We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again and not disappointed !”
Review of The Cranford Inn

The Cranford Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub set in a peaceful courtyard surrounded by North Devon countryside, serving an excellent range of local & regional ales, craft beer, spirits and wines. Our small but comprehensive menu offers a variety of classic pub dishes with a twist, "old school" bar baskets, and an ever changing specials board of modern cuisine. A friendly welcome awaits at The Cranford Inn.
devon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“back again and not disappointed !”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just got home from a wonderful meal at the cranford.
a warm and friendly welcome and a lovely log fire in the grate, excellent service and great food.
two of us had a prawn starter which was delicious the others had garlic mushrooms which were wonderfully seasoned and tender.
We all had steaks which positively melted in the mouth , the vegetables and salad were delicious too.
ice cold wine and beer followed by chocolate pud and roulade all to die for
please visit this hidden gem and sample the delights for yourselves.
we will be back time and time again
thank you cranford fora smashing meal

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    29
    12
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eltham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a lovely delightful nice place to find, shame it was at the end of our holiday”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

After initially driving away, thinking this was a small bar / restaurant mainly for residents of a small converted stables accommodation, we decided to go in. What we were met with was a charming good sized bar and restaurant, great food, and new management whom were ever so friendly. The only down part was that we found this so late in our holiday..

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what an excellent steak !”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

we went for a Saturday night meal and had a really good time. The new owners were friendly and the service was good. Lovely prawns with vodka sauce and a steak that melted in my mouth.
I would say - go and see for yourself

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Went here one evening on a whim as had heard all the bad reports of the previous owners. I am glad to say was definatly worthwhile and i will be returning regularly. The food was fantastic whomever the new chef is certainly can cook to a high standard. I had the lamb steak with red wine jus and it melted in my mouth.Superb. I was also quite tempted to steal a bit of my wife`s chicken as she also said was absolutly devine and from where i was sat it looked and smelt that way!! lovely local ales and service with a smile. I`d say the only let down was that there was no card machine as i generally dont carry cash on me,though i have to say this was all explained to me over the phone. The Cranford Inn definatly a new haunt of mine :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cranford Inn - would highly recommend”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

A couple of friends and I have just spent a few days staying at Cranford ( in one of the cottages ). We were told a new landlord ( Rich ) had just taken charge of Cranford Inn. We ate at the pub most days, the atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxed and we were very impressed with the quality of food and service. We will definately be returning :-)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cranford Inn also viewed

Great Torrington, Torridge
Great Torrington, Torridge
 
Great Torrington, Torridge
Great Torrington, Torridge
 
Great Torrington, Torridge
 

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing