We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birchill Farm Holiday Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor House(Great Torrington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Smytham Manor Holiday Park(Great Torrington)
Pitchup.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Cavalier Inn(Great Torrington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
70
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplay barntoy boxbramble cottagesoft playanimal feedingeach morningfantastic placelittle girlcream teaprivate gardencutlery and crockeryduck eggchanging matchildren's facilitieshard workabsolute highlightvarious animals
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 70 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I found this on a random search on the Internet. And what a gem! From the moment of booking to them waving us off home was perfect. Simon and Margaret have built themselves a fantastic holiday destination. The cottages are wonderful, everything you need and the quality of furnishings is exceptional. Simon meets the families every morning to feed the animals. It is a thoroughly enjoyable experience for all age groups. Margaret's scones are to die for and delivered to you on your arrival and then you can order them through the week. Simon is a very friendly chap and keeps in touch with us through Facebook. I can't recommend it highly enough. I am quite envious of his lifestyle but I know they work damn hard for it. I recommend that you go and enjoy this amazing experience. I think it will be difficult to find anything to compare. We've been twice and will go again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olol67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

For our first holiday with our son (10 months old) Birchill Farm was perfect.
Everything we could possibly need for our son was there: cot, stair gates, bath mat, even a box of toys. The play barn was excellent too when the few toys in the cottage were not enough, and while he was too young for most of the outdoor play area, it seemed perfect for older children.
The location was relaxing, Tottington is close enough for takeaways and forgotten shopping, and the rest of north Devon was within easy reach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enigmatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Simon and Margaret Mathews have thought of everything you might need holidaying in the UK with small children.

There’s an excellent outdoor play area for dry days and, if the weather isn’t so kind, there is the 2 storey Play Barn filled with toys, books, ride on toys, dressing up clothes … If you don’t feel like cooking there’s a freezer stocked with tasty frozen meals (including children’s Cook meals) and delicious freshly baked scones with cream and jam can be ordered in the morning for a tea-time treat.

The attractive collection of cottages are well laid-out and well-provisioned with plenty of children’s cutlery and crockery and a toy box full of toys and puzzles. Bed guards, high chairs and cots are also available on request meaning less to try and fit into your car. Away from the farm there’s plenty to do in the area with the Tarka Trail and RHS Rosemoor on the doorstep and the Devon coast less than half an hour away.

And last, but by no means least is the animal feeding with Farmer Simon (part-farmer part-children’s entertainer) which makes the holiday unique. Our daughter (4.5 years) adored Simon and eagerly awaited her daily expeditions to feed the resident menagerie of alpacas, goats, ducks, chickens and pigs, whilst our son (2.5 years) although nervous of the animals at first was much more confident by the end of the week!

We would definitely recommend Birchill Farm to anyone holidaying in the UK with small children.

Room Tip: Oak Apple and Bramble are adjoining cottages which was perfect as we were two families holidaying together.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We no longer have children at home, but Birchill Farm is fabulous for both families & adults. We are going shortly for a 2nd visit as we loved it so much. Farmer Simon is a star for the children taking them over to the alpacas & other animals, there is plenty of things for them to play with too.

As a couple on our own we found the location was excellent for exploring the local area & North Devon coast or for the gardeners RHS Rosemoor is around the corner & well worth a vsit or two.
The accommodation is stylish, scrupulously clean & very well maintained, nothing is too much trouble & the cream teas are absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Multicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've never come back from a holiday and booked to go again within two hours of walking in the door.. That is until now. Frankly I booked again before I wrote my review so that we ensured we could get the week we wanted!

What can I say, the accommodation is beautiful but what makes it so fabulous is how welcoming the place is. There is nothing that's too much trouble, Farmer Simon is amazing with the children, we have a two yer old that hero worships him!

The toy barn will keep the kids entertained, there are tonnes of toys and the two levels are really thoughtfully laid out. It bucketed down while we were there so we didn't explore the outside play area (2 yr old couldn't be persuaded to leave the toy barn!), but it looked fantastic and as we were leaving some children were playing and looked as though they were having a great time.

Highlight (even for the parents) is the animal feeding everydaym(except Sundays, although we were there for a small trip over new year and Simon did a Sunday).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews