing and lawned garden where food and drink is also served in the summer. Situated opposite the popular National Trust Oxburgh Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bedingfeld Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedingfeld Arms Hotel Oxborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing